We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Searching - Book This One.”
Review of Olympic Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olympic Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I know what it's like to spend hours searching for a good hotel on TripAdvisor, so I'm going to save you some time - just book this one, it's fantastic. Seriously. There are many hotels in Port Angeles, but most of them are seedy and low-quality. Don't be lulled by the ocean view at the Red Lion; this hotel is in a quieter location, and for the same price is much, much nicer. If that's all you need, fantastic. If you'd like more detail, read on!

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in mid-April 2012, on a trip to explore Olympic National Park. After a 30 minute ferry from Seattle to Bainbridge, it's an easy 90-minute drive to Port Angeles, and all parts of the park are extremely accessible from there. We spent two days exploring Hurricane Ridge, Lake Crescent, Sol Duc, Rialto Beach, and the Hoh Rainforest, all of which I would recommend.

We did not eat at the restaurant, so I can't speak to that, but the front desk staff were extremely professional and friendly, as were the restaurant staff who let us take some creamers for our morning coffee in the room.

I've stayed at quite a few hotels, almost always in King rooms, so I can say with some authority that these ones are enormous. Definitely "oversized," and it felt luxurious. Make no mistake, when they say "view" room, it's mostly a view of the golf course, although we could see a little bit of the Olympic mountains from our second floor room. All the same, it's worth the extra money to be on the quiet side of the hotel, away from the road. I'd recommend a third floor room for the best view, and a room at the west end, away from the hot tub and pool, for the quietest stay. The bed was comfortable, the sheets were very soft, and the bathroom and shower were of particularly high quality. It was great to have a microwave and mini-fridge, in addition to the standard coffee maker.

The "great room" in the lobby is very nicely done, with comfortable leather couches, high ceilings, beautiful photography and a roaring fireplace. It's definitely a welcoming atmosphere when you first arrive. I would definitely recommend making use of the hot tub (or "spa" as they call it!). We had a very clear night, quite cool, and very much enjoyed sitting out and looking up at the stars. It would be great if it was open a little later than 10:00 pm (we didn't make it back in time on our second night), however there are guest rooms just above it so I guess it makes sense (we had an older couple glaring down at us from their room at 9:45 pm the first night).

If you have AAA, be sure to make use of that discount when booking. I was incredibly impressed by the value at this hotel, which would have been far more expensive in other cities. As mentioned, there are many "budget" hotels in PA but not many quality ones. This one is absolutely the best, and they pride themselves on that and want to uphold that standard. Do yourself a favor and book the Olympic Lodge now.

Room Tip: Definitely the back side (golf-course "view" facing). Upper floor will have the best view...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank YVR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,895)
There are newer reviews for Olympic Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,497 - 1,503 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

The hotel was easy to find and had a great view. I can just sit in the lobby area to enjoy the view. The room was very spacious and clean. I think this is the best place to stay in Port Angeles without a doubt!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaeuncool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Ask for a room facing the golf course. With all the windows facing the course, you'll watch golfers and enjoy the beautful tree studded greens which slope gently up a hillside. Through the trees you'll see the amazing snow capped Olympic Mountains. The rooms are large, comfortable and extremely clean. My room had a fairly decent sized beverage fridge, which I think you need to request when making the reservation. When you go, if you want a great dining experience in a fun restaurant, visit Kokopelli's on Front and Lincoln.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fab50sTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were at this hotel for one night and it was absolutely terrific. The very spaciousrooms we had were at the back, across from a golf course, very pretty! This is a great value and I would recommend it without reservation. Staff was exceptionally pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank todny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

After a day of driving, the Olympic Lodge was a pleasant surprise! Our greeting upon our arrival (without reservations) was very hospitable. At the front desk, Carlye, not only helped us secure a room for the night, but one with a view over the golf course and towards the snow-capped Olympic Mountain peaks. In addition, we were provided with an overview of dining options in the local area. Fortunately, we were fortunate enough to meet Patrick, the chef of the new "Northern Italian" restaurant in the Lodge, and get a sneak peak at one of the desserts available... which was enough for us to know that this wasn't just some restaurant that is in most of the hotels we have all stayed at - this restaurant was worth staying in for (more later).

Upon arriving in our room, we were impressed with the oversized room and the very friendly and roomy layout. Plenty of space and very functional !! After settling in, we headed down to the Olympic Lodge Bistro...

We were greeted and seated without having to wait, 20 minutes before the food service was to end (9pm). Our server and Chef Patrick, despite the fact that for the majority of our meal we were the only ones left, made us feel as if we were being prepared the most important meal of their day. The menu boasts "We are proud to serve the finest locally grown, farmed, harvested and produced ingredients" - I always have skepticism when statements like that are being made - I assure you: the Olympic Bistro truly understands this culinary benefit. Even things as simple as the salad dressing (in this case, from the Caesar salad) to the sauces were unbelievable. I am not even sure we had room, but ordering the dessert (that we had witnessed at check-in) was an amazing finish to perhaps one of the best meals I have had at a hotel or lodge.

We stayed for breakfast the next morning and were just as impressed with the brunch as we were with the dinner the evening before.

Although our stay was short, our stay at the Olympic Lodge in Port Angeles was comfortable, relaxing and showed us that hotel food can be amazing - thank you Chef Patrick and the rest of the crew!!

Room Tip: Request top floor (especially if on the north side) allows a nice view of the Straits of Juan de Fuc...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Great Customer Service, Clean Rooms! Always a best bet when staying in Port Angeles.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockogreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Better than average, very quiet and worked out great for our 2 and 4 yr old girls. Watch out for the golf balls. Very convienently located without being in a congested area. The pool/hot tub was a treat in the cold weather. The worst part was the tiny microwave, a regular bag of popcorn couldn't rotate, so it burned.

Room Tip: We were on the street side and had no street noise. We also never heard any neighbors.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill_Alisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
1.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,186 reviews
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#14 of 16 in Port Angeles
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#5 of 16 in Port Angeles
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lodge

Address: 140 Del Guzzi Dr, Port Angeles, WA 98362-4964
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range: £109 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit Port Angeles’ Premier Hotel, the Olympic Lodge! Located on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington State, the Olympic Lodge offers the finest accommodations in a location that’s difficult to beat. Backed by the Olympic Mountains with the Strait of Juan de Fuca in the foreground, a variety of adventures are all close at hand. ▪ Choose from our 105 spacious rooms ▪ We have meeting space for any occasion: business meetings, retreats, receptions, family gatherings ▪ Relax by our heated pool and hot tub, open year round ▪ Play golf at the course adjacent to the hotel ▪ Join us for a scrumptious breakfast ▪ Enjoy the personalized service and hospitality offered by our experienced staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Olympic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel Port Angeles
Best Western Port Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing