We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #40 of 77 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We enjoyed our 2-night stay at the Residence Inn in downtown salt lake. It was somewhat problematic with the renovation going on, but they did the best they could with the circumstances. We appreciated the make-shift exercise room they set up in the conference room. The breakfast is amazing with great selections, plenty of food, and great service. The 2 bdrm apartment worked well for our large family. Everything in the kitchen worked. Please know that if you are using the oven, you may need to bring your own baking pan and hot pads and there are no measuring cups. Front staff were friendly and helpful. We appreciated that they were also pet friendly. It was within walking distance of all the downtown activities and close to a trax station for other activities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have been staying at the Residence Inn monthly for four years. The rooms and amenities are excellent and will only improve in the renovation. Service is excellent. The staff are knowledgeable and eager to please. The breakfast selections are excellent.

Room Tip: During the summer, the city hosts outdoor concerts in the park on the west side of the hotel. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Magister23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Nice, clean hotel, however, major construction during our stay made things problematic. Dog friendly a plus. We were placed on corner of 4th floor, not near any exit, only an emergency stairwell. long walk to elevators with dog and one elevator always seemed to be out of service. There is a homeless shelter a block away, making the nice park across the street somewhat unuseable.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, request 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

As far as most Residence Inns go this one was average. This hotel is undergoing a much needed renovation but the service was good. The staff didn't go above and beyond but they did provide a good check in process.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PolyT2Ari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I love staying here. Not only have I always had a wonderful experience, but they treat us with kindness and the utmost respect. My daughter has cerebral palsey so we are in Salt Lake City a lot going to shriners and childrens primary. I have 2 other little ones and the size of the rooms are amazing and it gives them a chance to stretch their legs. Also the full kitchen is a God send on a tight budget. We have also arrived early and found that as long as a room is available we can even check in sooner then 3pm. I love this place and will never stay in another Inn in salt lake.

Room Tip: Size of the rooms are fabulous. Love the top floors. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bronwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We went to Salt Lake City for a concert and picked this hotel because it was close (walking distance) to the Venue- Energy Solutions arena, I had a gift card and they had a Romance Package. I loved finding out it was across the street from the park that has the SLC Farmer's Market on Saturday's. We bought some cute ceramic dishes loved that... now back to the hotel itself.
The room was neat and clean. TV Sucked not much option in viewing and the image was wavy and fuzzy at times.
The carpet was an old green color but I think it was clean...? They are undergoing renovation, hope the carpet goes.
The "romance package" was seriously lacking in romance - which I paid extra for. It included a box of chocolates and a Martinelli's sparkling Cider. Both were delicious, but here's my complaint we checked in at 7p (so not early by anyone's imagination) and they were planning on handing the chocolates and drink to us at check in??? Because my hands were full (yeah people tend to arrive at a hotel with their hands full - you know luggage, coats etc.) they said they would have house keeping bring it up. Um thanks! Why wasn't the drink put on ice and in our room before we arrived. There was no way to have a romantic surprise for my hubby when opening the door to our room. We had to wait about 30 min for it to show up and then we had to go drag ice from the ice machine on a different floor. ugh! Oh and we heard our neighbors in the next room having their morning fun which meant... well you know :/ so for the price we paid $133, we got a motel 6 experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tirzah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

As other reviewers have pointed out the hotel is undergoing a renovation so you need to be aware of it before you stay here. We did know about the construction in advance and found that when we stayed here we were not very effected by the construction. We were comfortable with the location. If you enjoy walking you can easily walk to restaurants, Temple Square, the convention center and the downtown mall. Yes, we did get approached for money by street people, that is not a hotel issue, it is an issue that Salt Lake City needs to address. I got solicited for money more in Salt Lake City than in NYC. The staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful in identifying a variety of restaurants for dinner. Once the construction is done this will be a super place to stay in Salt Lake.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meridan437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake Ci...
#32 of 77 in Salt Lake City
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt L...
#33 of 77 in Salt Lake City
851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Salt Lake City Downtown
Courtyard Salt Lake City Downtow...
#27 of 77 in Salt Lake City
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downt...
#11 of 77 in Salt Lake City
342 reviews
5.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake...
#14 of 77 in Salt Lake City
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Address: 285 W Broadway, (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1808 (Formerly Residence Inn Salt Lake City - City Center)
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#23 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: £97 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salt Lake City/City Hotel Salt Lake City
Residence Inn City Center
Salt Lake City Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing