We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I dont get it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Little America Hotel
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

For years I've heard great things about this place so on a recent trip I decided to try it out.
What did I find? It is slightly better than average. It is more like a glorified Motel 6. Yes the rooms were clean but I didn't find them to be anything special. In fact, the decor was rather old. The bed and pillows were slightly better than average. (Personally one of the things I don't like about a hotel design like this is when you walk right out of your room into the parking lot. The designs tend to me a bit noisier whenever someone parks their car at night.)

Don't get me wrong. You can't go wrong here. It is clean and well managed. It is just not a remarkable place, especially for the price.

My review shouldn't say average. It should say a really good average place. Does this make any sense to you?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wil_from_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,858)
There are newer reviews for Little America Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Its not a four seasons. It is a great hotel, immaculate, great staff and wonderful rooms.
Like I said, the fun part is in being surprised as to how good a hotel it really is. Quite enjoyed the stay here.

Room Tip: Any room is fun
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freq_Traveler_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I was in SLC to run a two-day training program. The hotel was top rate with comfortable appointments and no worn carpet or leaky faucets. Room was spacious--as with most places I would have liked more electrical outlets. I did have difficulty getting the thermostat to warm the room up. The audio-visual staff was very prompt, friendly, and knowledgeable, helping me get my computer and projector up and running quickly. The hotel is doing a lot of renovation, and my participants were sometimes bothered by a glue or paint smell, but that is temporary.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I went to SLC in October of 2013 to attend my son's wedding. We all stayed at the Little America except for the Bride and Groom, who were across the street at the Grand America. Give me the Little any time! I stayed in the tower, which is recommended. I don't recall ever being in a room in which everything was spotless, highly polished, perfectly arranged, and beautifully laid out. I could not complain about ONE thing, and I am picky!

It's splendor like you see in movies from an earlier time. The wood furniture is solid wood and beautifully made. The room is enormous, with a separate powder room and separate sitting area -- AND a beautiful balcony overlooking the city. The lighted make-up mirror revealed every chin hair, the shower was more like a spa with the round bath tub.

No microwave, but who needs it? The in-room coffee was better than most, and there was ice in my room every day.

There was even turn-down service! All for a very reasonable price. I will stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Be sure to stay in the tower, and be prepared for a bit of a crowd in the parking lot on Saturday ni...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamieNYC10003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stay at Little America in the tower each time we visit to ski. It's conveniently located in downtown SLC, close to the airport and interstate, making travel to ski resorts easy. Rooms are big and clean. Staff is helpful. Both restaurants are decent. The tower has garage parking - a must for cold, snowy mornings.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed the week for work when visiting, nice clean hotel although it is more along the line of suites as the rooms are quite large.

Nice restaurant and bar downstairs although the menu choice after 3 days was a bit repetative - quality was good though.

Gym was useful but not a huge choice of equipment - never used the pool but looked ok.

Location is close to centre SLC - tram ride is free to the centre. Would stay again for work

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference. The property is beautiful and going through a renovation so there is only restaurant and it is a catch all bar/restaurant/ coffee house. There is limited seating the "bar" so dont expect a place to unwind.

The food itself was good but overpriced. The buffet was amazing but over $20 so when I can only eat one plate not really worth it.

The staff was amazing and the rooms are clean and spacious. Others are right the beds are HARD but the bedding is nice. One complaint I did have was that it was always hot in the hotel. It never got below 69 even with the air blasting in my room.

The location was nice with free trolley going through the downtown for sight seeing.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank UPGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2405
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: £72 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing