We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel EVER!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little America Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Little America Hotel
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel EVER!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Do not stay here!!! What a terrible experience!!! I was there 8/8/14, Walk into the lobby, absolutely beautiful!!! Given a room near the road, Room 3154, room had a terrible smell of mold and must. Comforter was stained and dirty, carpet was stained and musty. Poor lock on the door. Looks like a motor lodge, totally disappointed!!! WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!!! I highly recommend the Sheridan (which is around the corner) What a terrible place to spend the last night of my vacation!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, General Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay. I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is our regret that you did not contact us during your stay to request to move rooms. I assure you that if another room was available we would have given you the option to move rooms. Please know that I have shared your comments with my staff as it is important for us to know the areas in which we need to improve. If you have any further comments about your stay, you are welcome to email me directly.

Sincerely,

Ed Box
General Manager
Little America Hotel, Salt Lake
edbox@littleamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    571
    182
    86
    55
See reviews for
300
495
94
616
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. That is the first thing you will notice upon check in. The lobby, the stores, the lounge area, fountains, pool and grounds in general are all well maintained and well-appointed. This continues in the rooms. Beautiful furnishings, classic look and feel, very very clean and comfortable linens, towels and beds. There is hardly anything negative to say about this hotel itself.

There are three things however that keep this from getting a higher rating. I travel very very frequently so I compare all the places I stay to one another. This is not a comparison but a couple general observations which, when staying for as long as I did (three weeks), or even staying longer than a few days - you will notice and no doubt be very annoyed by. Management can easily remedy the following problems however.

1. Maids and Noise
They do a wonderful job. This is among the cleanest of hotel I have ever stayed in - BUT - they need to be reminded that there are guests in the rooms. While cleaning the rooms is not a silent event, there is no need to allow all of the doors to slam behind them repeatedly, play music in the room and prop doors open while cleaning inside the rooms, flooding the hallway with music, or to be yelling for one another up and down the hallways. For the sake of this review I timed how many door slams took place at the peak time which was 10am on a Sunday and the count was 13. This continued from 10am until the time I am writing this review which is 4pm. They are still cleaning, they toss trash which leads to bottles clanging together, they let doors constantly slam closed, they bump loudly into furniture on all floors with the vacuum, they slam the cupboard doors in the bathrooms, drop the toilet seats after cleaning them. All of these sounds can be heard very clearly in adjoining rooms, and the door slamming and music and loud speaking can be heard on the entire floor. There is no need for this much noise. They do wonderful work, but they do it way too loudly way too early. Guests should be taken into consideration with regards to noise levels and it would only take a very small amount of change to their methods to lower noise significantly.

Second - The Wait Staff in the Hotel Restaurant.
Salt Lake City is not known for its warmth or good customer service, but Little America seems to rise above that norm. Except for the wait staff at the restaurant. They tend to forget that they should be polite and friendly not just utilitarian. When dropping something off at the table, they need to ask "will there be anything else" and perhaps a smile or two from time to time. There were a couple exceptions to this - Svetalana (I apologize for spelling it wrong) was wonderful and pleasant. If she can be that warm and friendly then your other employees can be too. The hostesses and manager at the restaurant were accommodating and polite so surely they can instill the same behavior in their employees.

In summation, the overall experience is great and for short stays none of the above would be a problem. For extended periods of time, however, they can be a little irritating with time. Especially the maids letting doors slam. Also worth mentioning that the staff at the front desk, concierge, bell desk and staff at the cafe / coffee shop are all extremely friendly and polite so if the restaurant employees would just follow that model everything will be wonderful.

Thank you for what has been so far, a great stay but please ask the maids to stop slamming doors and cabinets.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if planning to sleep past 9am - maids go hard when cleaning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAJoe2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear LAJoe2012-

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are always delighted to hear from our guests as part of our continual effort to improve guest experience. Please rest assured that we have shared your feedback with our Coffee Shop and Housekeeping staff in an effort to further improve guest experience. We will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midvale, Utah
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

the toilet backed up within 1 hour of our check in and the room smelled of tobacco. I would have expected the management to give us another room. I was reimbursed for an upgrade as this turned out to be a downgrade.
Ira Reed

Room Tip: Stay out of the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, General Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay. I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I do show that our Front Desk was able to move you to another room, I’m glad to hear that they credited you for the upgrade. While we are a non-smoking property, it is unfortunate that there are people that do not respect this. Please know that we are constantly looking for and finding ways to improve our property and our rooms, thank you for letting us know that we fell short.
If you have any further comments about your stay, you are welcome to email me directly.

Sincerely,

Ed Box
General Manager
Little America Hotel, Salt Lake
edbox@littleamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lucked out by staying here after arriving in SLC for a last minute business trip. Rooms are clean and spacious with great views. The chocolates provided during turn down service are fantastic. Underground parking is free and easy to access. A short walk or bicycle taxi ride away from numerous bars, restaurants, and shopping. Fitness center machines are well maintained. Indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub were clean and there were plenty of towels.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Grand American hotel. The view is awesome, especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Peter -

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are always delighted to hear from our guests as part of our continual effort to improve guest experience. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests were able to enjoy all of the wonderful amenities at the property like the Coffee Shop and retail stores. We are honored to have earned your trust and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Maine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Little America Hotel is a nice, comfortable, affordable, very clean hotel. The rooms are current in style and the bathrooms are very nicely updated. The breakfast is not included. The menu in the coffee shop is extensive. The food and the service is excellent. The prices for the room and the coffee shop breakfasts are well within normal limits. Would definately stay there again if my travels took me to SLC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestGirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in wing part of the hotel not the main building. The room was very big and roomy, quiet and very clean. Hotel is in a good area, very close to the business district and church, only a couple of stops away on there tram.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daywalker4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a hotel I always like to stay at. Room are clean and have more room than two people could ever need. The one problem is that the rooms seriously need up dating, the drawers don't close very easy and are seriously dated. The staff are very friendly and informative. The cafeteria has great food the steakhouse was closed for refurbishing. Has a nice indoor out door pool.

Room Tip: Love staying in the tower facing north
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear kathie c-

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are always delighted to hear from our guests as part of our continual effort to improve guest experience. You will be pleased to hear that we are currently in the process of renovating our guest rooms. Again, thank you for your comments & we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Property: Little America Hotel
Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2405
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing