We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remodeling Goes on at Little America” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little America Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little America Hotel
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, UT
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Remodeling Goes on at Little America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This year is the third we've stayed at Little America whenever we're in Salt Lake City. That's about 40 times a year since it's our hotel of choice when we use our season tickets at Utah Opera, Salt Lake CityJazz (music), and Pioneer Theater.
\
One of the country's grand old hotels, it has been undergoing renovations to rooms, restaurants, and lobby, including shops. Very gradually, it's on the way back to 5-star, and while the work is in process, the staff bends over backwards to make sure you're comfortable. With large rooms and beautiful on-premises facilities (2 pools, workout room, elegant lobby, it's hard not to be comfortable (and pampered).

Room Tip: We prefer tower rooms higher up for the view, but the courtyard rooms are very nice and cheaper. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWSmith6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    570
    182
    86
    55
See reviews for
300
494
94
614
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here numerous times in the 1990s and always enjoyed it. Just went back in early May and was pleasantly surprised that Little America has evolved well with the times. Huge rooms, great service in every way, excellent restaurants, ample meeting space, and now it has the light rail just outside the door. Nice to see how well the hotel has aged.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the tower with a view of downtown to the north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William33537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The decor of this dated hotel with its pink carpets, pink wallpaper, and elaborate dark wood furniture brings the classic horror film "The Shining" back to life. In addition, the check-in staff is cold. Oh, and don't have anything sent to this hotel--the desk charges $5 per package to release it to you!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FigaroHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Have stay here numerous times and have never been disappointed. The rooms are furnished very well and twice the size of a standard room found elsewhere. The hotel seems to be going through a long term renovation with part of the lobby and Coffee Shop completely rebuilt. The attention to detail and personal service really make this property stand out from any other.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 73F250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here in May 2014 and it was very nice. I stayed in one of the exterior rooms and while the room looked dated, it was very comfortable and clean. The grounds were very well landscaped and clean. The shower was awesome because it put out a ton of water! I would definitely recommend this place to any one looking for a nice, clean room at a reasonable rate!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed at Little America Hotel for a conference with some colleagues. Great value for the money. The staff is friendly and very helpful from check in. The rooms are huge. Great amenities such as wi fi and two restaurants in the hotel. Had breakfast in the cafe in the morning. Good portions and great service.
A solid choice in SLC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We absolutely love Little America in SLC. The rooms in the actual hotel are well appointed and spacious. It is centrally located in downtown SLC and right on a TRAX stop. The restaurants on the property are top-notch and the food is actually better than it's big sister, the sumptuous Grand America. They are very reunion-friendly and I have used them several times for this. They make planning it a cinch! The beds are wonderfully comfortable. The gift shop and cafe have been recently rennovated. It's the best place in town. Businessmen love it, too, because of its proximity to all downtown locations. Visitors from out of town who come to see the LDS temple and grounds will find this an exceptionally great place to stay. It's a skier's delight as you can get transportation to all the local resorts right at your doorstep.

Room Tip: Spend the few extra dollars and stay in the "Tower". There is free underground parking an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Property: Little America Hotel
Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2405
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing