We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Euro style hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Euro style hotel”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is a fun, clean and friendly euro style hotel. Almost on the water front but close to shops and restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable and close to all the restroom facilities.
And the price cannot be beaten!

Room Tip: If you want it quiet ask for a room that is not on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gajanshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    77
    30
    16
    6
See reviews for
26
86
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel functioned well for what we needed and the guy who managed the hotel got us a room last minute. The stree noise was definitely a problem though and lasted all night as trucks drove in and out making deliveries.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbhalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here recently after hiking Hurricane Ridge. We were planning a day trip to Victoria by ferry the next day and wanted a convenient, inexpensive place to stay. The hotel was comfortable, very clean and the shared bathrooms on the hall were easy to access, clean and not a problem at all. The ferry is literally one block away and free parking is across the street. It was a great choice. The donut shop next door looked good, but there is a coffee shop one block away [I think it's on Second Street] that had good coffee and packed fresh muffins and scones for us to take on the ferry. An even better choice.

As an earlier reviewer said, there are steps involved since the hotel is one the second and third floor of the building. If you can't do steps, you may want to look elsewhere. Otherwise, it's a good choice and we're glad we stayed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank des124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic, iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Super location, downtown restaurants, ferry, harbor within walking distance. We had a room with a shared bath, Both room and bathroom were SPIC n SPAN clean. Total remodel - great find. My husband does not usually like "shared bath" but was totally comfortable with the accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This is such a good deal, cheap rates, very clean, charming rooms. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great location, located right downtown near all the restaurants and shops. We stayed in a "Euro style" room and it was adequate for our needs. The only complaint would be the walls are pretty thin.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Lovely little hotel, beautiful renovations, clean, nicely decorated, comfortable, good service, attention to detail and good value. Only complaint was the noise. It is on the main street and while it is a small town, and you'd think that it wouldn't be noisy at night, the trucks that go through the intersection bounce and rattle and will keep you awake. We could also clearly hear the neighbors TV. Other than that, it was perfect. The restaurant downstairs had fantastic food, great little greasy spoon diner. Not so much on service, but good prices and open early.

Room Tip: Beautiful, excellent value but noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haller22
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed here based on TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed! What a charming hotel. It's just one bright, friendly hallway and 15-20 rooms. It is simple, elegant and immaculately clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Great wi-fi! There is a slight downside with the parking around the corner/across the street/two sets of stairs to climb but unless you are hauling heavy suitcases, not a big deal.

I stayed in one of the Euro rooms w/shared bathrooms, perfect for my needs. A very nice room (#10) is at the back of the hotel (north side) and has a private bathroom/kitchen and windows with a great view of the ferry terminal and water... lovely! The East side rooms are all very quiet, have no views (view is of the roof of the building next door) but there is no street noise, just a few squawking seagulls early in the am. The South side rooms (just a couple of these) face the main drag and I can see how this could be noisy at times. The West side rooms face a side street and could be noisy, but did not seem bad at the time of my stay. These have a street view but also a bit of ocean view... an interesting cityscape. It was great how all the rooms are left open until occupied so you can see them! Walls are thin but it seemed like all guests quieted down at a reasonable hour so I slept well and it was not a problem.

I loved being in this part of Port Angeles... it is nice having the water so close and all the activity of downtown/waterfront. The best are the wonderful restaurants... Cockadoodle Doughnuts is right next door and opens at 6 am with their beautiful, tasty fresh doughnuts and coffee! Loved having this sweet petite shop immediately available in the mornings! And Thai Peppers restaurant on the back side of the block... wow, do I love the food there! Great stuff! There is also a movie theater just a block away and lots of places to walk and explore.

Just a nice experience here, highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#6 of 16 in Port Angeles
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 16 in Port Angeles
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Victorian Motel
Royal Victorian Motel
#4 of 16 in Port Angeles
437 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

Property: Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Address: 101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small yet elegant family-owned hotel in the heart of Port Angeles, just one block away from the Coho ferry to Victoria, BC. Recently remodeled, located in the shopping and dining center of Port Angeles, The Downtown Hotel retains its old world charm with neat and tidy rooms ranging from budget-oriented Euro-Style one-beds to a two-bedroom apartment suite with a full kitchen. Some harbor or mountain views available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing