We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This must be heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
George Washington Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“This must be heaven”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed in this wonderful Inn during our US&Canada vacation. Stayed 2 weeks ago but we are still overwhelmed with the beauty of the Inn and the surrounding area. We stayed in 5* places around the globe (see my reviews), but finally we found it - THIS is it - this must be heaven.
Not only is the Inn immaculately kept, tasteful furnishings, absolute cleanliness (BEST housekeeping we ever experienced - not one grain of dust could be found anywhere!). The view is to die for, every single suite in this Inn is more than wonderful, the (home cooked!) Breakfast in the morning is better than any breakfast in any Ritz / Four Seasons anywhere. The owners of the Inn belong to the most wonderful people one can imagine - they make you feel like family right from the start and go out of their way to guarantee you the most enjoyable vacation.
I am sorry, my clumsy word can't do justice to this magical place. We want to go back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Each and every room is wonderful. You cannot got wrong!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Three_Swords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    7
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
223
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband and I stayed six nights and the only criticism is that there isn’t a lot of variety in the main breakfast menu. On two occasions we left before the regular breakfast time and those were the only mornings something besides eggs and sausage were served (the rest of breakfast is fabulous). When Janet realized I was disappointed in missing her blackberry French toast she arranged to make it the next morning! She was also very accommodating of our early schedule those days and had “to-go” breakfasts ready for us when we left.
George Washington Inn is beautiful! It sits on a lavender farm and backs to the bluffs and Strait, which made for a wonderfully calming stay. The Surveyor’s room is large and beautifully decorated in both color and furniture. It has a fireplace, and a firm mattress which made for excellent sleep after days of hiking! The bathroom was huge, as nicely decorated as the room, and had an air-jet tub instead of the typical water-jet (hooray for no bacteria). It is close to dining and ferries, and to Olympic National Park for hiking, although we could have spent an entire day on the property sitting in the lavender and poppy fields looking at the mountains or watching ships pass on the Strait. Janet’s cold breakfast soups, muffins, and lavender jams were delicious, and we liked that she included lavender in a lot of what she served. One always takes a risk when staying at an unfamiliar B&B, especially for an extended stay of 6 nights, but we were delighted with Janet, Dan and the Inn, and will stay again when we return to the Olympics.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I live near the inn and was wanting to see the property, etc. for overflow guests. This inn has had a lot of exposure in the local newspaper and looked like a good option for us. I stopped by the other day with 2 out of town guests. We were greeted at the door (which was barely opened) and told that only "registered" guests were allowed in. How could you possibly recommend some place to stay if you are not allowed to see even the public areas.
We have a small community and usually everyone is very nice and friendly. I cannot say that about this inn and it's owners. It looks like a nice place, but there are many other places to stay in Sequim and Port Angeles. These owners need to consider how they treat locals and potential guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pkd80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonInn, Owner at George Washington Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your interest in the George Washington Inn. Sometimes people do not realize that B&B's are actually private residences. And, as a private residence we are not insured and licensed for public tours. Unlike commercial hotels, we do not have "public areas" or grounds that are open for touring.

To give opportunity for local residents to see the Inn, we host several non-profits and schedule numerous public events during the year, advertising those events in the local paper, on our website, etc. Outside of those special events, the Inn and the surrounding grounds are reserved for the enjoyment of our registered guests. In addition, when someone desires to visit the inn to make a reservation, we are happy to schedule an appointment. Our phone number is posted on our signage. Our website also offers many property details and photographs to assist in viewing the Inn.

We also have a lavender farm and farm store. The field, which is not near the fenced oceanfront bluff, is made available for visitors to enjoy the flowers and take photos without charge. There is a picket fence that distinguishes the farm from the Inn, and the signage in the parking area notes “Registered Guests Only Beyond This Point”. Again, we apologize that you did not realize that we are not insured and licensed for public tours, and we appreciate your interest in the George Washington Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our whole experience here was absolutely wonderful. The surroundings were beautiful with the carefully manicured lawn and flower beds. Seen out the back was the Strait of Juan de Fuca. and out the front, to the south, the majestic snow-capped Olympic Mountain Range. You could not ask for a more tranquil setting. The inside of the Inn was no less impressive. Coming in the front door you are met with a gorgeous spiral staircase leading to the second floor. Our room was immaculate with many nice amenities. The snacks and breakfast were delicious. And, last, but not least, Dan and Janet were a gracious host and hostess. They seemed to have thought of and provided everything that combined to make for a refreshing and relaxing stay. This was our first time and hopefully will not be our last. We highly recommend the Inn to any who are looking for a comfortable getaway. It was a great place to spend our 36th anniversary.

Room Tip: Any room will be lovely and enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug_and_Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

What a fantastic place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary! Loved the fact that our room had a view of the water, the mountains, and the beautiful lavender field. Janet and Dan were the perfect hosts and the food was delicious! We enjoyed the sunny days with day trips to Hurricane Hill, Crescent Lake, Sol Duc Falls, Cape Flattery, and Shi Shi Beach. I highly recommend this inn and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and I spent our vacation in Seattle and Olympic National Park for several days, and we all agree that George Washington Inn is one of the best family inns we have ever been staying with.

Although the lavender farm is not very large but beautiful enough. The back side of the hotel faces the sea which is quite nice view.

The owner of the hotel, Dan and Janet are very nice and easygoing. We really feel like being at home, although our home is 10,000 KM away (China).

There is a small lavender store sells interesting stuff so we brought a lot back to China. :-)

Room Tip: General Suite is quite good, but I believe all suites are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn. The owners are two of the nicest people we've ever met, and their gracious hospitality made us feel right at home. The inn itself is majestic, and the land around it is serene and great for exploring. We will be back and will tell all our friends if they are ever in the Pacific NW, they MUST stay at George Washington Inn. This was our first stay ever at a B&B and it will be very difficult to go back to regular hotels when traveling. Wish there was an Inn just like this in every state!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are beautiful. We stayed in the Mount Vernon Retreat and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd-and-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
6.6 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,612 reviews
7.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,978 reviews
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sea Cliff Gardens Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Domaine Madeleine
Domaine Madeleine
#2 of 14 in Port Angeles
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
#3 of 14 in Port Angeles
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Washington Inn

Property: George Washington Inn
Address: 939 Finn Hall Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98362-8499
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best B&B in "Best of the Peninsula" every year since 2013, George Washington Inn was built as a replica of George Washington's mansion on a lavender farm near he Olympic National Park. This oceanfront inn has 5 spacious rooms with stunning mountain views and overlooks the Strait of Juan de Fuca from a high bluff between Sequim and Port Angeles, WA. Take a short drive or ferry ride from Seattle, Vancouver or Victoria and you can enjoy fine lodging and find nature at its best. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing