We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent value, would stay here again”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent value, would stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We booked 2 queens with use of the shared bathroom. Excellent value for the location. Room and bathrooms were very clean and never had to wait more than a few minutes at peak time. Some of the rooms/suites are extremely large so if traveling with a family this may be the place for you. Even though this was right downtown it was quiet. Excellent restaurants within walking distance. Ferry only 3 minutes away. Front desk attendant was very helpful. Would stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHancock67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    76
    30
    16
    6
See reviews for
26
84
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

For $85/night we got a decent-size bedroom, a kitchen larger than my one at home (microwave & fridge, but no stovetop/oven), and bathroom with stall shower.

Everything was spotlessly clean. Yes - the road noise from HWY 101 was a bit loud, but we were so tired from hiking in the Olympic National Park, we didn't care. My only complaint was that the towel hooks were just outside the bathroom, not in the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
399 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

A bit loud in the apt suite but a great location in port angeles. Our stay was just an overnight for the ferry to victoria but the room was very spacious.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank imdarkside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Downtown Hotel before taking the ferry to Victoria and it was perfect for our needs. The room was spacious, clean and charming. It was snowy and cold out so we could just go to the restaurant downstairs to eat, very convenient. We'll stay again!

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

The Downtown Hotel is not a place for people who need complete silence, particularly if you are staying in a room that is on the main roadway with trucks barreling down frequently. This will occur seemingly at all hours of the night. I don't know about the other rooms in the hotel, so you may wish to inquire. I will admit that when making the reservation, the owner did inform me quite seriously about the noise issue, so this is not a complaint. The room though was beautiful and extremely clean- a full kitchen, large bedroom and nice bathroom. It was incredibly spacious and the price was exceptional for the value given. It is noted that you much climb a rather large staircase to get to the hotel and another to the rooms. The inside of the hotel itself is also very clean. The hotel is extremely close to the ferry and a good spot for wandering about Port Angeles. The City is not too large so getting out and venturing over to Hurricane Ridge in Olympic National Park is no problem. We did not exactly encounter great service, but the front door staff did help us out enough with our needs. There is no breakfast, but a fairly good diner is just downstairs. It is noted the hotel is located above shops in the downtown area. The parking is located across the street (the side street, not the main road), but is still very close. For those who can sleep through any noise, I would certainly look no further. For those who may have trouble, I would call ahead and find out if there are some quiet rooms available.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tazaemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

Just the standard queen room with shared bath, which was fine as we didn't see anyone else in the hotel. There were 4 bathrooms though so I guess if busy it would be ok anyway. Didn't see very much of the manager/staff, though he was polite when he was there. A good location, short walk to the ferry, Safeway and other shops. For $45 a night though I thought it was a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orimallei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

great location, you can see the hotel before you get off the ferry !!
Awesome rooms, very spacious, even if you book the cheapest 'euro' style room and you share the hallway bathrooms and toilets it's still really good, clean and new bathrooms, friendly owner. very affordable, very comfortable and secure

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitcellsous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#6 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#13 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

Property: Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Address: 101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small yet elegant family-owned hotel in the heart of Port Angeles, just one block away from the Coho ferry to Victoria, BC. Recently remodeled, located in the shopping and dining center of Port Angeles, The Downtown Hotel retains its old world charm with neat and tidy rooms ranging from budget-oriented Euro-Style one-beds to a two-bedroom apartment suite with a full kitchen. Some harbor or mountain views available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing