We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Residence Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #42 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Excellent Residence Inn”
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

If you like residence inn you will love this one.

Good location, short walking distance to many restaurants. Large rooms. Good service. Overall very nice.

Check in was very fast.

Room (we had a 2br) was large and well equipped. Beds were a bit soft and on some days thesis service wasn't thorough.

There is a well equipped 24 hour gym with all new life fitness equipment.

Breakfast was a bit monotonous.

Wifi was fast and free.

Underground parking was great on the snowy days!

Overall I would definitely do back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j889814672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    121
    44
    28
    13
See reviews for
106
65
19
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This hotel was very nice and located conveniently to everything. It was nice that we could walk to a lot of places instead of having to always take the car out. Especially on a weekend when there was a lot of snow. The entry is charming and the fireplace was always on and was a good place for people to conjugate before heading out or while staying in away from the cold. The Breakfast was good. There were a lot of choices and always something hot as well. The rooms were spacious as well. We did not have a need to use most of the kitchen but it was there if we needed to. So I didn't mind the kitchen. I agree with one of the reviews, there was nothing special from the greetings from people who work there. They were just "there". No big deal to me though. The computers had two printers and neither of then were working. One just didn't work and the other was out of ink. This was only inconvenient because I was trying to print out directions to somewhere I had to be the next day. Overall, great location, nice hotel, definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the parking lot/gazebo area. If I had known, I would have asked for one fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tooclean30187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We love staying at Residence Inn on our family vacations and had plans to stay two nites in Salt Lake City. But wow that AC unit was like having a jet engine in the room that cycled on and off all nite. No sleep to be had. Beyond that, it was clean, great breakfast buffet and nice location.

Room Tip: I'd pass on this hotel unless you are certain you wont need heat or air conditioning. The unit i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I guess it depends on what you're looking for here...yes, it's a decently clean hotel that provides you with plenty of space to spread out, a separated bedroom suite from the living quarters equipped with an unnecessarily spacious kitchen. I understand it's an extended stay hotel and maybe there are people enjoy cooking so much they feel the need to cook a feast or two while they're staying at a hotel. Personally, there's nothing special here. The hot breakfast is typical, but includes some fruit and yogurt to grab on the go. Two or three nights a week, they host an evening event in the dining area with some snacks. The only highlight of the week, was the "Manager's Toast" on Wednesday night, which was a Wine & Cheese night. There were two pretty ladies pouring the red or white wine and a nice variety of cheese, meats and fruit.

For a Marriott hotel, the service is extremely impersonal - from the check-in process through check-out, you're just a face with a credit card. It always seems like they run at full capacity with mostly business travelers. Do yourself a favor - venture outside the "hotel-box" & try one of the many gorgeous Utah Bed & Breakfast's.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms on the first floor near the garage. You can hear the underground garage ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikAnnTar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I travelled to the Residence Inn for business in September. The room was spacious with kitchen/dining/living area separate from sleeping/bathroom area. The kitchen had a full frig with automatic ice maker, smooth top cooktop, dishwasher and fully stocked with plates, utensils and cookware. Flat screen TV in both the living room and bedroom. Very nice if you travel for an extended stay.
A breakfast buffet is offered which included scrambled eggs, sausage/bacon, potatoes, make your own waffles, oatmeal, yogurt, dry cereal, milkjuices, coffee and fresh fruit. Monday-Friday 6am - 9 am, Saturday-Sunday 7am - 10am.
The hotel was very conveniently located to all the attractions that downtown Salt Lake City has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

stayed here August 2012 on way back from Grand Canyon.

This place was great for a family and had more than we expected.
Free, massive breakfast, free BBQ at night. Kitchen and hotel very good condition. Pool was a bit cold.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carriechicag0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stayed here on points. There are two buildings; I stayed in the second one, which is unstaffed. It has a small lobby of its own. The main building has a rather grand lobby for a Residence. The free hot breakfast is good as always, with the dining room decent sized. Nice outdoor pool--and a basketball court! There is a tennis court behind building 2; not sure if it is there. Rooms are pretty standard Res; furniture has a dated look if that matters to you. They upgraded us to a 2BR/B suite, which was very spacious. Sounds like they do that for Silver members when possible. Room has a little terrace, but on my side no chairs on it. Plus it holds the AC unit, which is loud when running.
Location is excellent, and unlike many downtown hotels, parking is free. There is a state liquor store a few blocks away; many gas stations sell beer, but only 3.2. Utah's restrictive days of requiring club membership to drink are over.
A lot of guests have dogs.

Room Tip: Main building might be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakparker300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt L...
#29 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#48 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downt...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake Ci...
#36 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Address: 285 W Broadway, (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1808 (Formerly Residence Inn Salt Lake City - City Center)
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#26 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salt Lake City/City Hotel Salt Lake City
Residence Inn City Center
Salt Lake City Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing