We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but clean”
Review of Riviera Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riviera Inn Motel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Running Springs, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Old but clean”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here with some friends for two nights. On the plus side it was a little cheaper than some of the other places we looked at, the help is friendly, free coffee in the morning. On the down side is it is a little old and on a busy street. Not a short walk to the ferry. No eateries nearby.

Room Tip: They have a unusual ramp for the upstairs rooms that is nice, just roll you bags up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDodgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    27
    26
    7
    12
See reviews for
15
38
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

For some reason, hotels in PA are very expensive. In a vain attempt to avoid being ripped off we took the cheap road and went for the "Naugahyde special" that is the Riviera. They advertised rooms on the net for $70 but, even though the place was 90% empty, the lady on reception claimed that these rooms had gone and wouldn't budge from $79. More fool us for agreeing to such outrageousness.

Beyond this, there's not much to add to the summary above. Just what you'd expect from a low end old motel - except the price. Anywhere else $40-50 would be a rip-off.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Angeles hotels

Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a pretty typical 1950s motel. It;s clean, the staff is okay, the rooms are okay, the bed was okay, but it did have alot of road noise. It's pretty convienent to downtown and the ferry, although not within easy walking distance. The price was very typical for this kind of hotel, but seemed alittle high for PA. I guess it's a pretty good value but don't expect much luxury.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmentzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Motel on "main drag" as they all were. Beautifully kept surroundings and a clean maintained room. For the unusually warm weather, they provided a fan in room. Freshly painted and nice check in process. Double bed rooms were quiet at night. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Get one up from road, it is a main drag after all. City is full of one way highway roads through tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atozonabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Almost hate to post this since the staff was courteous, but important to share the experience for others to avoid disappointment. Unsavory location (too far from "downtown" - Red Lion was the most convenient location we noted after a LONG walk), dark, dank rooms with extremely outdated decor and no real amenities to speak of. Smelly also...from very strong curry smell upon check in, then around 5ish the horrible overall area smell of what we surmised (after a Google search) to be the Pt. Townsend paper mill odor carrying over to Pt. Angeles. Horrible stink (rotten eggs)!! No A/C, so we relied on a small oscillating fan to keep cool and get air circulating. Also- the exterior was littered with garden / vegetables similar to a home's backyard. Misc pots and buckets with mystery plants. Very unprofessional looking. Spend your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't spend your money here...at least get closer to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillianberrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We arrived after driving from Portland to explore Olympic national park a bit. We did not have prior reservations but were greeted by friendly voices on the phone and was able to reserve a queen room on an apparently busy night in Port Angeles with the marathon going on, so rooms were at a premium (apparently). Everyone else was charging upwards of $90 and up while the place with very good reviews here was up for $70 for a queen ($90 for a king)?! How would we pass it up?!

In hindsight, we should have. While I appreciate those whose has written their reviews here, they are overly "glowy" on the rooms - I guess if details are left out i gives a whole different view.

So here are the good:
Close to downtown and right on highway, cheaper than everywhere else, and the rooms and linens are really quite clean as the reviewers have stated. The location is safe and despite its location close to the highway, fairly quiet with the traffic noise. A tabletop oscillating fan is provided to keep the air moving. Nice flat screen TV placed on a low set of drawers is hardly viewable while laying in bed and needed to be elevated. There is a small microwave and cube refrigerator provided but are placed on the floor so access is rather difficult.

Here are the not so good details:
The bed is very firm as are the pillows (some people like this....just not my preference). The shower is very small (a 3 foot by 3 foot cubicle) and doesn't drain completely as the drain cover was installed on top of the shower floor. There is no hair dryer, and outlets are sparse. You can hear every shower and toilet from around your room being used and voices travel easily from room to room it seems. Some nitpicky stuff - the microwave is wayyy dated (the once white door is yellow) and missing a knob, the decor is from the mid 80s-ish, and the veneer on some furniture is being held on by scotch tape. If you forget your towel before you get in the shower, well you'll be walking wet to get it. In all, the Riviera Inn is in need of a substantial renovation.

To be honest, if you need a place to lay your head it's fine. The price we paid was too high given the quality of room (we paid more here than at a name brand near Portland which was an excellent value). We will probably not be staying here again if we visit Port Angeles.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I have been working a PRN job at the local Hospital, driving in from out-of-town for two days/week for the past few months. Riviera Inn Motel has been my "home-away-from-home" during this time. While it is a pretty typical little motel for the area, the things that make it stand out for me are: the rooms are always CLEAN; I have always felt safe there; and the people who manage the hotel are very wonderful and accommodating. You can tell that they care about you, and want to make your stay comfortable. Since they knew I would be staying with them a few nights every week, they were willing to give me a lower rate. The rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave, which has been very helpful for meals, without having to eat out at a restaurant all the time. The TVs have been upgraded; and they have free WI-FI. While there has been no breakfasts during the time I've been staying with them (off-season) - that was not a problem for me, as I usually ate at the Hospital's cafeteria (where the food is delicious - they have chefs!!).
This is somewhere I will continue to return to anytime I need to stay in Port Angeles!!! Highly recommend!!

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,977 reviews
1.4 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#6 of 16 in Port Angeles
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#13 of 16 in Port Angeles
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flagstone Motel
Flagstone Motel
#9 of 16 in Port Angeles
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Victorian Motel
Royal Victorian Motel
#4 of 16 in Port Angeles
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Inn Motel

Property: Riviera Inn Motel
Address: 535 E Front St, Port Angeles, WA 98362-3317
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Riviera Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riviera Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Port Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing