We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Classy Vibe”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and i have been staying at this hotel for our anniversary for years. It is very clean and almost has a New York hotel feel. As our family has grown (we now have a dog) Hotel Monaco has been awesome since its pet friendly. They provide pet dishes and treats. Its worth a look if youre in Salt Lake and staying a night.

Room Tip: Pets are on specific floors, dogs on one floor and cats on another. all other floors are pet free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    318
    82
    47
    30
See reviews for
171
392
63
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've stayed at the Monaco in SLC a couple times, and each time is the same: friendly people, great service, comfy beds, great food - and always a fun time at coffee in the morning and wine hour in the evening.

This trip they even had some new additions: a couple showcasing their amazing chocolates, and a chair masseur during wine hour. The line between "wine hour" and "Cocktail Party with Friends" was very blurry - this was vastly becoming a party with friends".

One of the things i lim best about the Monaco is their location - they are right in the middle of downtown and have easy access to everything Salt Lake has to offer. When you combine a great location in a great location you have one great hotel - five star all the way!

Room Tip: Each room is a little different - if you let your desk person know your preferences, they will help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_Swagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco for 4 nights with my elderly mom. This was our 5th Kimpton hotel and again we absolutely delighted. The location is superb, walking distance to all the main downtown attractions including Temple Square and right across the street from the Capitol Theatre where we saw "Wicked". The hotel is clean, and tastefully decorated. We stayed in a premium King room which had a pull out bed for our mom, they layout was perfect because the way it was situated gave us still a bit of privacy. The free social hour had good wine, cosmopolitans and lemonade with a different little appetizer each time. The best part of staying at a Kimpton is the service, you feel at home and always like a VIP, this experience was no different.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wackywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was so happy when I got to the Monaco. I have a new business contract that will take me to Salt Lake City often. The front desk person was very pleasant and the room was great.
The disappointment came when after a long day of travel as I got into the bed I laid down and there was no mattress pad. I called the front desk, and was told sorry but the manager of this hotel does not believe in mattress pads we think the beds are very comfortable without them.
Bewildered I went to sleep. The next morning as I checked out again said I was unhappy without a mattress pad and the woman said she was sorry, she would tell the manager but they do not have them.
I have traveled my whole life and the only time I have been in a hotel without a mattress pad was one - in a developing country (Africa) and the other in a by the side of the highway cheapest motel we could find on a road trip during college

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAWood2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband booked us a room at this hotel for a Valentine's get-away. They weren't ready for us until a couple hours after what check-in time was supposed to be to start off and we were offered nothing for our inconvenience. The rooms were smaller than they seemed in the pics and we were overall disappointed in them for the price.The rooms were very loud and we could hear every single person in the hallway all night long keeping us awake. Their "plush" bathrobes that are provided in the room were old, been washed hundreds of times and scratchy. The bathroom vanities were so tall, I couldn't use them without a step-stool (being short in stature). Not to mention, we had no idea we would have to pay for parking and they wanted us to sign up for a club we weren't interested in to be able to access the wifi. We ended up checking out at 5 am the following day because we couldn't stand it any longer. We contacted the manager after our stay with a list of concerns/disappointments, she only gave us a list of excuses for our poor experience and offered a discount on a future stay which we will decline because the stay was so horrible. Why would we want to stay again?
If I had one positive it would be that the front desk staff were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I would like to sincerely apologize for all the problems you encountered while staying here at the Hotel Monaco in Salt Lake City. As the new General Manager of this hotel, I would truly like to make this up to you. Please feel free to contact me at daryn.white@kimptonhotels.com

I look forward to hearing from you.

With deepest apologizes

Daryn White
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We drove from Chicago to San Francisco in late July and SLC was the third night on the road! We booked the Hotel Monaco based on previous positive experiences with Kimpton brand hotels and were looking forward to the stay.
We booked the package that included valet services and a food credit. We happily left our car with the friendly valets and checked in. We booked weeks in advance and the hype leading up to our stay quite frankly led us on! Via email, we were asked if we were celebrating anything special (yes!!!, I turned 40 in SLC while on the road!), we were asked who was staying in the room and what were there names, we were invited to pay a small fee to upgrade our room. The front desk, sadly, didn't read any of our responses making me wonder why on earth I bothered responding to the emails at all.
We paid $40 for an upgraded King Suite. We asked that the sofa bed be made for my 9 year old son as we explained we were 3 days on the road and exhausted. We got to the room and even though I gave the names of my traveling companions there was no mention of either of them on the welcome card. There was a giant stuffed animal that my son excitedly thought was for him but we quickly noted it cost $20.00 and we set it in the closet. Really cheap ploy. I could see if it was included in the mini-bar price list (which was missing) but they laid it on the bed holding the welcome note.
The hotel is a short walk to Temple Square, which is beautiful. We returned for the Happy Hour and then ate at the exceptional Bambara Restaurant for an early dinner. When we got back to our room, the sofa bed still wasn't made. I went downstairs to ask (again) for the sheets so I could make it myself and was told someone would be up soon. After another call (an hour later) a really rude guy bringing dog beds around handed me a sheet (no blanket) and no pillows. Uhm, thanks? We returned to the front desk to get a blanket and pillow and had to wait again for a different guy to return with the pillow but, alas, no blanket. UGH!!! And, we paid extra just for my son to have a bed!
Apart from the wonderful restaurant we left really frustrated and disappointed. Would love to return to SLC but will definitely NOT be coming back to the Hotel Monaco.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for bringing your concerns to my attention. I truly appreciate it. I would like to take the time to apologize for the inconvenience my staff caused you and your family. These things are completely unacceptable and completely understand your frustrations. Having a young son myself, I can relate to you. I will make sure these concerns are addressed with my team and do not continue to happen.

I would love to speak with you future. Please feel free to contact me at daryn.white@kimptonhotels.com

Once again, I apologize for the frustrations caused during your stay.

Daryn White
General Manager
Hotel Monaco SLC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Arrived late in the day after a long drive with my dog. Everyone from the valet to the ladies at reception, were wonderful. The room was beautiful, the best bed! I have a "heavenly bed" at home and this one was just as comfortable. No extra fee for dogs, and was able to leave him in his crate while I went to dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LD-Orinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#20 of 75 in Salt Lake City
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing