We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little America was a lovely surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Little America Hotel
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Little America was a lovely surprise!”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I just returned from a multi-day conference at this hotel. The location was good, just south of downtown. My room was in the tower, and it was very spacious with a sitting area, a large balcony, and two-room bath/dressing area. I enjoyed the turn-down service every evening, and the fact that housekeeping always left plenty of fresh towels and didn't expect me to re-use them from day to day. I ate lunch in the hotel cafe twice, both times ordering the grilled salmon caesar salad because it was so good! I travel a lot, typically staying in 4- and 5-star hotels. I would rate this hotel 4 stars, because the room price was comparatively low, and I was happier with my accomodations than I often am in the pricier, more luxurious hotels. All in all, a very good experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the tower!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TByrd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    581
    186
    87
    57
See reviews for
309
508
96
631
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gulfport, ms
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The rooms at The Little America are very large. They are clean & nice. The food in their restaurant is great - large portions & reasonable. Very convenient location - the city's light rail service is great & free!

Room Tip: Tower rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janellaalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I booked this hotel on priceline for a last minute weekend getaway with my husband. On priceline this hotel is billed as a 3 1/2 star hotel. Well, after reading some reviews on this site I can see that if we'd stayed in the tower than we might well agree that this is a 3 1/2 star property. However, we were given a garden room in one of the outlying building surrounding the hotel. I'd give the room that we stayed in 2 1/2 to a generous 3 stars. The room was spacious enough, but they are extremely outdated. Although they are clean they smell old and the fan in our bathroom didn't work (which we didn't discover until the next morning). I also found it a little disgusting that there was a fridge in the bathroom. Our former home, built in the late 1950's, had the same pink tile that our hotel room had. If we could manage to update our former home's bathroom surely the Little America could afford to do the same.
PROS:
Spacious Rooms
Lovely lobby, restaurants, and shops
Two beautiful swimming pools
Free parking
Easy access to TRAX for easy downtown access
CONS:
Garden rooms are in need of updating and a little TLC
Carpets throughout the hotel are looking a little tired
This hotel is some distance from the heart of downtown. You'll need to drive, take TRAX or plan on a long walk to get to Temple Square, City Creek, Salt Palace, etc.

I'd always heard good things about this hotel, so I'm glad we tried it out, but I don't think we'll be in a hurry to come back. From previous experience I know that if I'd tried for a 4 star hotel on priceline I could have stayed at the Hilton for just $10 more a night. It would have been worth it.

Room Tip: If you want a nicer room and want to be close to the action choose a Tower Room. If you don't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishesUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

I got this hotel on Hotwire as a 4 star. The hotel wasn't bad but I would consider it more of a 3 star. The room was large and clean but dated decor. And the mini fridge was located in the bathroom which is just weird. We didn't get to stay in the tower, so it was a pain to carry luggage upstairs since there was no elevator. The front desk guy seemed snobby. It's a decent place to stay, just don't expect 4 star accommodations. The radisson was much nicer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris6998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Very large room, very comfortable, with beautiful pieces of furniture (some of them quite old - even better). The bathroom may not be up to the latest standards but is comfortable nonetheless. Parking, and wifi is included for free. Lots of amenities, excellent service.. and relatively low prices. This is a great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert94110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
324 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I love another reviewer's comment about the nostalgic decor! The decor is very dated, but now almost retro. The hotel is absolutely spotless. I stayed in a king tower room and it was huge. The amenities are good and the wifi is free. The exercise room was spacious with lots of equipment. Service was very friendly. Lots of parking but if you need to valet it's only $7. The location is very convenient to downtown.

Room Tip: There are two types of room -- those in the tower and those in more motel style buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We found our room very nice and convient to being close to the main hotel for an easy walk. Enjoyed appetizers in sports bar and Sunday brunch. Convenient location to exploring downtown and Temple Square. The staff were very helpful. Parking was very easy right in fron of our room. Took some doing to find where the ice machine was..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#46 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Property: Little America Hotel
Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2405
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing