We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Olympic Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olympic Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Large motel style room, very good location and well priced relative to chain hotels.

Room Tip: Try southside, away from road. Nice wall art too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank National_Park_Lover3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,600 - 1,606 of 1,974 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor, and spent one night in order to catch the ferry in the morning. The lobby is warm, with a nice fireplace. We'd been hiking on Rialto Beach late on a November afternoon, so we really appreciated the complimentary broccoli cheese soup and bread available upon arrival. They later had fresh baked chocolate chip cookies at the front desk, complimentary as well. The rooms are very nice and clean. Good bathroom, with good counter space and lighting - very comfortable bed. Friendly staff. We called the desk for an additional pillow, and they were pleasant, and brought it right up to the room. The restaurant is open for breakfast only. We had a good omelet with fresh, local ingredients, and some of the best pancakes we'd eaten anywhere- light with confectionary sugar and local berries! Some of the best accommodations on our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LikeVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryan_french13, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

We are pleased that the Olympic Lodge staff could be helpful to you throughout your visit. The soup was a wonderful feature of the winter months and we now have something even better to offer, our Olympic Lodge Bistro, which serves fresh local seafood and delicious Northern Italian cuisine. Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

From the moment we walked in, we knew this was a great choice for our 3-night getaway over Thanksgiving. I can attest to the high standards there from all the details they got right. The friendly staff made us feel welcome at every opportunity. The large lobby of stone, dark wood, and leather was a major component of the warm feeling, especially in the evenings when the large fireplace had a roaring fire. On Sunday through Thursday they offer free soup in the cafe at 5pm, with bread and large seasoned croutons. Later in the evening large cookies are available in the lobby -- I give the chocolate chip cookies a solid A, and I'm picky. The cafe offers several superlative breakfasts, including a daily quiche with fresh fruit, Belgian waffle + fruit, pancakes, etc. With the nice view of the golf course in back, the complimentary USA Today, the exercise room with its 5 machines and large flatscreen TV, the jacuzzi and heated pool, the marble sinks (two) in the bathroom, and the solid fast-connecting WIFI, this was a no-brainer 5-star review. We will be back!

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side, 2nd or 3rd floor, for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seathos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed for one night at the Olympic Lodge in Port Angeles, WA to start off a nine day trip through the Pacific Northwest. After walking into the beautiful lobby, we already wished we could have stayed longer! It was extremely clean, welcoming and well decorated with an upscale lodge feel. Having just had a long day of travel, the staff was friendly and fast so we could get to our rooms and head out to dinner. The front desk staff gave us several recommendations for dinner and our choice, Wildfire, was amazing!

Rooms were quite large and roomy. We were traveling with four (4) adults and decided to get two rooms. After walking into our rooms, we really could have just booked one as the rooms were very large.

We enjoyed breakfast the next morning in the hotel lobby. Everyone was extremely satisfied with the meal as well as the outstanding service and overall presentation. After check-out, we went to the Olympic National Park for the day which was an easy drive from the hotel (took us about 30 minutes to Hurricane Ridge).

Anytime we are in that area again, we will be sure to stay at the Olympic Lodge and I would confidently recommend anyone to do the same!

P.S. If you have a Triple A membership, they offer room discounts making this even more affordable!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPell224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryan_french13, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

The Olympic Lodge provides a wonderful “home” base for exploring the Peninsula, as we are central to the best attractions the area has to offer. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip, and thank you for sharing your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed for one night while on 7 day road trip down Pacific Northwest Coast between Seattle and San Francisco. This is one of the best lodgings we stayed in. All rooms are entered from the interior of the lodge which is good for safety, security, and keeping noise levels down. We were on the top floor, rear of the lodge facing the golf course. Spend a bit more and get one of these rooms. They are quiet and very well equipped. Below us stretching the entire length of the rear of the lodge were fountains which provided a soothing waterfall background sound. Not excessive, just enough. The lodge entry foyer is large with a grand fireplace and lots of leather sofas and seats.

Check-in was fast and efficient with a very helpful front desk staff. Our room was immaculate and well soundproofed from neighbors. Everything worked as expected. Beds were very comfortable and bedding was soft and inviting. Windows can be opened if desired for fresh air and a little more of the soothing waterful sounds. We asked for extra coffee, sugar, and creamer for our in-room coffee maker and they were provided quickly and cheerfully by the front desk.

The front desk staff provided valuable info on ferry crossing times and tips for Victoria, British Columbia, Canada, as the ferry port is in town. Victoria is a short ferry ride across the bay and worth a visit. The hotel has their own free parking lot at the ferry port for quests who walk on to the ferry. They also recommended a fine, small, romantic restaurant called the Wildfire which we dined at. Absolutely spot-on recommendation as this was an excellent dining experience at a moderate price for the area. The room price doesn't include breakfast.

Overall, we had a very comfortable stay at this lodge. We value a good night's sleep at a reasonable price and the Olympic Lodge delivered.

Room Tip: Spend a few dollars more and get room at the rear facing the golf course. It's quiet and the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryan_french13, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for your generous review of the Olympic Lodge. We are very proud of our little river running along the side of the Olympic Room, where we offer a cooked-to-order breakfast every morning. We do our best to make every guest's stay exceptional!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We went to Port Angeles to visit relatives. It was off-season so we didn't make advance reservations, and planned to choose between the Red Lion and Olympic Lodge. We would have preferred a water view, so we checked out the Red Lion first. The Red Lion advertises less expensive rooms but those face the parking lot. Their water view rooms are the same price as the rooms at the Olympic Lodge but smelled strongly of cleaning products and other odors. The chair, ottoman and carpeting in the Red Lion room (#102?) were all dirty and/or stained, and the room was dated.

Then we checked out the Olympic Lodge. We were shown room #337 which was more spacious, had a nice golf course/mountain view. It was much cleaner and newer and contained a large armoire housing a TV, small refrigerator (no freezer compartment), coffee maker, drawers, etc. There was also a desk, sofa and chair sitting area with a coffee table, as well as a king size bed. There were two sinks - one in the bathroom and one just outside of it. All in all, it was a nicely laid out room.

The HVAC was controlled by a digital thermostat on the wall which was great - it's often difficult in hotels to get the temp right when you can't just set it to your preferred setting. Also the unit was fairly quiet when it operated.

The lobby is very large and has a nice fireplace and several sitting areas as well as a desktop computer that guests can use to access the internet.

The hotel's location was quiet but there isn't much right there so everything we wanted to see/do (including dining) required a trip in the car.

I would have given this hotel 5 stars but our room was in need of more extensive cleaning. The windows were really dirty, and the clear acrylic shell in the bathroom that holds soap/shampoo in it had a big glob of someone else's toothpaste dried on it. (I left it soaking in the sink when we checked out.)

All in all, it was a nice room and we enjoyed our stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryan_french13, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for choosing the Olympic Lodge for your stay in November. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests’ experiences. Not only do we have a desktop computer with a printer in our lobby, but we also offer free wi-fi throughout the hotel. We are proud to announce the opening of our own Olympic Lodge Bistro, which offers a delicious Northern Italian cuisine and is located on site, so no need to leave the hotel for an excellent meal. Thank you so much for sharing your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

After a long day trip up the west side of the Olympic Peninsula we arrived at the Olympic Lodge where we were warmly greeted by the desk clerks. Our room was large, clean and well appointed, the only disappointment being the outdated tv. Our view was of the adjoining golf course. Other than the condo we had stayed in the previous three nights, the Olympic Lodge was by far the nicest and most pleasant lodging of our ten day trip to the Pacific Northwest.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
1.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,244 reviews
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#14 of 16 in Port Angeles
866 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#5 of 16 in Port Angeles
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lodge

Address: 140 Del Guzzi Dr, Port Angeles, WA 98362-4964
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range: £111 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit Port Angeles’ Premier Hotel, the Olympic Lodge! Located on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington State, the Olympic Lodge offers the finest accommodations in a location that’s difficult to beat. Backed by the Olympic Mountains with the Strait of Juan de Fuca in the foreground, a variety of adventures are all close at hand. ▪ Choose from our 105 spacious rooms ▪ We have meeting space for any occasion: business meetings, retreats, receptions, family gatherings ▪ Relax by our heated pool and hot tub, open year round ▪ Play golf at the course adjacent to the hotel ▪ Join us for a scrumptious breakfast ▪ Enjoy the personalized service and hospitality offered by our experienced staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Olympic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel Port Angeles
Best Western Port Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing