We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Can't Possibly Be a Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #42 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
UT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This Can't Possibly Be a Marriott”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I can't believe this is actually a Marriott. At booking, we requested a pet free room. When we checked in and confirmed that our room was a pet free room, the hotel clerk said that she had no way of knowing--they never keep track. She did tell us that the rooms were recently remodeled so we should be okay. The room was nice. However the ceilings must be made of cardboard. We heard the people above us (talking, music, sliding things across the floor) until 4:00 am. We did contact the front desk about 11:30 pm. I am not sure whether or not they attempted to fix the problem but it didn't seem like it. When we went to the free breakfast, it was less than adequate quality. What should have been hot--was cold and if it was supposed to be cold, it was warm. Also, the chairs were so beat up, worn, and paint scaped off--again simply surprising that this would be seen at a Marriott. We ended up leaving and went to the Hilton Garden Inn for breakfast. The Residence Inn was in the middle of a remodel. Perhaps things are better now. A Marriott Courtyard is right across the parking lot. That might be better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. In the last month not only have we made great progress on our extensive renovation, but we have also gone through a management change. I believe during your stay our breakfast was being served and prepared in a temporary location while renovations on our dining area were completed. We are pleased to say that the new dining area is complete and beautiful! We have hired a lot of great new employees that we are working to get trained. I am confident that your next visit to the Residence Inn SLC - City Center will deliver the expectations we both expect from the Marriott brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    121
    44
    28
    13
See reviews for
106
65
19
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just did two nite business junkit in what was obviously a recently remodeled 1 bedroom suite, close to 500sf in my estimation. I usually stay way north (Ogden) or south (Sandy) of SLC, but this time wanted to sample the downtown "City Center" especially since I was holed-up in town alone with an extra night.

If you're looking for a romantic boutique experience, or resort-like pampering, there are obviously better options, e.g., Kimpton Monaco. And of course, if you're chasing brand loyalty or points, Hilton, Sheraton, and Best Western all have properties in the immediate vicinity. Otherwise I found my stay better than the modest nightly tarriff, albeit there are a few warts as the hotel is still going through renovations.

The PLUSES: great location, very close to freeway access, and to park your car free and huff about town. Great Steakhouses, Japanese, Italian, Pubs and Comfort Food abound just a few blocks away.....and YES, this IS City Center so expect an occasional panhandler or vagrant to come across your path-- no worse than any major downtown IMHO. Family kitchen accoutrements with full size cook top, dishwasher, and reefer, plus microwave and coffee maker too. Two brand new flatscreens with good reception and channel selection. Excellent bedding, contemporary furniture with chaise and sofa bed in the living area, and ample-sized workstation with plenty outlets everywhere. WiFi was good, albeit a $4.95 daily charge is a bit tacky.

The DEMERITS: room renovations could have made more efficient use of the space-- the shower and toilet are on top of each other despite having ample room to spread them or even install a shower. The single vanity is in the sleeping space, which actually works better for couples, but could have easily been a double with relocating the closet to another corner of the room, which was left stark and without furniture. Same quip about the living area.....huge, stark area could've been better utilized and was left without furniture-- or since this is an extended stay property, an in-room washer/dryer would fit nicely. And yes the HVAC fan coil in the room is very noisey, especially given it is a new piece of equipment. Fortunately temps were moderate enough I did not use it that much. Lastly, free breakfast was unremarkable.....but there is a Denny's around the corner as a better option.

Otherwise the front staff was helpful, albeit quirky at times....and you can find just about anything you need within a short stroll with post office, hair salon, and liquor store very close. I would stay here again for business travel-- it is solid value for its price point.

TIP1: Dinner at VALTER'S OSTERIA just about a block down Broadway is a MUST for foodies.....EXCELLENT service, EXPANSIVE wine list, and DELICIOUS food. MILLE GRAZIE, Valter, for one of the best meals I had since Sicily!

TIP2: EBORN BOOKS on South Main is the a throwback GEM consignment outlet.....has a coffee shop in it too. Absolutely another must for all bibliophiles of any era.

TIP3: RUTH'S CRIS (next to Hilton) has a great bar menu with some real tasty choices....their mixologists are cranking out great libations too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from ongoing construction, especially if you are a late sleeper, or plan to hang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here for almost 3 months for a project. During the winter time, the snow looks so beautiful. I was able to get a 1 bedroom with a fireplace which came in handy during the winter. The people here are really nice. The tabernacle lights are really spectacular. Breakfast is served in the morning with light snack in the evening during the week.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrdabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here in mid-March 2014.

GOOD:
1. Free wifi
2. Great location - close to eateries
3. Free breakfast from 6a in main building
(Make your own waffles, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, potato pancake, eggs, Canadian bacon)
4. Free parking, park in correct space (saves us money)
5. We had a 2bdrm 2 ba place, with a living room w/pull out couch, kitchen and laundry room, it was huge!
6. No bellman. (Saves us money)

NOT SO GOOD:
1. No bellman. (It was freezing. We lugged our suitcases thru the outdoor parking lot. I'd rather shell out $5-10 in this case)
2. Bldg 2 is not connected to main bldg. (we went during March, when it was 10 degrees to get from bldg. 2 to breakfast area)
3. Hot water is picky, if someone flushes during your shower, you'll get burned
4. Housekeeping knocking at 8:15. Put your "do not disturb" sign up
5.PARKING is in the lot or in underground garage under Bldg 1 (which isn't connected to Bldg 2)...DO NOT PARK IN PALADIO APARTMENTS underground lot! Their lot is unmarked and is directly under Bldg 2. They are not friendly and will tow your car.

Room Tip: Do NOT park under the Paladio apartments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 808Momx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The company I work for mandates we stay at this property, otherwise I'd be long gone. The main building is undergoing a poorly-managed renovation project by sloppy contractors. If you can believe it, they are doing half a floor at a time, so the dust and dirt from 3south for example invades the elevator area and part of 3north. The dining area is down until May or maybe June and breakfast is in a meeting room. Debris and plaster dust deck the elevators. Forget about sleeping during the day. Management pleads that their hands are tied by the owners, who clearly went with the low bidder. I am in one of the renovated rooms, and the tub caulking, grout work, and finish trim - I could have done better. But management's excuses don't carry much weight when carpets don't even get vacuumed. Breakfast is the same rotating menu. OK. But don't cook 80 egg muffin sandwiches at 5am and be serving them at 7am. It's what's convenient for the hotel, not what's best for the guest. Walls in old and new rooms are paper thin. If you have to stay here, ask for Building 2 which is done with renovations (plus), has the only workout room (plus) but is not connected to the main building, so get wet in the rain (minus). Management here can't even supply more than one working washer and dryer in the main building. Excuse me, isn't this a residential, long-stay hotel? Yeah, the excuse it seems for everything is "we're undergoing renovations". Oh, is that why 2 dryers and 2 washers in the laundry area have "out of order" tags on them??? The front desk staff is usually pretty nice (a few grumps), but they seem to be constantly making excuses for management and the owners. But then again, I don't need excuses when my "Do Not Disturb" sign is disregarded. Overall, I've stayed at much better Marriotts. This one should be avoided at least until renovations are done in late May (call first - construction schedules always run late and the mess here will no doubt run over). Ask for an end room to keep down the neighbor noise. Convenient location to downtown. Some underground parking under the main building. Good luck.

Room Tip: End of the hall, building 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David0250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Good Evening David0250 -

I happened to be on TripAdvisor when your review was posted. Thank you for taking time to share your experiences and thoughts. All feedback, both positive and negative, provides valuable perspective and guides our efforts to improve.

The renovation that you mention has required ongoing management of many variables as they have arisen--some anticipated, some not. I am sorry to read that some of these items have negatively impacted your stay(s) at our hotel. Soon, work will wrap-up, and the value of our owners' investment in the hotel will be fully apparent, and (I believe) wonderfully accommodating to all guests.

I don't believe that I have had the pleasure of meeting you, or of discussing your experiences with us. I would love the opportunity to the next time you're in Salt Lake City. Please don't hesitate to reach out.

Best Regards -
Jared
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed five nights here with my brother and couldn't have asked for a better experience. We came to ski in Park City and the Cottonwood Canyons, and the location of the Residence Inn SLC City Center was a perfect central jumping off point.

Rooms: All rooms at this hotel are suites, and if you are a larger group (or just looking to spread out), go for the 2-bedroom suite - our unit had 2 bedrooms with spacious closets and dresser space (a queen bed in each, as well as a desk and walk-in closet in the "master"), 2 bathrooms, living room with queen pull-out sofabed and a chair, flatscreen TVs in both bedrooms as well as the living room, kitchen, table with four chairs, balcony, and washroom with washer & dryer as well as additional space, which was ideal for storing our skis during the nights and letting them dry out. Coming from NYC and Boston, my brother and I could only dream of an apartment with such great accommodations at such a reasonable price.

Pros:
- Free breakfast (both hot buffet and standard continental breakfast fare) that was excellent for a hotel
- Free parking
- Free wireless
- Washer & dryer in-room (certain units)
- Brand new furnishings (in Building 2)
- Spotlessly clean
- Very spacious accommodations
- 30-45 minutes from all major Wasatch ski areas (Alta, Snowbird, Canyons, Park City Mountain, Deer Valley, Solitude, and Brighton) with Snow Basin and Powder Mountain only being a marginal distance further if you're headed north
- Several solid restaurants and bars in the immediate vicinity, easily walkable
- mere blocks from Interstates 15 & 80
- friendly front desk (particularly Ken), always staffed and eager to help; they even emailed us in advance to advise us of the Building 1 construction, which is why we requested Building 2

Cons: none really, unless you are in Building 1 and there is construction or if you mind walking across the parking lot for breakfast, business center, or pool & hot tub (which are all in Building 1)

Room Tip: Rooms are split between two buildings. If you are traveling in 2014, be aware that Building 2 has be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lundbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello lundbern -

It really has been a great ski season! It's sad to see it winding down. I'm glad that we were able to be a part of your trip--and hope to be able to serve you again. Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts.

Happy Traveling -
Jared
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

oh this hotel was fabulous! great staff, great amenities! loved everything about it!!!!! I found it very easy to sleep and an awesome place for couples ;) wanted to keep my review brief. stay here! :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Lillian R -

Thank you for your kind words. As a manager, there are few things I enjoy as much as sharing "fabulous" guest feedback with my staff. Please come see us again!

Best Regards -
Jared
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt L...
#29 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake Ci...
#34 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Address: 285 W Broadway, (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1808 (Formerly Residence Inn Salt Lake City - City Center)
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#26 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salt Lake City/City Hotel Salt Lake City
Residence Inn City Center
Salt Lake City Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing