We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my mom and sister for 5 nights just a couple of weeks ago. We really liked this place for the most part. We got the apartment suite, which included two queen beds, private bathroom, fairly modern furnishings, a flat screen TV, and a full kitchen (including glasses, utensils, and even pots and pans to cook with!). It was also very clean, and here's the best part: it was super cheap! The suite was only $110 during the peak season, which is probably cheaper than a crappy standard room somewhere else. The main thing we didn't like so much was the noise. Our room faced the street which I believe was the truck route for the 101 so we heard a lot of loud trucks. We got earplugs though and slept fine. There's not much the hotel can do about this though except maybe give out free earplugs. Also the owner might want to think about putting dressers in the rooms; there weren't very many places to put our clothes. There's a cute restaurant underneath the hotel that we had a really good breakfast at and a really good donut shop next door also (maple bacon donuts!). If you want to take the ferry to Victoria, it's the best place to stay because it's literally a two minute walk right into the terminal. The manager was nice and very accommodating. All in all, I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone. Just bring earplugs!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    76
    30
    16
    6
See reviews for
26
84
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This place was more than we thought. We came into town and had booked another place, but it looked so horrible on the outside we stopped by the hotel to check it out. The room was clean, fresh paint on the walls. Overall wonderful, my friend even said she could deal with the BR down the all. Only complaint was the road noise. Next time I will bring ear plugs and shut the window. Also, we walked just 500 feet to ferry to for Victoria. They let us park free for the day in the hotel parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52Bonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Always helpful to read the reviews of others. This place was reasonably priced and located right in downtown. It was quiet, clean and the room was a typical small town hotel, but with a full kitchen. We had booked a trip to Seattle which included our hotel there, but wanted to spend a night on the Olympic Penninsula. Our double room was $95/night & much, much nicer than any economy chain Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street not as nice, as trucks come thru in the early hours of the morning. Alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Going any more basic than what is offered at this hotel would be camping. The staff consists of a father and his son, they are both friendly and are willing to help. In the bottom floor of the building is a nice diner, and there are several other places to eat very close to the hotel. There is parking very close to the hotel, but the spaces are very tight. The beds are very comfortable, as I ended up becoming very sick and bed ridden for two days from eating some bad clam chowder or salad at a nearby restaurant. If I was forced to travel to Port Angeles again I would consider staying here again. Some of the rooms do not have a bathroom at all in them. Be sure to book one with the bathroom if you don't feel like sharing a community bathroom. In order to get to the rooms you do have to climb some stairs, that may be something to consider when considering hotels.

Room Tip: Be aware of what type of room you are booking, there are some rooms without a bathroom and you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

I opted for the private bathroom option at $102 a night for an ocean view. Included a full size fridge, microwave, full apartment style kitchenette. Very clean, pleasant check-in, we were politely informed to just leave the keys on the desk sometime around 11. Very friendly family feel to the place, even the "common" bathrooms didn't seem like too bad of an option once I saw the setup and cleanliness. Will certainly stay here again if I come back to this part of the country.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bisgo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The hotel room itself was clean and was a decent place to sleep for one night. But that is it. Other than a bed, there was no furniture for sitting. Customer service was minimal. At check in, we had to call for assistance. The front desk staff was unhelpful in providing basic details about the property including where to park. As others have reported, the hotel did have an unpleasant odor that was lessened by opening the window. Finally, beware of staying near the common room, which was quite loud throughout much of the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bisgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is the perfect downtown hotel one block from the harbor and in walking distance to downtown and great restaurants. It's basic and clean with a comfortable bed. You can choose to share a bath or have a private one. The front desk staff is extremely helpful. True, there is no elevator, but this is an historic building in downtown and consists of the top two floors above a restaurant. There is also no air conditioning, but they will provide a fan if you request one, but days above 80 are very infrequent.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room for more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exhiler8ting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#6 of 16 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#13 of 16 in Port Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 16 in Port Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

Property: Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Address: 101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small yet elegant family-owned hotel in the heart of Port Angeles, just one block away from the Coho ferry to Victoria, BC. Recently remodeled, located in the shopping and dining center of Port Angeles, The Downtown Hotel retains its old world charm with neat and tidy rooms ranging from budget-oriented Euro-Style one-beds to a two-bedroom apartment suite with a full kitchen. Some harbor or mountain views available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing