We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many happy surprises!”
Review of Quality Inn Uptown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Uptown
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Many happy surprises!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Supposedly an 'economy' lodging, the Quality Inn Uptown was a surprisingly easy walk to picturesque city sites, had a surprisingly roomy design in its first-floor rooms, and an equally surprisingly good complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: Select a first-floor room for the extra size. Make use of Olympic National Park info in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We are very happy you placed your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and the Port Angeles area. Thank you for the Great Five Star Review on our hotel! We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Uptown staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    97
    49
    22
    21
See reviews for
63
109
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here when in town for Crabfest two years ago, so forgive me if I am not aware of any renos, etc.

I have to say, we had a very pleasant stay here. Sure, the hotel could use some cosmetic updating, but it was good value, clean, in a great location, and they fed you in the morning, something that is too rare at Canadian hotels.

We were very impressed by the staff, their committment to providing service and taking care of their hotel. We had a very nice conversation or two with Liz, who provided us with travel tips for the Sunday we were spending driving around the Olympic peninsula, a most memorable day for us. There was a young man, Jeremy (I think) who was also helpful when we needed information about the area. We enjoyed talking to staff members who seemed to enjoy the interaction.

We would stay at the Quality Inn Uptown again, if we are lucky enough to attend Crabfest again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We appreciate you posting your review on Tripadvisor. We enjoyed your opinions of our hotel and staff very much. We do enjoy our guests and our hotel and are committed to taking care of all our guests. We Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the Crabfest! We hope to see you next year!

Kind Regards,
Liz Conrad, Jeremy, and all the Quality Inn staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The major redeeming feature to this Quality Inn is the staff! They are friendly and helpful and did go out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Although I have never stayed in a hotel that didn't have wine glasses to lend us! Location is directly up the street from the Coho so its handy to town if that is where you need to be!

This hotel however is in need of major updating! Rooms are large though and so are the windows so the room was bright and clean and the beds were comfortable athough there was a musty smell noticeable coming into the room. Be aware that there are no elevators and there are 30 stairs to each level of the hotel in their second building so if you are on the top floor (rooms 260 and up) you have 60 stairs to walk up and down each way.

Towels well worn, stains here and there on the carpet, dreary colours throughout (and a pink bathroom!), lobby smells of smoke as you walk in (though the whole place is non smoking) but all in all an ok place to stay if you are in Port Angeles.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geminigemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Your review is very important to us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I'm not sure what happened with regards to the wine glasses. We do have wine glasses available for guest use. I will follow up with all staff to determine where this error was made. My apologies for the inconvenience.
I appreciate your kind comments about the staff and will share your review with all staff members.
Fall updating in guest bath areas will be happening soon. We are excited about the changes .
We hope you will give us another try and will love the improvements we are making.

Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Uptown staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My stay at this motel, that is what it is, was disappointing. The rooms are tired. Curtains, carpets, fixtures, furniture, TV, bath room, decor are all worn and need replacing.Wi-fi is really bad too. No A/C. I read other reviews where "no A/C" is mentioned and the response is it doesn't get hot enough and just a few others hotels in town have it. That's WRONG. I went online and checked out other hotels in town. Guess what? This motel and the one right next door to it are the only ones that don't. This motel also lists itself as a "non-smoking facility". How can it be when employees are smoking right by (less than 25 ft.) from the entrance. I've stayed at many different Choice hotels, from Sleep Inns to Comfort Inns and so on. This one was sadly the worst. Yet the price charged for the room was way too high. When I pay more than $125 for room with one bed, I expect furnishings, etc. to be at least from this century. Not at this place. Wonder how these people got Choice Hotels to overlook all the many items that are not up to par. I would have thought HD-TV's would be the norm by now. For the price this motel is so not worth it. Go stay any where else in town and you at least get a/c. Go stay any where else in town and get better wi-fi.
Just go stay any where else and pay a more reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelin-girl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your review on TripAdvisor. It is very disappointing to hear you were unhappy with your stay with us. Televisions in all our guestrooms are new 32' flat screen televisions. We do not offer HD - TV service however, this will be a future upgrade at our hotel. Guest bath areas will be receiving a major upgrade this fall. Unfortunately we were unaware you experienced an issue with the Wi-Fi connection. We are always nearby and able to assist when one of our guests is experiencing difficulty finding or connecting to our network. Our hotel does not offer air conditioning. With October's temperatures at 58 - 60 degrees I am sorry you were uncomfortable.
Because we are a non-smoking hotel, we are required to offer a designated smoking area for use. This area is compliant with the health laws at 25 feet from the hotels entrance. The laws will be reviewed with all employees to ensure that they are being complied with. Thank you for bringing this concern to my attention.
Your stay with us was during the annual Dungeness Crab & Seafood Festival in Port Angeles and I am unhappy to learn you were not completely satisfied with your stay here.
It is unfortunate that we were unable to speak directly in an effort to resolve some of these issues while you stayed with us. Please accept my sincere apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Angeles hotels

Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stopped here based on Quality Inn name. Don't let the semi-shady exterior fool you, this is a great place. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable and at a good price. Great location if you don't mind a few stairs down the hill to downtown Port Angeles. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPM757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for placing a five star review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you chose to stay at our hotel. Your review has been shared with the hotel staff and created many smiles today! We're so happy your stay was enjoyable and invite you to vist us again when visiting Port Angeles.



Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Uptown staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Its an old hotel, the annex rooms across the road have a great view of the mountains, and its pretty clean.
Breakfast is up to par, as was the bedding etc, the staff were friendly and efficient.
Its just a short walk down some stairs to the center of town
The bathroom was pepto bizmal pink is a real eye opener in the morning.
When I turned on the sink water it came out brown, not drinkable as you might expect, but its an old hotel.
For the price it was not a great deal, but its high season and you gotta make hay, but compared to some of the other motels on the main drag it looked the cleanest.
The only real complaint was out of control of the hotel, the town clock is a few blocks away and strikes the hour, all night, and on the half hour too!-all night long, I had the windows open as it was really hot, if you need to sleep get a room in the other building

Room Tip: Be aware town clock goes off all night long
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwisail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I appreciate you sharing your experience about your stay with us. I am pleased you overall enjoyed your visit. I am concerned you experienced an issue with discolored water from the bathroom sink. We are researching and working to correct the problem.
I understand your complaint about our courthouse clock. Yes, it does chime on the I/2 hour and the hour. While many of our guests do not hear it. Other guests hear it repeatedly throughout the evening. I apologize your sleep was disrupted due to the clock.
We hope you will visit us again when in Port Angeles and we will do our best to locate you away from the clock.
Kind Regards,
Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

From this motel, you can walk down a substantial flight of steps to the historical area of Port Angeles which is worth some time. The room (across the street from the office) was clean and large, and the breakfast was nice. The only problem could be access. There was no elevator, so if you cannot carry luggage up a regular flight of steps, this is not the motel for you. Also, the room was not air conditioned, but our weather was cool (even in August), so we did not miss the A.C.

Room Tip: We liked the newer section of the motel which was across the street from the office. The rooms att...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaMamaGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for placing your review on Tripadvisor. Your comments are very important to us. I am pleased you enjoyed our location. It's great to hear you had the opportunity to explore the historical areas in Port Angeles. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel and Port Angeles in the future.

Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,976 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#13 of 16 in Port Angeles
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 16 in Port Angeles
310 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Victorian Motel
Royal Victorian Motel
#4 of 16 in Port Angeles
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Uptown

Property: Quality Inn Uptown
Address: 101 E 2nd St, Port Angeles, WA 98362-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Uptown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Uptown Hotel Port Angeles
Quality Inn Port Angeles
Port Angeles Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing