We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Convienant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Little America Hotel
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Texas,USA
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Convienant location”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel lobby was impressive and the staff friendly and helpful. Room rate was affordable and parking ample. The room itself was large and furnished. The pillows could have been slightly firmer, but I have slept on worst. The hotel offers a small shop which sells travel necessities and snacks. The cafe inside is well worth visiting as the food is good and affordable. Enjoyed my stay as much as I could on a business trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodERI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear fcgomez -

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words and we are glad to hear that we have earned your loyalty as a lodging choice in Salt Lake City. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    601
    190
    88
    60
See reviews for
318
524
100
656
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpine, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have stayed here more than a dozen times and each time is pleasant and relaxing. We always stay in the tower and love the service, comfort, atmosphere and comfort this hotel affords.
The food in the coffee shop and restaurant is always fresh and well prepared and the service has never failed.if you want to be pampered a bit and relax, this is the place in SLC.

Room Tip: Request a north facing room in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muchtraveled55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear muchtraveled55 -

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words and we are glad to hear that we have earned your loyalty as a lodging choice in Salt Lake City. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Relatively inexpensive and great location. The lobby and common areas are fantastic and misleading. When I checked in I was wowed by the lobby. I was directed to my room outside and down a ways through a parking lot with no sidewalk until I reached the building. And the sight was a shock. As lush as the lobby was this was 180 degrees different. Tired, dirty, and in need of repair. The garden room was in what looked like a "notel" motel. The interior was small and very clean. The furniture is old and beat up. The bed was comfortable. Coffee Shop has fantastic food. I would stay again but I'd request a room in the main building.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Japruzze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Staying the week in Salt Lake City. Having lived here years ago, decided to stay at Little America. Wow! It's better than ever. Great service. Huge room in the tower. While walking down the hall for some ice, I passed a maids cart, she saw my ice bucket and said "here you go" and produced a bag of ice from her cooler, saved me the walk down to the end and back, etc. All our service has been like that. The "Steak Pit" was closed for renovation, but the food in the Coffee Shop was excellent! Try the Mufflata (awesome) make sure you're hungry. The train stop is right on the corner, handy! You'll pay 60% of a comparable room in an upscale hotel. Nicer than the Ritz Carleton in Atlanta. Definitely returning!

Room Tip: Views from the tower rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear michael t -

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Little America. We are humbled by your kind remarks and honored that you have recommended us so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Little America in the future. Until then, we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've never been somewhere quite like Little America, and am still left trying to figure it out. Is it a throwback to the motor lodges of the 50s and 60s? Or is it an upscale, luxury destination?

I think it's both.

Little America seems to be two properties in one. The main hotel is beautiful - chandeliers, marble, beautiful pool and swinging crooners on the sound system. But the outer part of the hotel is a few decades behind. Doors that face the parking lot. A swimming pool that is actually IN the parking lot. Unfortunately, my room was in the outer part. The room felt a bit rundown and smelled kind of musty. The bathroom is quite small and the shower drain was backed up. (In fact, it took a good bit of wrangling to be able to actually turn the shower off. Weird.) Also, my room safe didn't work, and when I called maintenance to fix it, they never showed up. BUT the room was very clean, so that's a plus.

However, the inside part of the hotel looked beautiful. Nice gym. Lovely pool on the 2nd floor. Nice lobby. Made me wish I was part of the special people that got to stay in that building. :)

That being said, everyone on staff was extremely kind and accommodating (except for maintenance, but not a big deal). Especially Fong in the restaurant - she was wonderful. The food was also good, both in the restaurant and room service. And, like I said, everything in my room was spotless.

I probably would have given Little America 4 stars if it was just the main building. But the older outside rooms and the trek to and from the parking lot for everything makes it 3 stars for me. That being said, I wouldn't mind staying here again. I'd just request the main building.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jme1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is clean, centrally located, and the grounds are absolutely beautiful. The location is perfect for walking to City Creek Mall or grabbing a bite to eat. We are staying in a garden room with the inside corridor and loved most of our stay here. Housekeeping does a superb job of keeping our room clean and always greets us with a smile. Dining at the hotel restaurant is enjoyable, amidst a bit of a wait at times. If you want to avoid the lines, room service is great. The hotel staff is very professional and goes out of their way to make you feel at home. Overall, this hotel is a hidden gem in downtown SLC. However, it is the noise level that has put a damper on our experience. We are staying here for an extended period of time and the only reason this wonderful hotel doesn't get five stars in our opinion is the noise level. This cacophony is not generated by loud guests but unfortunately by housekeeping who perhaps forgets that not all guests check out after one night. We have been serenaded with slamming doors and hallway noise every day for the past two weeks. This makes for a rather unpleasant stay especially when one is trying to relax during a family vacation.

I would stay here again but my ONLY complaint is the noise level which is something that the hotel management can easily remedy by speaking to the staff or adding hydraulic hinges to doors so that they slow down upon closing. What good is a comfortable room if you can’t relax because of doors being slammed throughout the day. I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for families, but unless something is done about the noise level, plan on not getting any peace and quiet between the hours of 9 am and 3 pm.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsTARDIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.8 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#20 of 75 in Salt Lake City
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Property: Little America Hotel
Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2405
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing