We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Proximity- Typical Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Proximity- Typical Hampton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

This is a Hampton that is gettin' on in her years and could use a facelift, but is a predictable establishment in the heart of SLC. Having stayed here multiple times for business travel, it brings to mind the popular adage- "It is what it is". It does have spacious breakfast with well-stocked accouterment, large meeting rooms (if you need that type of thing) and the sleeping rooms are clean and the location is close to all of the popular attractions and shopping (but not directly buried in)- but this Hampy could definitely be updated with the utilities a business traveler needs- which is a spacious well-lit work area with many plugs for the many electronic devices we- the traveling class- find necessary. As mentioned, this hotel is predictable for a Hampton, and most importantly clean. Would I stay there again? Yes. Would I recommend? Yes. Will I explore other options in Downtown SLC- absolutely.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiznessClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    287
    72
    21
    8
See reviews for
241
218
45
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NV
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

The hotel itself was mediocre at best. The front desk staff needs some serious customer service training. Their wireless internet was down, and rather than give me all of my options (wireless bridge-signal booster, free use of business center, or a customer service # to call to assist with termporary wired internet access) up front, they gave each to me over the time span of 2 hours. Checked into the hotel... wireless signal found but unable to connect. I called front desk to ask about wired connection and was told they had a wireless signal booster that I could use with my laptop but I had to remain in the lobby. Lame. Why would I pay for a hotel room just to hang out in the lobby? So, I continued to troubleshoot in my room on my own. 45 minutes later I called the front desk again to ask about wired connection. This time someone different said the wireless signal booster could be used in the room. He delivered it. So I plugged the thing in (one end is a power cord and the other is a CAT5 end). With their alleged signal booster NO WIRELESS SIGNAL WAS FOUND. A signal booster that can't find the signal that my Linksys found without it? Two hours into the whole fiasco I returned the signal booster to the front desk to the clerk-with-attitude. I know my connection problems weren't HER problem but SHE represented the hotel. I wasn't rude, I didn't degrade or belittle her. I tried to explain my frustration to her and she basically shrugged me off. She wrote down a phone number and said I could call & they might be able to help. Why didn't they give me this # in the first place? By that time it was nearly midnight and I was done dealing with it. I told her that I appreciated the option but perhaps that # could have been provided for 2 hours earlier. She shrugged and said "Don't call them if you don't want to." Not one apology on behalf of the hotel for my frustration. Nothing. The next morning my husband and I checked out just before 7AM (instead of leisurly sleeping in like we planned). It was the same girl from the night before and when I started to explain my displeasure at her lack of professionalism, she began to argue with me and my husband. I asked to speak to a manager. She said there wasn't one there. I told her to call one. So, she got one on the phone and handed the phone over the counter to me. Then, while I was on the phone with the manager, she continued to argue and try to talk over me. When that wasn't working, she decided to make comments to other coworkers. When I told the manager how she was behaving, she decided to clock out. In the meantime, another (much friendlier and professional) clerk came on duty. I finished my conversation with the manager and handed the phone back to the new clerk. The clerk-with-attitude YELLED from the back room about wanting the manager transfered to her. She YELLED twice and it echoed throughout the lobby. Ridiculous and unprofessional.
It wasn't my computer because once we checked out, I went to the nearest Starbucks and connected immediately. We actually decided to stay in SLC one more night and decided on the Grand America Hotel. For just about $20 more we stayed at the AWESOME Grand America Hotel.... by the way, I was able to connect to their internet wth no problems as well.
The one thing I will say is that the envelope for the Hampton Key cards says "If you're not satisfied, we don't expect you to pay." I didn't pay. The manager credited my room cost. I won't ever stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDivineMissM_89801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slc425, General Manager at Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown, responded to this review, 17 March 2010
We apologize that the wireless high-speed internet system was not working properly during your stay and the response of our staff to this problem was not up to our usual standards. We are glad that you were offered the room free because of the problems, since we always want to live up to our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Since our wireless high-speed internet system was not holding up to the demands being placed upon it we have added more hardware and increased the available speed to meet the demand. We strive to provide each of our guests with an exceptional experience and regret that your stay fell short of this goal. We hope that others reading reviews of the Hampton Inn - Downtown will note that the majority of our reviews are very positive and that this is a rare occurrence. We hope you will consider the Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

I travel all over the States and my hotel chain of choice is Hilton. I love Hampton Inns, for they provide me with comfortable rooms, breakfast, and hot tea at night, which is about all I have time for. This Hampton Inn was no exception. The staff is friendly, the hotel is located near highways and very good restaurants, and the breakfast offered always included eggs.

When I go to Salt Lake City for business, I have to admit that I manage to fit in at least 1 day of skiing. The Hampton Inn sells a pass for $50/day to 4 resorts (2 are my faves in SLC) that covers the lift ticket and access to the shuttle bus from various parking lots. This is the best deal available.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

Good standard - comfy beds, large room, nice breaky, free wifi. Good place to stop for one night on our way to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
262 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

we stayed there for two days and our stay was amazing. Staff is friendly and hotel is located close to highway/downtown. Rooms has new hampton comfy bed lines. Pool/Spa/BS/gym are 24 hrs so that is added bonus. I will surely stay here again if i visit SLC.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_4m_Krypton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

We stayed two nights as part of a self-drive tour and had two very pleasant nights in a comfortable large room. Staff very helpful.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We just returned from an eight night stay at the Hampton inn - Downtown. Our room (2 Queen Bed) was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent - a large breakfast area, varied food choices, and staff that kept the foods well stocked and the area clean. WiFi was fast and dependable.

The location of the hotel worked well for us. It was a 20 minute walk to Temple Square and the Gateway Center and about 30 minutes to the State Capitol. In addition, Squatters, Red Rock, and Settabella Restraunts were only a 10 minute walk. We were able to leave our car at the hotel and not have to worry about downtown parking.
We also took a number of day trips. Access to I 80 and I 25 were moments from the hotel.

Hotel rates were reasonable - especially their weekend rates (Thurs thru Sun nights) We were very pleased with our hotel choice and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveRoadTrips2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.4 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Address: 425 S 300 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#5 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#11 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown is located just blocks from Temple Square, the Salt Palace Convention Center and the Energy Solutions Arena. We are within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and theaters, and only a short drive to most major attractions.Whether you come to Salt Lake City for business or pleasure, it makes sense to stay in a hotel with the same standard of comfort as the town it serves. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Salt Lake City-Downtown was designed to help you take advantage of the area with style, and to predict and satisfy your every business need...or vacation dream! Our spacious rooms feature king or queen-size beds and many small touches you will appreciate. You can count on our Salt Lake City hotel to offer the relaxing atmosphere and accommodations you deserve. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll find a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room. Need to get some work done while you're with us? We offer free high-speed internet access in every guest room. Prop your laptop on our handy lap desk and type away while you watch TV. Or simply listen to your favorite kind of music by pressing one of the preset buttons on your room's alarm clock. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet: Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed.™ The Hampton Bed Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Hampton Inn Downtown
Salt Lake City Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing