We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best for eclectic and Fun!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is our favorite hotel in Salt Lake. It has everything you would want and a world class restaurant to boot! It is pet friendly . My daughter and I love visiting with the pets that are staying here. They have welcome kits for kids. They have a wine happy hour with messages given within that time. The rooms are great. We have stayed here the last 7 times when we come skiing during spring break, and will continue to stay here!

Room Tip: We always ask for a room with a view of the mountains.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sttflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,172)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

889 - 895 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Dont get me wrong it was a nice roon for the price. I felt as though by modern standards it was rather dated. It was in the middle of downtown so ideally a very conviently located hotel however, there are a great deal of homeless persons in this area so i would say not a very comfortable enviroment for a young lady or a family. The restaurant Bambara wasnt anything spectacular. Just another hotel restaurant in my opinion. I just wish the drinks were a little stronger. Gotta love utah and that alcohol regulater device they put on bottles.
The shower was the only thing i had to complain about, the inside of the shower felt rather slimy. I would recommend putting on water shows before showering at Hotel Monaco.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is a great little hotel. It's located right next to the convention center and within walking distance to most of the city's historical sites (mainly the Mormon temple, tabernacle, etc.). The rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly, to the point of remembering you and addressing you by name. I heard that the wine hour was nice, but I was at meetings until 6 and they ran from 5-6 each night. The decor was a little different with white crocodile headboards and blue velvet chairs, which was a nice change from the normal sterile hotel look.

We hosted a reception in the Paris rooms while staying there. They did a nice job and were quick to refill the hors d'oeuvre trays, and to pick up plates and empty glasses. The room was a little awkward because the hotel is long and narrow, but service makes up for it.

The city is very spread out making it hard to see the various sections. A rental car was nice to have, especially for a road trip out to the Salt Lake and up to the mountains, but parking is $17/night, which was one of the few downsides to the hotel...also it's near impossible to get a cup of coffee or something to eat near this area on a Sunday....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cape_Cod_Traveler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Rooms were quite small although clean. Service wasn't great, hotel restaurant was disappointing, and the venue for the wine hour lacked charm. It isn't horrible, but for the price I think I'd try for a better hotel experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luccasabbatical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhotelmonaco, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I'm so disappointed that we delivered such a "blah" experience for you. We really want to make sure every guest has an amazing experience with us. We will use your feedback to make a few improvements and we hope you will give us another try.

Warm Regards,

MaryLynn Beck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I'm a little late in writing this review, but it is still worth writing... I stayed at this Hotel Monaco in April 2010 for a week while in town for business. This hotel is in a great spot. It's very clean, modern, comfortable, and provides all the cool things Kimpton Hotels offer. You are within walking distance to plenty of restaurants and some bars (it is Salt Lake City after all). If you need something a little further away, there is a Trax stop outside and it's free if you stay within the downtown area. Bambara is a great restaurant located inside the hotel. Awesome food and staff. I've stayed in other hotels in the area and this is definitely the best spot!

Room Tip: If you don't want to be near pets, request a pet-free floor.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank technogal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The Monaco is a terrific little hotel in the heart of downtown SLC. They have terrific amenities, like the 5p wine hour, with complimentary massage. The service is fantastic and personal. The staff has been there for sometime and is familiar and friendly. The rooms are nice and recently remodeled. While the quarters are a bit small, they are well appointed and comfortable. Beds are comfy and the bath amenities are super Aveda products. This is a great option in SLC.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fozzetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husand and I have always had excellent experiences when staying at this hotel. The rooms are charming and unique, the service is pleasant and professional, and we appreciate the ambiance of this small gem. We have stayed three times, and have never had a bad experience, but have always received the same high level of service and amenities. We actually live in Salt Lake, but this has been a nice romantic escape when we are ready for a bit of relaxation downtown. I love the goldfish you can take to your room (we named our's Bob Monaco) and the excellent (but pricey) restaurant on-site (I think it is Bambara.) Also, a lovely lobby that really sets the tone for the entire visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg18SLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,859 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: £111 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing