We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Bed And Breakfast”
Review of Domaine Madeleine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domaine Madeleine
Ranked #3 of 14 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
“Outstanding Bed And Breakfast”
Reviewed 27 May 2008

We have stayed at this B & B several times before our last stay.
Each time we stay here we fall more in love with the rooms, breakfast, gardens and the family that run it. Our experience was
what I would say is 5 stars at least. The breakfast if outstanding
with complete descriptions of each course of the meal. The knowledge that is shared of the area with the guests is wonderful and if you left without seeing all that the Olympic
Pen. has to offer it would be your own fault. The view across the
Juan De Fuca Strait is glorious and watching the cruise ships leave for Alaska was great fun. They even have a few resident bald eagles that perch themselves in the tallest trees for the guests entertainment.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank msnorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at Domaine Madeleine, responded to this review, 12 July 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    23
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
187
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2008

The glowing reviews on Trip Advisor persuaded us to book at Domaine Madeleine, and I'm happy to report that the reviews were accurate. As we were there at a slow time of year we had our choice of rooms. We chose to stay in the Ming Suite upstairs, which is an enormous and extremely comfortable room with a great view. The bathroom suite comes complete with an amazing toilet from Japan and an enormous tiled jacuzzi. Hostess Jeri provides every possible extra to make your stay luxurious. As the weather was cool when we were there, we weren't able to enjoy the huge deck off the room, but instead had a triple-feature evening taking advantage of Jeri's extensive collection of DVDs. The much-commented-on breakfast the next day lived up to our expectations too. It was delicious.

Jeri is an excellent and thoughtful hostess who seems genuinely enthusiastic about her role.

  • Liked — The great setting and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at Domaine Madeleine, responded to this review, 12 July 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

We have been coming to Domaine Madeline at least once a year for the last several years. We are from Seattle, and so the first thing we notice when we get out of the car is the impressive silence - nothing but the birds, the waters of the Strait, and the breeze rustling the branches of the evergreens. Our favorite rooms are the Renoir and the Ming Suite. Both are part of the main house, and both have "front row seats" to a beautiful view over the Strait of Juan de Fuca. The distant lights of Victoria BC are usually visible across the Strait at night. The Ming suite is upstairs, and has a private deck that is perfect for looking at stars on a clear night. Another great feature of the Ming Suite is the oversized whirlpool tub which is one of the big reasons we like this room so much. The Renoir has a large living room area of its own which is great for sitting with a book, occasionally gazing at the water traffic. There are resident bald eagles which like to perch in nearby trees and soar along the banks of the cliff looking for food. During the cruise season, brightly lit cruise ships parade by en route to Alaska. The occasional surfaced submarine makes for an unexpected sight.

The breakfast is a wonderful affair - typically starting with a fruit course, followed by freshly baked croissants and finger-sized loaves of bread to accompany artisanal cheeses and preserves. Next comes an exquisite main course - frequently something incorporating the excellent local seafood that is available. Breakfast ends with a sweet dish. Be prepared to spend a good 2 hours for the meal - and don't plan on having lunch either. Despite having hearty appetites, it is rare for either of us to even think of food until 4 or 5 in the afternoon. This is perfect timing, and Port Angeles has some excellent dining options. Sabai Thai is owned by a gentleman (Victor) who previously worked at Domaine Madeline - and his food is absolutely phenomenal. He is a culinary artist of the highest caliber. We have also had some excellent meals at Toga's. A typical weekend visit will have us staying at Domaine Madeline, and dining at Toga's and Sabai Thai.

The worst part of the trip is having to leave.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere, great hosts
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WASeattleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at Domaine Madeleine, responded to this review, 12 July 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2007

We had a wonderful time during our stay at Domaine Madeline. The grounds, Inn and host (Jeri) and her staff were great. We stayed in the Ming and Rendezvous room and loved them. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful. The menu was 5 course and the items all were organic and made fresh that morning. On our Victoria day trip we were packed a nice box lunch with lots of snacks. We saw a whale and many eagles. The grounds are lovely and all rooms and the common areas are spotless. We would stay there again.

  • Liked — Inn, grounds and host/staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hair-Space
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at Domaine Madeleine, responded to this review, 12 July 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2007

attentive inn keeper jeri works hard to anticipate your wants/needs. 5 course excellent breakfasts, spacious rooms, we had the rondezvous, a cottage by itself with jacuzzi and a heated toilet seat/bidet, on the garden, and wifi. view of the water, and tall trees. it's about 5 miles from town in a farming/horse farm area, quiet, and nice . a knitting group of women friends had the other 4 rooms, nice time.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank garymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at Domaine Madeleine, responded to this review, 12 July 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland (Cincinnati area), Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2006

My husband and I stayed at this lovely B & B on Sept 16,2006, and wished we had had more time to enjoy the peace and beauty of the gardens and accomodations. We enjoyed watching a seal dashing and splashing in the sea as we stood at the edge of the cliff and took in the view of distant islands, the sea, and the incredibly beautiful sky just before sunset. The gourmet breakfast was outstanding, and really kept us going for most of the day. Our hostess Jeri, was friendly and gracious, and genuinely interested in making sure we were comfortable and aware of all the amenities available to us. Our suite was in a separate cottage on the property and provided a sense of honeymoon(even after 40 years of marriage) and privacy for us with all the special touches--- including a gas fireplace with a remote control!, large jacuzzi, really comfortable bed, loveseat, table and chairs, TV (over 300 DVDs to choose), Mini kitchen with microwave and refrig plus a set of dishes, and a huge bathroom including a marvelous Japanese heated Bidet/toilet. Although we had seen this bidet/toilet combo on a business trip to Japan 6 years ago, this was the first time we had seen this item in use in any B&B or hotel setting in our travels since then. We will enjoy another stay with Geri at Domaine Madeleine if we are in this area in the future.

  • Liked — Peace and tranquility, lovely gardens. Very warm and friendly Hostess.
  • Disliked — price was a little high
  • Tips/Secrets — Call B&B directly for specific driving directions from Port Angeles, location is very easy with those directions, general area maps are not always specific enough.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at Domaine Madeleine, responded to this review, 12 July 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, tx
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2006

WOW! I loved this...experience. The gounds were amazingly beautiful and Geri, the owner, pampered us silly. The five course breakfast was a perfect blend of local delights and gave us the energy we needed to hike all the surrounding sites. Don't miss hiking Hurricane Ridge or the Sol Duc hot springs. We drove to La Push beach (and walked to the third beach-oh my!). This place would have been perfect for just lounging around too. This is my idea of a leisurely vacation spot. Perect.

  • Liked — The romantic, leisurely experience
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Relax! and ask for the cougar gold cheese for breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sciencefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Domaine Madeleine, responded to this review, 13 July 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
7.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,122 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
1.6 mi away
Sea Cliff Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
#2 of 14 in Port Angeles
355 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lost Mountain Lodge
Lost Mountain Lodge
#1 of 10 in Sequim
386 reviews
14.6 mi away
A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Madeleine

Property: Domaine Madeleine
Address: 146 Wildflower Ln, Port Angeles, WA 98362-8138
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine Madeleine 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting the standard for 25 years. Olympic National Park Luxury Lodging featured in Sunset Magazine, Diamond-rated by AAA, Recommended by Fodor's, Frommer's, and National Geographic. Find your bliss as you explore almost 10 acres of oceanfront ancient trees, exquisite natural gardens, our sustainable organic farm, and aquaponics greenhouse. Conveniently located just minutes from the major sights of Olympic National Park. Absorb the majestic beauty of sweeping mountain and ocean views that will soothe your spirit and calm your soul. Retreat through a private entrance into your comfortably decorated room with private ensuite bath, jacuzzi-style tub, fireplace, Cable TV w/ BluRay, and complimentary WiFi. Feel pampered with designer robes, luxury linens, and personal service. Indulge each morning in our full-service renowned 5-course gourmet brunch featuring healthy, local organic ingredients--or choose one of our flexible breakfast options built around your schedule. Our expert staff provides friendly uncomplicated service to help you experience a perfect stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Domaine Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing