We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Salt Lake City, Utah

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Ken and Vincent are amazing hosts. The apartment was perfect, with plenty of space. Private hot tub, a fully stocked kitchen, and fresh fruit bowls every morning. It's beautiful and worked out perfectly for our honeymoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
We were blown away when Jennifer and her new husband pulled up in a vintage car after their wedding! We had no idea what a special occasion they had, and they choose to stay with us! We immediately went into celebration mode for them, making sure the hot tub space was private, with candles lit, and ready for them to enjoy. We knew this was a special time for them, and interacted with them when they came to us, leaving them as much space and privacy as they deserved! It was a pleasure to make their weekend special!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhishek...
1 review
“Very comfortable stay and a personable experience with the hosts!”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Vince and Ken were amazing hosts to me during my stay in their private home-turned-studio-suite accommodation. This was a much more personable experience than staying in one of downtown's run-of-the-mill standard hotels. Perched halfway up Capitol Hill, the location is ideally suited for a short walk to the Capitol Building, the Temple Square and most of the bar/restaurant scene in Downtown Salt Lake City. The private bedroom with attached bathroom accommodation itself was very comfortable and had everything catered to that I could think of. The host was highly respecting of my privacy and was extremely accommodating of my personal needs. We bonded on a personal level and they were very kind to let me carry food/snacks for my long road trip the next morning. I would definitely come stay at De Soto Tudor the next time I visit Salt Lake City!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Shek was a wonderful guest! He was personable and extremely fun to get to know. He had a long drive that day and needed some rest before continuing his drive the next day. We greeted him, showed him around the house, and then left him to relax and settle in. We knew he had a long drive ahead of him and made sure he had snacks, homemade brownies and fruit to take along with him. We got to make a connection with him as well, and enjoyed getting to know him and hear about his new adventure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyager70...
1 review
“Wonderful home away from home experience!”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I loved staying here! Great location, very quick access to downtown Salt Lake City and the hospitality can't be beat! Vincent and Ken were so welcoming and friendly, it was truly a home away from home. I enjoyed peace and quiet in the suite space when I needed peace and loved having company a few stairs away to chat and laugh with. LOVED relaxing on the front porch with the guys and getting a chance to peacefully soak in the hot tub on my last night. I could go on and on about all of the great amenities available during my stay, they were all very much appreciated! You don't get hospitality and friendship like I experienced staying at a hotel!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Exactly what we want our guests to experience - the home away from home feeling! We enjoy making sure our guests KNOW they are welcome to visit with us any time during their stay, but can also hide away in their suite just to enjoy the peace and quiet, read a book, listen to music, or chat with their loved ones at home. The experiences we have with our guests are awesome and quickly a friendship is born.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark v
St. George, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Location, style, comfort”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have used tripadvisior to book vacation rentals before. Usually, the owner meets the renter and away they go. But here at Desoto, you get Vince and his partner Ken. At Desoto, you get a BIG greeting, warm and inviting. You get a tour of the house and an introduction to the area if you need it. Vince is truly a professional host. He has lots of experience in the hospitality field. The apartment is very well laid out with a separate kitchen that is stocked like the club level at a Hilton. Nothing is overlooked. We had a critic about the choice of a full bed. 2 days later, an email with a picture of a new pillowtop queen. These guys care about their business. This is a rental you will love. We will always love to return to Desoto, but book early, this place is going to be tough to grab. Quality + Price= Value. Desoto is a great value in the heart of SLC. Ask them about the "Island of Italy". Thanks guys, this is why vacation rentals are fun

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Mark and Gay, Thank you for the awesome review! Yes, we care about each of our guests and want their stay to be perfect. We appreciated the comment on the bed, and take the comments seriously. We want to exceed the Hiltons, Marriots, and all other places people can rest their heads. Just today, we got to hear about the "Island of Italy" It was a pleasure to get to know you both. Please come back any time, looking forward to getting to know you even better!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcconnmd
New York City, New York
1 review
“Everything was fantastic!”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Had a fantastic stay with Vince and Ken. They were incredibly friendly and welcoming - and they have a beautiful home. I'd highly recommend them to anyone else looking to stay in SLC. I'll be back soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
Matthew, we hope that you make back to Sundance in January would enjoy having you stay with us again. We enjoyed the conversations that we had during your brief stay with us. You are welcome back anytime!
Vincent & Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shon V
2 reviews
“Tastefully restored vintage home on Capitol Hill”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Tastefully restored vintage home on Capitol Hill just a block north of the Utah State Capitol. Just a few blocks from downtown, yet completely isolated from it. Hosts Vincent and Ken were warm, friendly, and a pleasure to get to know. The price was unbelievably low for the accommodations, which were modern, clean, and in immaculate condition.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Shon, thank you for the awesome words. Ken and I enjoyed meeting you and Darcy. Next time you all are down this way give us a call, it would be great to see you all again. Vincent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rileyluth...
Ohio City, Ohio
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

So welcoming! Such a beautiful house! Vincent went way out of his way to make our trip amazing! The view from the hot tub was breathtaking! We wouldn't stay anywhere else when we return to Utah!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Riley, Enjoyed meeting you and look forward to see the picture of the wedding and honeymoon in Costa Rica. What a great pleasure to meet you and Jay. What a beautiful couple.

You all are welcome back anytime that you want to stay

Thanks again... Vincent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing