We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best farm on the tour”

Washington Lavender
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Washington Lavender is a Sequim lavender farm found on ten acres of oceanfront farmland overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca near Sequim, Washington. Home of fine "Martha's Own" and "By George" lavender products.
port angeles ,wa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best farm on the tour”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Every year I attend the lavender festival and usually have friends travel in to go with me. This year was going to be different since having a foot reconstruction surgery done 8 weeks ago. My options were to use my knee cart or use a wheel chair. We chose the wheel chair. This proved to be a bad choice since getting around the park and some of the farms in the grass and in the gravel walkways and paths was very hard for my friends to be pushing. I had almost given up hope of enjoying the festival when we decided to head out to the Washington lavender farm at the George Washington Inn. What a delight. the paths and roads are all paved so i could easily maneuver around. There was live music on the lawn, an antique car show i could wheel up and see - i even manuevered through the farm store and bought my yearly soap and a gift for a friend. Went outside and saw the renactment of the civil war group that was there, was so authentic and so fun. And then proceeded to have a wonderful cup of coffee in the incredible atmosphere. Thankyou for making the lavender festival a good experience for me Washington lavender farm.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pegoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Should have been more”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Yes - this is one of the farms you can visit during the Lavender Festival - which we did.

Great - mini civil war re-enactment camp with people dressed per the period, cooking stoves smoking, and gun fire. That was an awesome surprise as it was unexpected. Majestic Washington House - view upon arrival down the fenced drive was magnificant.

Poor - lavender "field" was a small patch of area, should have been more, perhaps the entire front lawn driving up to the home, feel short changed. Washington House itself is a B&B - so you can't tour the the home -which would have been a great bonus. They had a GYRO food truck stationed for food, a weird choice considering it's a period home w/re-enactors...seemed weird.

We saved this property for last as from the photos we saw in publications it had the best "WOW" factor of all the places to see. A few changes will have this place be one of the most memorable on the tour/stop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonInn, Owner at Washington Lavender, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for visiting Washington Lavender during the lavender weekend. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the colonial re-enactors. They will be back next year and have some big plans to enhance your experience.

Unlike many of the other lavender farms in the Sequim-Dungeness Valley, we have opted to landscape with lavender rather than putting it all in one “field”. The quarter-mile driveway is lined with four rows of Royal Velvet lavender. There is a field to the west of the Inn (which is the one to which you referred) that has Royal Velvet, Folgate, and Grosso lavender. This field is used for U-Pick and crafting purposes during the fair, and we continue the U-Pick in the weeks that follow. In addition to these locations, we have added several other varieties of lavender in other strategic landscaping locations around the property.

Although a tour of the B&B might be a nice bonus for our farm visitors, our B&B guests repeatedly tell us that they appreciate the fact that we afford them privacy during their stay. Can you imagine booking a room for a romantic getaway and then having the public “intrude” on your privacy? It’s a tough balance for us as the owners, but we are happy to share the lavender fields and stunning views available on the farm property.

The gyro food truck was a last-minute addition to the farm due to a medical emergency for the caterer who had planned to do the weekend food for us. We are currently in contact with another caterer who would be a perfect fit for the colonial/historical atmosphere of the property, and we hope that they will be with us for the 2015 events.

We invite you to return to the farm the next time that you’re in the area and hope that you’ll join us again in 2015 for lavender weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Incredibly Beautiful”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The setting is unbelievably beautiful, stunning lavender and poppy gardens. The George Washington Innis spectacular and it overlooks the sea! Fabulous!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 2onatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
847 reviews
381 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Post card beauty with lavender and poppy fields - B&B With Amazing view”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We came here during the July Lavender festival. It is down an impressive long driveway lined on both sides with rows of lavenders. Great photo spots with a beautiful garden area with purple lavender fields and multi colored poppy fields. Big parking area. $12 for a day pass that allowed visits to 8 or so farms. We found the paid farms were much better than the "free" farms. It is worth the extra money.

The George Washington B&B Inn sits right at the ocean with an amazing view. They had High Tea available, but we did not make reservation. That would be a must do next time. Some of our most beautiful pictures were from this property. Also had a great gift shop for all kinds of lavender products.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brown_Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Washington Lavender also viewed

 

Been to Washington Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing