We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even with snow, it was delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites
Ranked #8 of 14 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
salt lake city
1 review
“Even with snow, it was delightful”
Reviewed 8 January 2007

We arrived the day of an extraordinary snow storm that had basically shut down much of the city. Peggy and Layne had our room ready, a fire blazing and the warmest hospitality. Though the snowstorm made some of the sights we were going to visit inaccessible, they were ready with alternative suggestions for us, which made our stay an outstanding experience. Can't wait to visit again -- maybe this time when the weather is warm and pleasant as our hosts.
Beverly, Vicky and Patty

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank bduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    17
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
102
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raymond, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2006

My husband, sister and I had the distinct pleasure of spending the night at the Inn at Rooster Hill. We are veteran's of many B and Bs both in the United States and in England and would give Rooster our top rating. The inn is delightfully and playfully furnished which creates an upbeat atmosphere from the moment you arrive. The smells of baking welcomed us as we walked in the door and were greeted by our welcoming hosts Peggy and Layne and their sweet dogs. The guest rooms were both beautiful and comfortable. Peggy and Layne have thought of every comfort and anticipated their guest's every need. The care taken to create this beautiful space is evident in all the lovely and comfortable furnishings as well as the art which one can see has been carefully gathered. In the morning we were treated to a delightful breakfast including wonderful coffee. There simply is not enough which can be said in praise of the Rooster and the three of us send our thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Liked — The care taken with the interior design and the hosts
  • Disliked — There was absolutely nothing we did not like
  • Tips/Secrets — Give yourself a long stay
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SukieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2006

The Inn at Rooster Hill is a lovely 3-story Bed and Breakfast just outside of downtown Port Angeles. We booked a room there for two nights based on other TripAdvisor reviews, and were not disappointed!

The Inn is about 5 minutes from the Hurricane Ridge visitor's center of Olympic National Park. Like most B&B's, their check-in hours are limited (3-7), so if you're coming for the National Park, don't plan on doing any major hikes, or seeing the sights on the western side of the park on check-in day. Drive times on the peninsula are longer than you think, and getting back to Port Angeles in time might be tough! Also don't trust the Internet road map sites for how to get to the Inn -- they direct you to turn at a non-existent intersection!! But once you get good directions, they're very easy to find, and easily accessed from the main road (Rt. 101).

Rooster Hill is a home away from home. We stayed in the Lauren room on the top floor, and it turned out to be an entire mini-suite, with a queen bed and plenty of storage space in the main room, a small kitchenette, and a full bathroom. The top-floor room also has a balcony out a private doorway, and is one outdoor flight of stairs up from the hot tub. We were close to the end of the season, but the rate was quite reasonable, and on-par with that of a chain hotel. But the Inn was _way_ better than staying in a franchise!

The bed was comfortable, and the shower was oustanding. A dual-head shower with one huge "rainfall" head, and another tethered massage head. Water pressure on the third floor could have perhaps been better, but we never ran out of hot water and they provided an abundance of towels and fuzzy mats on the floor.

Peggy and Layne are outstanding innkeepers! Unlike many who are all business, they're very social with their guests, and are great to talk to. They're a great source of local knowledge. Peggy bakes outstanding cookies, which they have available with tea each afternoon.

Breakfast was delicious. We had a strata and thick-cut bacon, to go along with the build-your-own yogurt fruit parfait. They offer coffee and juices, and have one of the more impressive assortments of teas that I've seen in an Inn. The only downside to breakfast was probably the hours -- they offer your choice of 8:30 or 9:30 for breakfast. If you're there on serious leisure this works out great, but if you're planning a day of activities on the Western side of the peninsula, even the 8:30 might be a little late to get your on your way for that 3-hour drive.

Nonetheless, the one morning we simply couldn't stay for the 8:30 breakfast, Peggy packed us a bagged breakfast with fresh fruit, juices, yogurt and breakfast breads. She gave it to us the night before, and it kept just fine in our in-room refrigerator until we ate it in the car the next morning. So, no complaints at all about the food options or service.

"Quiet Hours" begin at 10:00 PM, which is maybe a little early in my opinion, but perhaps not all guests will see it that way. The biggest downside of the 10:00 restriction is that you cannot use the hot tub after that time. We didn't get back from a day of hiking until after 9:30 one night, and the tub would have been heavenly!! We didn't ask, so I don't know for sure they wouldn't have let us use it anyhow. I'm guessing if you're nice about it and other guests weren't somehow inconvenienced, that they probably would. We elected to just shower and go to bed early instead.

The Inn has two dogs, Harley and Coco, both of whom are very friendly and well trained. Coco is a little hyper about wanting affection from guests, but they're both very sweet dogs and even made our stay feel a little more enjoyable! I'm not even a "dog person", so that's saying something... They weren't a problem at all!

In general, I would recommend this B&B without exception. You can't beat the location, and the rooms and amenities are well above average for B&Bs. A great place to stay!

  • Liked — Great location and a fantastic room
  • Disliked — Breakfast and "quiet hour" time restrictions are maybe a tiny bit too late, and too early.
  • Tips/Secrets — "Black Diamond Road" is called "Pine Street" on the roadsign on 101. Turn on Pine!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwest US
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2006

This Inn is not only gorgeous and extremely well decorated, it is also comfortable, with hosts that make you feel like family. We just got back from a whirlwind tour of the Olympic Peninsula and Vancouver Island and stayed in many delightful places, but this one topped all. The grounds are beautiful, the house is incredible, the bed was very comfortable, breakfast was delicious and more than enough. I can't say enough good things about our stay or the hosts. They really thought of everything and made us feel welcome. More like guests in their home, old friends rather than strangers. They have two adorable dogs that kept us company, however, we are dog people and if you didn't want the dogs around, they would have made sure to keep them away.

I give the Inn at Rooster Hill and its hosts, Peggy and Lane, my highest recommendation. This is THE place to stay.

  • Liked — The hosts were friendly and thoughtful.
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything bad.
  • Tips/Secrets — We stayed in the Lauren room and loved it.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2006

I can't say enough good things about our stay at the Inn at Rooster Hill August 10-14, 2006! My husband and I had a wonderful time, which was greatly enhanced by the friendly atmosphere and gourmet breakfasts provided by Peggy and Layne. They went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay comfortable and to recommend restaurants and activities in the area. We stayed in the Andrew room, which was spotlessly clean and had the most comfortable bed! Being from NC, we couldn’t imagine staying in a place without air conditioning in August, but it was very comfortable thanks to the great climate on the peninsula and a fan (that we didn’t even need to use at night). We don’t often stay in B&Bs, and any we stay with in the future will have to work really hard to equal this experience!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, peacefulness, great food, and the open and friendly personality of owners.
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Tips/Secrets — Need to have a car, as it would be a long walk to town for meals, etc.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ProcFreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2006

I had the pleasure to stay at the Inn at Rooster Hill this past July. The hosts, Peggy and Layne were so friendly and filled with great advice on restaurants and things to do in nearby Olympic National Park.
My room was beautifully decorated and the breakfasts were gormet all the way. I highly reccomend the Inn at Rooster Inn.

  • Liked — the Friendly hosts
  • Disliked — i loved everything
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TomHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2006

The innkeepers of Rooster Hill, Peggy Frehner and her husband Layne, did their utmost to make our stay as comfortable and entertaining as possible.

My mother and I were in town for the annual Lavender Festival in nearby Sequim, WA and Peggy was full of useful information - from where to park and how best to get around the festival to best dining tips for the evenings.

The Inn is full of charm and comfy furnishing, as well as a huge deck for taking your morning coffee. Peggy is a great chef so breakfast was varied as well as delicious! In celebration of the Lavender Fest, we dined on scones with lavender honey and lavender butter as well as other delectable comestibles.

The ability to use my laptop with their wi-fi was invaluable since I did need to keep in touch with my office during my stay.

I would stay there again with no hesitation.

Thanks for all the laughter! :o)

Helpful?
1 Thank navcomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
2.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
1,483 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 15 in Port Angeles
1,832 reviews
1.7 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 15 in Port Angeles
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 15 in Port Angeles
1,091 reviews
5.7 mi away
A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast
10.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites

Property: Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites
Address: 112 Reservoir Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98363-2477 (Formerly Inn at Rooster Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Un Bed and Breakfast. 5 Unique separate suites with private entrances. Small kitchenettes good for prepping breakfast and lunch. In room coffee. Free wireless/safe off street parking. One night stays allowed. Late check-ins and early check outs allow you to come and go as you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing