We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, basic hotel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Victorian Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Victorian Motel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good, basic hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for one night before hiking Hurricane Ridge. The hotel is nothing to look at from the outside, but the room we had was clean and roomy. KC is a wonderful hostess and her enthusiasm for the natural beauty of the area is infectious. This is a good place for a night or two if you're not fussy and are looking for good, basic digs as a base for exploring the area.

Room Tip: We had a corner room upstairs. It was quiet and roomy with a big TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60763Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    156
    62
    26
    13
See reviews for
107
188
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombia, S.A.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This motel is your average, run-of-the-mill motel in Port Angeles, but what makes it special is KC, the manager. The woman somehow finds a way to be everywhere at once, and would give the shirt off her back to make your stay as pleasant as possible. If all hotels/motels had a KC working at them, they all would be rated 5 stars.

The motel itself is kind of run down, but if you're not super-picky about amenities, like turn-down service or chocolates on the pillow, this place is ideal. Why someone would want to spend a lot of time in a motel room when you have so much hiking/nature stuff to do is beyond me anyway.

In short, believe the hype; this place is the real deal. KC will bend over backwards to make sure you're well taken care of. Do yourself a favor and book this place. It is so well worth it.

Room Tip: It's a small place, so whatever room you get, you should be all right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inspectorjavert70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
366 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Glad to have chosen this motel during an unplanned stop. Room is spacious, bathroom is clean and bed very comfortable, exceeding my expectations of a motel. The owners were very helpful - providing maps of the local area, recommended a great nearby restaurant for dinner, and even provided a ride to the ferry terminal. Far better service than a five-star hotel concierge!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

While the decor may be outdated the rooms are clean and the hospitality is great. Wonderful proximity to all of the area activities too. The people upstairs were a little noisy so just ask for a 2nd floor room. KC was happy to recommend any restaurant you might want.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mircalla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover Plains
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Port Angeles after staying in Seattle for our first two nights in Washington. When we arrived at Royal Victorian we were immediately greeted with the most warm welcome from the ever amazing KC. Not having any real plan or destination in mind for our journey from Washington to Oregon, she had us equipped with an amazing detailed map of places to stop and beautiful "romantic" things to see. Without staying at this motel and meeting KC, we wouldn't have done or seen half of the incredible, magical sights we saw here in the Pacific Northwest.

As far as the motel itself, it was very clean, simple and just what you need for a night in Port Angeles. It was close enough to everything in town and safe and quiet. KC made sure we took our donuts and water bottles with us on the road, and sent us off with good wishes. She was worth the price just to be able to meet and speak with her alone!

Thanks again for making our trip, KC!

Tyler & Cassie

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CassieAndTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winlock, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We wanted an overnight place before catching the ferry to Victoria BC. This motel was affordable, clean, and yes, a bit worn. I (older, with physical limitations) traveled with two 20-somethings who wanted WiFi and breakfast. The Royal Victorian was just what we needed.
KC gave us great suggestions for lunch in town, plus places to visit as that evening. We loved watching the deer at Hurricane Ridge. Next morning, even though we had checked out, KC drove us to the ferry terminal, leaving our car at the motel. What's more, she returned for us at 9pm. I can't say enough about the value of this motel. KC and Ed were great hosts.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I'm really wondering who is writing all this good reviews for this Motel - it was the worst Motel I stayed in!! Ok, I didn't stay in any another motels in Port Angeles, I can not compare, but I stayed in several of them along USA. The rooms (we rented a Family room) were very old and rubbed - old furniture, almost killed bathroom - rust and dirt everywhere - and all these pleasures for almost $150 for a night! I was really shocked and was counting minutes until we leave this hotel.
And the lady running this motel was speaking very badly - I could not guess some words from third time she repeated them)) She offered us to pay additional $50 usd for the room to leave 2 hours later (our baby needed his nap, but we decided not to pay such money for the crap I would not pay even for a night there)

I almost never write a review but this time I wanted to warn people buying this "positively ranked" motel. I got to think maybe they renovated all single rooms but not the Family room?? But then the price for this rooms should not be so high! $50 tops!!!

Room Tip: Just do not stay there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.5 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#6 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#13 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victorian Motel

Property: Royal Victorian Motel
Address: 521 E. First Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Victorian Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Royal Victorian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victorian Hotel Port Angeles
Royal Victorian Port Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing