We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEAVEN ON EARTH”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
George Washington Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Add the George Washington Inn and Lavender Farm to your list of must places to visit and reason to travel to the Pacific NW. With all the modern comports of home, it is at the same time a trip back to a less hurried, earlier time and the attention to detail in the décor captivating. We were there at the peak of the lavender season, the color in the field and fining the long drive to the Inn breath-taking but so was the spectacular view from the back of the Inn which is situated on a bluff overlooking a strait. The beauty and serenity of the setting combined with the friendly and gracious hospitality of Janet and Dan, and the delicious breakfasts had us regretting we didn't plan several more days at the Inn on our return trip from Victoria. And be sure to plan a leisurely visit...or two...to the Lavender Farm gift shop where you'll find delicious and unit gifts of all things lavender.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill_Lou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our first brief visit to Olympic Peninsula could not have been better. What a terrific location - right on the Strait of Juan de Fuca - we watched a harbor seal frolic, watched the cruise ships sail by, and had terrific views of Mt. Rainer from the bluff overview. The food and hospitality - first class!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal_Chattanooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonInn, Owner at George Washington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words, Neal. Just a minor correction. You meant Mount Baker, not Rainier. We hope to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Everything about our stay at the George Washington Inn was top notch. The construction and appointment of the rooms is 5-star quality. The grounds and location are stunning. Dan and Janet do an excellent job of making one feel welcome and that help is available while at the same time giving guests plenty of space for a private experience.

Without question, one of the best places to stay in the state of Washington.

Phil & Bridgett

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Amazing inn, great views, breakfast and hospitality. a winner good place to stay if you want to tour the Olympic Peninsula or be in Victoria and come across the water. Each breakfast topped the next and was served in an amazing porch setting overlooking the water. loved the grandfather clock that chimed the hour and the piano they had. I needed to practice for a master class i was taking and most hotels do not allow you to play. here they welcomed me. since the inn was builit 11 years ago it has state of the art fixtures and is very modern in an old world mansion. unusual combination

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gloria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at the George Washington Inn on July 29th which was the day we got engaged. After an exhausting (11 mile) hike, we pulled up to this beautiful and majestic manor (a surprise for me) and he informed me that this was our final destination for the evening. There is a lavender field just to the left of the parking lot and when we got out of the car, there was the scent of lavender lilting in the air. It was as if immediate relaxation swept over me. We were really filthy after our long hike, I was very sunburned, and to be honest I was slightly embarrassed at the state of our appearance. We walked in and we were greeted by Dan who gave us a little tour and showed us to our room. The room was absolutely beautiful. There were so many little wonderful amenities and you could tell that great care and thought was put into making the guests feel welcomed and at home. The back lawn was an expansive patch of lush green grass that ended on a bluff which overlooked the Strait of Juan de Fuca and was absolutely breathtaking. My favorite part about our room was the bathroom. The tub was a whirlpool airjet (?)and I almost needed a step stool to get into because it was so deep. I laid in the tub for a long time which was amazing after our long hike. The bed was very comfortable and I slept so well! Breakfast was absolutely delicious and we especially enjoyed the rhubarb roll-ups. You can really tell that for Dan and Janet, the George Washington Inn is a labor of love. They have put so much into this beautiful inn and are so very hospitable and nice. As well as an inn, the property is also a Lavender Farm. Dan allowed us to watch as he was putting the lavender in a distiller and extracting the oil which was very interesting. It's nice to stay at a place where the owners will stop and have a conversation and will take time to learn your name. We had a wonderful time and I would strongly encourage anyone who asked to go visit this Jewel on the Strait!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed in this wonderful Inn during our US&Canada vacation. Stayed 2 weeks ago but we are still overwhelmed with the beauty of the Inn and the surrounding area. We stayed in 5* places around the globe (see my reviews), but finally we found it - THIS is it - this must be heaven.
Not only is the Inn immaculately kept, tasteful furnishings, absolute cleanliness (BEST housekeeping we ever experienced - not one grain of dust could be found anywhere!). The view is to die for, every single suite in this Inn is more than wonderful, the (home cooked!) Breakfast in the morning is better than any breakfast in any Ritz / Four Seasons anywhere. The owners of the Inn belong to the most wonderful people one can imagine - they make you feel like family right from the start and go out of their way to guarantee you the most enjoyable vacation.
I am sorry, my clumsy word can't do justice to this magical place. We want to go back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Each and every room is wonderful. You cannot got wrong!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Three_Swords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband and I stayed six nights and the only criticism is that there isn’t a lot of variety in the main breakfast menu. On two occasions we left before the regular breakfast time and those were the only mornings something besides eggs and sausage were served (the rest of breakfast is fabulous). When Janet realized I was disappointed in missing her blackberry French toast she arranged to make it the next morning! She was also very accommodating of our early schedule those days and had “to-go” breakfasts ready for us when we left.
George Washington Inn is beautiful! It sits on a lavender farm and backs to the bluffs and Strait, which made for a wonderfully calming stay. The Surveyor’s room is large and beautifully decorated in both color and furniture. It has a fireplace, and a firm mattress which made for excellent sleep after days of hiking! The bathroom was huge, as nicely decorated as the room, and had an air-jet tub instead of the typical water-jet (hooray for no bacteria). It is close to dining and ferries, and to Olympic National Park for hiking, although we could have spent an entire day on the property sitting in the lavender and poppy fields looking at the mountains or watching ships pass on the Strait. Janet’s cold breakfast soups, muffins, and lavender jams were delicious, and we liked that she included lavender in a lot of what she served. One always takes a risk when staying at an unfamiliar B&B, especially for an extended stay of 6 nights, but we were delighted with Janet, Dan and the Inn, and will stay again when we return to the Olympics.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
6.6 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,038 reviews
9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
7.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sea Cliff Gardens Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Domaine Madeleine
Domaine Madeleine
#2 of 14 in Port Angeles
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
#3 of 14 in Port Angeles
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Washington Inn

Address: 939 Finn Hall Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98362-8499
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range: £139 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestic 5-star inn as featured in The Seattle Times and consistently voted as the Best B&B in "Best of the Peninsula" (5 years in a row as of 2017). George Washington Inn was built as a replica of George Washington's mansion on a lavender farm near the Olympic National Park. A luxury oceanfront inn with 5 spacious rooms and stunning mountain views, it overlooks the Strait of Juan de Fuca from a high bluff between Sequim and Port Angeles. Take a short drive or ferry ride from Seattle, Vancouver or Victoria and you can enjoy the finest lodging and find nature at its best. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing