We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Water”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Great Salt Lake

Great Salt Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.00*
and up
Great Salt Lake Sunset Tour
Ranked #19 of 149 things to do in Salt Lake City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 20,000 square mile lake, the second saltiest in the world, is also a wildlife refuge attracting millions of migratory birds every year to the ten islands within it.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
359 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Water”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

It's a large salty body of water. It smells bad. It has flies. It is hard to see how folks used to go swimming in this lake. We've checked it off the bucket list though. Onto other things.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank BevoBurn96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    186
    134
    51
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quick visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Visited as part of a tour. It was a quock 50 min visit to see and snap some pics. Very scenic and beautiful in the morning hrs. Was not as smelly as I've seen others comment but I guess that depends on a lot of factors including location. It smells just like an ocean.

Helpful?
4 Thank shashanka81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great spectacle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The lake is about a 30 min drive out of town. You can walk out onto the salt but it is very muddy underneath as the water level is quite high in the lake. Take a second pair of shoes or slip ons to wear as your feet get very dirty. Nearby there is a gift shop with a water tap where you can wash your feet. Worth a visit to take photos.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank mitchellaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“It's something to see, nothing more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The days of tourists flocking there to swim are long gone. It's vast & nice scenery, but hardly a destination.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“beautiful, under-rated attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Based on the other comments, perhaps visiting in October is better than other times of year. I had no problems with insects and found the Great Salt Lake to be completely under-rated and dismissed by locals. I was in SLC for a business trip and went to the Great Salt Lake State Marina. I understand now that perhaps Antelope Island is more interesting, but didn't know about it at the time.

I found the place to be beautiful and just really a unique natural resource. Personally, I wouldn't get in the water (given that it's stagnant water, there must be a great deal of pollution) and wouldn't make a special trip to Utah just to visit it. But, I would highly recommend seeing it if you're in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank iltraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Salt Lake also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Great Salt Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing