We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A no brainer....waaay better choice than other lodging options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites
Ranked #8 of 14 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A no brainer....waaay better choice than other lodging options”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Yes, we have once again had a delightful stay at Rooster Hill. Fabulous breakfasts (a little bit too big, but beautiful, healthy and delicious) plus comfy rooms and excellant hospitality always make staying there so relaxing. I don't know what it is but staying in the Madison room is heaven for me. I always sleep like a rock. The location is also excellant. Close enough to town to have a nice dining experience and centrally located for hiking, biking, kayaking, wine tasting, etc. Its a wonderful mixture of down home and being pampered.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACBraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    18
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
103
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The very steep staircase to the second floor and tiny landing made this B&B a challenge for the seniors I was travelling with (I'd asked specifically about this when making pre-reservation inquiries). The decor was quaint but not especially high end. The directions we were given were inadequate and with the municipal road signage hidden behind tree branches, a Rooster Hill arrow or something would definitely help. While we were eating the skimpy breakfast the porky pup wandered in and out of the kitchen a couple times which I can't say is up to usual health authority standards. Would we give the Inn at Rooster Hill a try again? Nope! We cry "fowl".

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkiechai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We spent 2 nights at this wonderful B&B. The hosts, Peggy and Layne were enthusiastic, helpful and you can tell they really enjoy what they do. Their home is super close to the park entrance, warm and relaxing. We stayed in the Andrew room which had a nice comfortable sleigh bed and a huge bathroom that also had a refrigerator and microwave which was very handy. The common area was also nice. Breakfasts were very special! They started with juice and fruit with cream. Then came a bread (scone one day and blueberry muffin the next). Finally, the main course which was eggs one day and the next a french toast with strawberries and cream cheese. These were accompanied by sausage or bacon. Delicious!
Peggy and Layne provided recommendations on restaurants and activities which was great. We ate at the Bella Italia (sp?) one night and the Thai place (I can't remember the name) the next night. Both were excellent. All in all a great experience. P.S.---they have a cute dog named Coco that is also warm and friendly!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishEyesMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is our second time at this great B&B. It is such a peaceful and relaxing place to spend a couple of days. Peggy and Layne are wonderful hosts and you feel as though you've been friends with them forever. They take plenty of time to visit with you and get to know you. The breakfasts were awesome and plentiful and the coffee pot was full all morning long. We will surely return for a third time (and more).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverJaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor, ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I had a one night stay at this Inn. I liked the location as it is a short drive out of town and is very quiet. It also makes a good starting point for Hurricane ridge. We stayed in the Karmen room on the lower level, and I must agree with other reviewers the room is very small. There is no closet and nowhere to keep the suitcases. On the up side, the bathroom is very large with a wonderful 2 person jacuzzi tub that very comfortably fit us both. There is a separate shower, and a dresser in the bathroom as well.
Breakfast is served inside or out on the large deck if desired. We found the amount of food to be adequate,(not the huge breakfast that is often associated with B&B's), with no shortage of coffee. The hosts are very friendly and accomodating, and are glad to make suggestions.
Downstairs is a TV room and small kitchenettethat has a fridge, microwave and Keurig for coffee (but no creamer). There is no fridge in the room as advertised on the website.
All the basics are there but as I said room size was small, and I felt it was overpriced for the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Peggy and Layne are very hospitable. The rooms are clean and the inn is quiet. We were a little disappointed with the lack of housekeeping if you stay multiple nights. The other thing we were disappointed in was the breakfast. It was very small and we left the table hungry. Also, there was only a small coffee pot for many people so we had to wait a while to get a second cup.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 512Kim21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
467 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Inn at Rooster Hill operates in a different spectrum than the other B&Bs we stayed at in Port Angeles. It is definitely for the more budget-conscious and has more of the feel of a boarding house. The property is not nearly as nice nor as maintained, and there is no view nor attraction to the location as it is located on a dead end in a rural neighborhood just outside Port Angeles.

We stayed in the Roiel (pronounced royal) room ($179) which was quite spacious with a jacuzzi tub, corner shower, and a large walk-in closet (with very poor lighting) where they had a fridge, microwave, and sink.

However, the small touches and details are missing, an indication that corners are cut to save money and keep prices low: no bar soap at all, no lotions, the bedding is adequate and, in addition, the rooms are cleaned only every three days if you stay multiple nights. No fresh sheets (and the bed is unmade), no new towels, and if you use any plates, glasses, or silverware, it won’t get cleaned for three days.

The food is adequate but nothing special and, back to the missing details, there was only sugar for tea or coffee, no artificial sweetener like Splenda or Sweet and Low. The common area and the dining arrangements are small, although you can eat on the deck if you wish. All in all, as mentioned before, it has the feel of a boarding house, where special amenities or frills aren’t provided.

That said, the rooms are clean, there is plenty of hot water, and the location affords a quiet night’s sleep. In addition, Peggy and Layne are very hospitable, very free with information and, for the budget conscious, the rooms are less per night than the others we stayed at, and there is no two-night minimum. Also, some of their policies are a little more flexible than the upscale B&B’s.

In conclusion, since our budget will allow for it, we much preferred staying elsewhere. If you are very budget-conscious and don’t care about the location or frills, the Inn at Rooster Hill will definitely meet your needs. If you want something nicer, check out my other reviews of this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
2.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,613 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,980 reviews
15.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
All View Motel
All View Motel
#7 of 16 in Port Angeles
121 reviews
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,149 reviews
5.7 mi away
A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites

Property: Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites
Address: 112 Reservoir Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98363-2477 (Formerly Inn at Rooster Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Un Bed and Breakfast. 5 Unique separate suites with private entrances. Small kitchenettes good for prepping breakfast and lunch. In room coffee. Free wireless/safe off street parking. One night stays allowed. Late check-ins and early check outs allow you to come and go as you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing