We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my Best but Not my Worst!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #41 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not my Best but Not my Worst!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

As far as most Residence Inns go this one was average. This hotel is undergoing a much needed renovation but the service was good. The staff didn't go above and beyond but they did provide a good check in process.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PolyT2Ari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    122
    45
    28
    13
See reviews for
107
65
20
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Mountain, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I love staying here. Not only have I always had a wonderful experience, but they treat us with kindness and the utmost respect. My daughter has cerebral palsey so we are in Salt Lake City a lot going to shriners and childrens primary. I have 2 other little ones and the size of the rooms are amazing and it gives them a chance to stretch their legs. Also the full kitchen is a God send on a tight budget. We have also arrived early and found that as long as a room is available we can even check in sooner then 3pm. I love this place and will never stay in another Inn in salt lake.

Room Tip: Size of the rooms are fabulous. Love the top floors. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We went to Salt Lake City for a concert and picked this hotel because it was close (walking distance) to the Venue- Energy Solutions arena, I had a gift card and they had a Romance Package. I loved finding out it was across the street from the park that has the SLC Farmer's Market on Saturday's. We bought some cute ceramic dishes loved that... now back to the hotel itself.
The room was neat and clean. TV Sucked not much option in viewing and the image was wavy and fuzzy at times.
The carpet was an old green color but I think it was clean...? They are undergoing renovation, hope the carpet goes.
The "romance package" was seriously lacking in romance - which I paid extra for. It included a box of chocolates and a Martinelli's sparkling Cider. Both were delicious, but here's my complaint we checked in at 7p (so not early by anyone's imagination) and they were planning on handing the chocolates and drink to us at check in??? Because my hands were full (yeah people tend to arrive at a hotel with their hands full - you know luggage, coats etc.) they said they would have house keeping bring it up. Um thanks! Why wasn't the drink put on ice and in our room before we arrived. There was no way to have a romantic surprise for my hubby when opening the door to our room. We had to wait about 30 min for it to show up and then we had to go drag ice from the ice machine on a different floor. ugh! Oh and we heard our neighbors in the next room having their morning fun which meant... well you know :/ so for the price we paid $133, we got a motel 6 experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tirzah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

As other reviewers have pointed out the hotel is undergoing a renovation so you need to be aware of it before you stay here. We did know about the construction in advance and found that when we stayed here we were not very effected by the construction. We were comfortable with the location. If you enjoy walking you can easily walk to restaurants, Temple Square, the convention center and the downtown mall. Yes, we did get approached for money by street people, that is not a hotel issue, it is an issue that Salt Lake City needs to address. I got solicited for money more in Salt Lake City than in NYC. The staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful in identifying a variety of restaurants for dinner. Once the construction is done this will be a super place to stay in Salt Lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meridan437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Spent 3 days in this property this week. Upon arrival found it under extreme construction and no access to our balcony. The parking was limited at ground level and the access to the underground lot was partially blocked due to scaffolding. Our room was on the park side of the property with heavy traffic. There is an issue with homeless persons in the whole of Temple Square area. During our last night, there was an event in the area that was extremely loud. At 10:15 p.m. I called the desk for an explanation as to what was causing the noise. The clerk told me it was an event at a nearby club for Breast Cancer Awareness and the police were called but there has been no change in the noise. I asked if there was a noise ordinance timeline. The clerk has no idea and no one had informed him there was any relief coming soon. It was past midnight before I was able to get to sleep. While the interior was pleasant and breakfast was nice the exterior issues was a big drawback.

Room Tip: Ask about any construction or upgrades in progress. Ask for a room away from the traffic and whethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
203 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Was not all that impressed AND the hotel is in the middle of a major remodel. The noise was pretty loud during the day and may not affect many who are not staying in their rooms to work during the day. The hotel seemed pretty old and was nothing special. Again, they are going through a renovation that may make it better. Found the wait staff in the breakfast area hard to communicate with since they seemed to all be spanish and couldn't really understand what I was asking for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

It is located right in downtown. close to all other access like business conventions, malls (gateway & city creek etc.) and sports places (multiple stadiums around). It's totally away from the not-so-nice area so it's safe to go outside at night too.
The room we stayed is spacious, comes with the comfortable beds. It's a rather new hotel so everything looks clean and neat.
The self parking around the buildings is rather crowded but you have the option to go underground parking. Too bad they don't offer guest pass. If you plan to invite visitors to meet you there, they need to park at the street.

Room Tip: They don't offer guest pass. If you plan to invite visitors to meet you there, they need to park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco147258269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#43 of 75 in Salt Lake City
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt L...
#30 of 75 in Salt Lake City
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Salt Lake City Downtown
Courtyard Salt Lake City Downtow...
#29 of 75 in Salt Lake City
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City...
#48 of 75 in Salt Lake City
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Address: 285 W Broadway, (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1808 (Formerly Residence Inn Salt Lake City - City Center)
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#26 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salt Lake City/City Hotel Salt Lake City
Residence Inn City Center
Salt Lake City Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing