We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heading down the coast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quality Inn Uptown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Uptown
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Tsawwassen, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heading down the coast!”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We arrived from Victoria on the ferry, & had lunch on the water front. While walking around town we happened upon this hotel at the top of the stairs overlooking the town. We drove to Sequim planning to stay there that night, but decided not to, as we liked the location of this hotel in Port Angeles. We had a 2nd floor room 1 back from the end, it has a nice view overlooking the water. We only stayed one night but would definitely return in the future. The room was clean, quite, & priced right. We are a Canadian couple in our 50's stayed Apr 15 2013.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveByw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
It was a pleasure reading your review of our hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Port Angeles. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and the view.
We look forward to your future visits and welcoming your return. Thank you for placing your review on TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards, Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Uptown Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    93
    49
    22
    21
See reviews for
63
104
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grandview, Washington
Level Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I was traveling and in town for a meeting the following day. We arrived at 9 PM and could not find a desk clerk so we could check in. After more than 5 mnutes, someone finally showed up and got us checked in. He was barely interested that we were checking in -- he just pointed in the direction of our room.

We stayed in a 300 level room, which seemed to be the ground level. Those rooms are set at an angle so your window provides a view of the waterfront. Good idea. There is a small table with chairs so you can sit and see the view.

The room is bare bones and needs an update. Everything is old. The refrigerator was not cold and we could not find a way to turn the temperature down to cool it off.

The room was good sized and clean. Our room was a king bed. The carpet is old. The bathroom is small. Hot water was sufficient. Heating is by electric baseboard. There is no air conditioning. There was a fan stashed in the bathroom. The bed was reasonably comfortable, though did sag a bit.

The hotel is two buildings, set kitty-corner from each other at an intersection. This is a little confusing when arriving in the dark and fog. Parking seems to be a premium. The other building houses "double queens and king suites."

There is a free wi-fi but the connection speed is glacial (SLOW).

The complimentary breakfast is adequate though depleted often. The front desk clerk doubles as the "cook" and janitor, so you may very well have to wait while something is restocked. Also, the seating is cramped, so once you enter the line for food, you are stuck until someone moves on. Since the waffle station is mid way through the line, people stand there waiting for their waffle and you can't move on.

The clerk at check-out (who was also handling breakfast) was helpfful and courteous. She was the very first Choice Hotels employee to thank me for being a member.

All-in-all, I would use the place for short stays, like overnight, especially is staging yourself for the ferry to Victoria, but I'd look for another place for longer stays.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I82X73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest;
Thank-you for placing your comments on tripadvisor. Our guest comments are highly valued. They reveal how guests see our hotel through their eyes. It is unfortunate there was no desk clerk at the front desk when you arrived. I am researching the lack of staff when you arrived. Perhaps they were helping another of our guests with luggage or performing a routine security walk at our hotel.I apologize for your wait and inconvenience.

Our Buildings are numbered by buildings not floors and you truely have my apologies for any confusion this may have caused. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the view your room offered.

Our refrigerators are much more like coolers than refrigerators. They may not be as cold as your refrigerator at home, I am having my Maintenance Technician check all refrigerator temperatures in our first floor rooms. Adjustments will be made as needed. We are updating our WIFI speed now. I hope this will prevent the problem you experienced in the future.

It appears during your stay our hotel was 100% occupied unexpectantly, it is unfortunate we did not have a dedicated Breakfast Attendant at that time, not our usual staffing.Our Waffle station is located at the end of our Breakfast Bar however, I appreciate your comments. We may need to add an extra waffle station to prevent the slow-down you experienced.

I hope you will consider us the next time your travels bring you to Port Angeles. We have room to grow and will strive to meet the needs of our guests!

Thank you, QIPA staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hadlock, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Thank you, Liz and your staff for taking such good care of my visiting family and friends from Texas! You provided them excellent "views with a room," and they were well pleased with them. They also enjoyed the morning breakfasts and your hospitality! And as others have noted, the QI is close to everything in P.A. And thanks too for the upgrades and the great values you provided. They'll be back!

Room Tip: The rooms nearest the Laurel Street Stairs will provide the better harbor views. The rooms in the an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
The pleasure was ours! We love meeting new friends and welcoming visitors to Port Angeles. We genuinely love our area! I am very pleased to hear your family and friends enjoyed their visit to our hotel and Port Angeles. We look forward to their return.Thank you for placing your review on tripadvisor.

Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Uptown staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Six of us travelled from Victoria for an overnight on December 1st. We originally booked for 5 rooms and were given a pretty good rate based on the 5 rooms. When we arrived we only needed 3 rooms but the original reduced rate was honoured.

The weather was miserable, rainy and not much fun for walking - can't blame that on the hotel.

Breakfast was ample and nobody should have gone away hungry.

Rooms were clean & tidy.

I expect I will return for a weekend sometime when the warmer weather comes and arrange to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in spite of the rainy weather. We look forward to welcoming you back when the weather is better.

Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Uptown staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We had the corner room, 341, and had a complete view of the harbor (through some fog;) It had a large king bed, table, refrigerator, and was very clean and nice. The staff when we checked in and out were tremendous and the breakfast was a great start to our day. It was located just up the hill from some main streets with wonderful little shops and restaurants! Excellent value and great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kc_beadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
View with a room! Room with a View! We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Room #341. I appreciate your great comments about our staff, breakfast, view and the Port Angeles area. Thank you for placing your review on tripadvisor and Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We hope you will return in the future.

Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Uptown staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Turned up with no booking at a busy time. Was taken care of and given a lovely room with grate view over Port Angeles. The room was pleasant enough with large comfortable bed, however, it was in need of sprucing up a bit with a little tlc. Saying that, for the rate I was charged it was on par with a lot more expensive motels, It was in a central area, within walking distance of the town. Would stay again and recommend it

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for placing your review on tripadvisor. I enjoyed your comments about the view from your room and our location. I appreciate your future reccommendations of our hotel. We look forward to your return visits.

Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Uptown staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We booked a room for one night at the quality inn in port angeles. We found the room clean, comfortable and the staff very friendly. Beautiful views of the harbor and mountains from the hotel room. Thank you Kimberley for the attention you gave us, the help with our itinerary, etc. You made our stay all the more pleasant. We enjoyed the town of Port Angeles too. Spent a pleasant few hours roaming around and went to the "next door" cafe in the evening for drinks, eats and music. Unfortunately Hurricane Ridge was closed, but we enjoyed the rest of our stay in Olympic National Park. I would definitely recommend the Quality Inn in Port Angeles.

Room Tip: Just decide if you want to see the water or mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Wow! What a great review ! Thank you for placing your review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was especially nice to read your kind comments about Kimberley.Your comments will be shared with Kimberley and all our staff. It is unfortunate the road to Hurricanre Ridge was closed during your visit. Perhaps you will return to our area again in the future and have a chance to enjoy Hurricane Ridge at that time. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Liz Conrad, Kimberley, and all the Quality Inn staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
1,483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 15 in Port Angeles
1,833 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#13 of 15 in Port Angeles
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 15 in Port Angeles
303 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 15 in Port Angeles
1,091 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Victorian Motel
Royal Victorian Motel
#4 of 15 in Port Angeles
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Uptown

Property: Quality Inn Uptown
Address: 101 E 2nd St, Port Angeles, WA 98362-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Uptown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Uptown Hotel Port Angeles
Quality Inn Port Angeles
Port Angeles Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing