We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great as long as you know what you're getting.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great as long as you know what you're getting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Quite adequate and a good value. The shared bathrooms are among the cleanest facilities I've seen in any hotel - actually better than the half cleaned mildewey grouted shower/tub you are apt to find in a typical name brand chain's in-room bathroom. We stayed two nights as part of a tour of the Olympics. So convenient for the day trip on the ferry to Victoria, and breakfast in the restaurant on the ground level (as well as the next door donut shop) were both recommended. The noise on the street side was an issue, and I can see how this could be a deal breaker for someone not prepared. Good sleep if you have earplugs. Would be nice is the management provided a fan so you could have white noise and be able to shut the windows but still have some air movement - may want to consider bringing your own. I can also see how this place can get mixed reviews. You need to decide whether this arrangement meshes with you before booking, but if you come in knowing what to expect, you should be able to leave satisfied

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SWDCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    76
    30
    16
    6
See reviews for
26
84
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
253 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is my second stay at the Downtown Hotel. It was clean and comfortable. The shared bathroom thing is still no big deal. This time I brought the kids and they were totall ok with it. Checked in early which was nice. The only problem, in case mgmt reads this, is the back door that leads down the fire escape was propped open most of the day. Anyone from the alley could have walked right up to the rooms. I should have just closed it but I thought maybe people were hauling something etc. I would def stay here yet again. I really like this place and did I mention it's cheap!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank janelje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my mom and sister for 5 nights just a couple of weeks ago. We really liked this place for the most part. We got the apartment suite, which included two queen beds, private bathroom, fairly modern furnishings, a flat screen TV, and a full kitchen (including glasses, utensils, and even pots and pans to cook with!). It was also very clean, and here's the best part: it was super cheap! The suite was only $110 during the peak season, which is probably cheaper than a crappy standard room somewhere else. The main thing we didn't like so much was the noise. Our room faced the street which I believe was the truck route for the 101 so we heard a lot of loud trucks. We got earplugs though and slept fine. There's not much the hotel can do about this though except maybe give out free earplugs. Also the owner might want to think about putting dressers in the rooms; there weren't very many places to put our clothes. There's a cute restaurant underneath the hotel that we had a really good breakfast at and a really good donut shop next door also (maple bacon donuts!). If you want to take the ferry to Victoria, it's the best place to stay because it's literally a two minute walk right into the terminal. The manager was nice and very accommodating. All in all, I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone. Just bring earplugs!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This place was more than we thought. We came into town and had booked another place, but it looked so horrible on the outside we stopped by the hotel to check it out. The room was clean, fresh paint on the walls. Overall wonderful, my friend even said she could deal with the BR down the all. Only complaint was the road noise. Next time I will bring ear plugs and shut the window. Also, we walked just 500 feet to ferry to for Victoria. They let us park free for the day in the hotel parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 52Bonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Always helpful to read the reviews of others. This place was reasonably priced and located right in downtown. It was quiet, clean and the room was a typical small town hotel, but with a full kitchen. We had booked a trip to Seattle which included our hotel there, but wanted to spend a night on the Olympic Penninsula. Our double room was $95/night & much, much nicer than any economy chain Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street not as nice, as trucks come thru in the early hours of the morning. Alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Going any more basic than what is offered at this hotel would be camping. The staff consists of a father and his son, they are both friendly and are willing to help. In the bottom floor of the building is a nice diner, and there are several other places to eat very close to the hotel. There is parking very close to the hotel, but the spaces are very tight. The beds are very comfortable, as I ended up becoming very sick and bed ridden for two days from eating some bad clam chowder or salad at a nearby restaurant. If I was forced to travel to Port Angeles again I would consider staying here again. Some of the rooms do not have a bathroom at all in them. Be sure to book one with the bathroom if you don't feel like sharing a community bathroom. In order to get to the rooms you do have to climb some stairs, that may be something to consider when considering hotels.

Room Tip: Be aware of what type of room you are booking, there are some rooms without a bathroom and you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

I opted for the private bathroom option at $102 a night for an ocean view. Included a full size fridge, microwave, full apartment style kitchenette. Very clean, pleasant check-in, we were politely informed to just leave the keys on the desk sometime around 11. Very friendly family feel to the place, even the "common" bathrooms didn't seem like too bad of an option once I saw the setup and cleanliness. Will certainly stay here again if I come back to this part of the country.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#6 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#13 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

Property: Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Address: 101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small yet elegant family-owned hotel in the heart of Port Angeles, just one block away from the Coho ferry to Victoria, BC. Recently remodeled, located in the shopping and dining center of Port Angeles, The Downtown Hotel retains its old world charm with neat and tidy rooms ranging from budget-oriented Euro-Style one-beds to a two-bedroom apartment suite with a full kitchen. Some harbor or mountain views available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing