We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Nice Find.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a great stay for the night downtown. Really close to the Trax train. Very dog friendly. Cocktail hour in the evening and coffee if the morning near the check-in desk. Great boutique look and well kept. The only negatives we had were expensive valet parking ($30) and dogs and doors shutting early in the morning. Will consider Kimpton hotels in the future.

Room Tip: A premium room isn't necessary unless you stay a longer time period, but overnight it was probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkbpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel rocks. Great location, attentive staff, beautiful rooms, ambience is awesome. The only thing I would mention is that some of the rooms face squarely onto the adjoining buildings, without any view.

Room Tip: get a room with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Migueldicuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I went to the hotel with high hopes and not very high requirements for them. My husband was in town from working out of state and we just wanted a night away. We paid for the room in advance, and brought cash for everything else we needed, since our card was tied up with business expenses. We had to give them our debit card for damages or room charges, but I wasn't concerned since we wouldn't be incurring any charges. Today I received a charge for roughly $15 dollars, which isn't much, except that it meant we would be getting a $25 fee from my bank as well. When I called them about it they said we had eaten a candy bar, and drank the bottled water. This is completely false, and we left everything where it was when we got there, so it wasn't just "misplaced". Either the staff was very careless about their inventory and just made something up, or they actually took the items and they got charge to me. It's one thing to get charged for something we took, but this is not how a respectable hotel is run. We will not be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brooke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Wow, thanks for your comments here. I sincerely apologize you were mischarged for honor bar items you did not use. We have gone ahead and refunded your credit card. If you could contact me directly I would appreciate being able to apologize to you directly. My email address is daryn.white@kimptonhotels.com

Look forward to hearing from you

Daryn White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great customer service, daily happy hour, art deco furniture and design, pet friendly. Bicycles to borrow, knowledgeable staff. I stay here every time I am in Salt Lake and love this hotel because of its uniqueness. It doesn't have that mass-hotel look to it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artdoctx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel & Room - I stayed at this Boutique hotel and the room was clean, service was great and overall very good ambience about this hotel.
Location - It is also located at a walking distance from the City Creek shopping mall.
Restaurants - Bambara restaurant is a great restaurant for breakfast, brunch, dinner. I loved the food there.
Valet - great valet service and staff.
Cleanliness - very good service by clean staff.
Downside - One downside was dogs were allowed in the hotel! I didn't even notice until the last day. But if you are doggie lover, that may not matter to you.
I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a level where they don't allow dogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csjkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

On a recent business trip to SLC, the typical hotels I frequent (as they are preferred by my company) were all booked. I was able to get a good rate at the Kimpton Monaco and it was such a nice treat. I almost felt guilty staying there on a biz trip - it was so relaxing. The service, on site restaurant, wine hour, etc were all exceptional. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Clean, well-appointed rooms and friendly, accommodating staff. Great location in downtown SLC. I loved the little touches everywhere (ie yoga mats in the closet, doggie water bowls at the front entrance). The room service waiter brought a bit of extra bacon for our pup (which he truly appreciated!). The room service food was so-so (overpriced, as room service food tends to be, and nothing special) and our bed was about 5 feet from the door, which made our room a bit noisy...but all in all it was a great, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,883 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: £123 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing