We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful older hotel with new updates and great feel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
“Beautiful older hotel with new updates and great feel.”
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Clean, comfortable, nice place to relax and rest. You could get in room spa treatments. Great room service with great healthy choices.
Only downside you have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    327
    82
    48
    30
See reviews for
179
399
65
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I travel alot for business and go to SLC occasionally. Im writing all my reviews today. Stayed here on my second to last trip.

Very fun boutique hotel but still pretty large. Much nicer than the one in Denver i stayed at. The staff is very nice, the hotel is very art deco, and style seems to be a major necessity here. The location is nice right downtown and i remember the hotel as having an amazing restaurant with desserts to die for. Would be a fun place to grab a mixed drink they make excellent ones. Seemed like alot more people on vacation here than on business on my stay at least people staying here were a very nice crowd seemed to also be enjoying the hotel

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

From check in to departure, the staff were great. They really try to go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Love the Kimpton properties, from the mod rooms to the evening wine hour with free chair massages. She was amazing. After dinner, we went to the bar - there was an excellent wine selection and it was hopping... this seemed the place to be whether staying at the hotel or just in the neighborhood.
Room service for breakfast was tardy, but the hotel was full with guests as it was the Sundance film festival week, so I should have expected that and ordered the night before. The food was OK...Overall it was a wonderful stay and I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casamoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

the hotel monaco is a quite serene place to return to after a long day at the convention center. the crew is nice, attentive and accommodating. the rooms are spacious, clean..and i love having the gold fish companion. would stay here everytime in salt lake city..but they book up fast!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NC3SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Hole, WY
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

The Hotel Monaco in Salt Lake City was a treat when we arrived with the Puppy we rescued after spending 3 weeks in Tulum, Mexico. Pet Friendly, Extremely Pleasant and Effecient Staff! Bambara Restaurant, which is attached to the hotel was Superb! Our New USA puppy enjoyed room service, ordering one of their Signiture dishes "Steak Frites"! The hotel was decorated Beautifully for Christmas. We took her picture by the fireplace to send to her Amigos in Mexico. A Christmas Blessing and a wonderful way to begin her New Life Safe in the USA. Thank you Hotel Monaco!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrixJacksonHole_WY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Great establishment to stay with family, friends or that special partner! They don't skip a beat here! Everything from sweet turn down service, goldfish pet for the little ones during our stay, evening wine social hour, awesome in-room breakfast and just smiles every turn we took!
The only thing I would recommend is tv channels for the little ones!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonChurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I'm a big fan of Kimpton Hotels, and the Monaco is as good as any I've stayed at. You can expect the usual Kimpton formula: smaller rooms with excellent and comfortable non-corporate decor, great service, and the little perks that make staying at a Kimpton convenient and fun (including a free credit at the minibar if you are a member of their loyalty program). The location is also great, as you can step out the front door and be in a pedestrian-friendly part of downtown SLC.

My only complaint is that they don't have convenient free parking, so you may want to factor in ~$20 a night for parking, in addition to room prices that are already higher than many nearby hotels (e.g., the Sheraton).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikelovesutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing