We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Tried and hung without trial"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #66 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I am the other guest in the room with reviewer ReNae58. She made the review better than it was. Let me correct the part about being evicted. I picked up the ringing phone in the morning having the office tell me if there were anymore problems between our room and the other that the police would be called. Not being able to get a word in to the lughead calling I handed phone to my sister in a W.T.F. way. This room was reserved for a second night but we had checked out and had that night refunded. Unbelievable!!!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

Checked in before scheduled surgery, asked for quiet room for recovery. Female desk clerk very helpful and tried to accommodate for a quiet room upstairs. Noisy teenagers in room next door so at 11 p.m. we yelled through the adjoining door for them to be quiet and go to bed or next call would be to management. No more problems. Next morning we received a call from Robert at front desk who yelled at both me and my brother (mid-50's professionals) and told us we had been reporting as yelling at the next room all night, kicking on the walls, doors, etc. I tried to explain to Robert over the phone that it never happened but he would not listen and said any more complaints we would be evicted. We immediately checked out, one hour before surgery, with lots of stress. Robert should be terminated immediately and never allowed to work with public again. Would not listen, yelled and threatened. I will never stay at Motel 6 again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReNae58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

This location has been remodeled. Room size was typical Motel 6. Check in was quick, with online reservation. Asked for a room away from smoking. Room and bathroom were clean. Parking lot and outside corridor were not. Felt safe in the area; just south of downtown. Great movie theatre down the street. They even serve beer & real food. This motel is much better than, most urban budget options. It's not the Red Lion or Hilton. But it was great for $50.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripnazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I stayed here twice on a recent trip to Yellowstone (before and after my camping trip). Let's be clear on what type of hotel this is: a Motel 6. That means no frills. Granted, it is one of the renovated locations, so it has that Ikea look to it, but still it's not anything special. The staff were very nice to me, the rooms were clean (though the first room did smell somewhat like paint) but what I liked best about this location is it's proximity to downtown and the LRT. Usually Motel 6 locations are off the highway or in the middle of nowhere, but this was right in the city (amongst a cluster of other hotels and restaurants right near city hall). It was a 15 - 20 minute walk to Temple Square from this hotel. I was satisfied with my stay here but it really isn't anything to write home about (besides the great price).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grizinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

I think this Motel 6 is quite better than the average Motel 6
The room have been remodeled and are clean, except for the stained sheet (disgusting)
Nice location within walking distance from the city centre and a couple if restaurant (+ Starbucks) nearby

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara_Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Staff was friendly and no problem getting a room on a walk in basis. I asked for the smoking room and could tell the room is a smoking room, but no ashtray in the room. The room is small but has a fridge and microwave and neither are plugged in. The a/c is too close to the bed and blows directly on you. The room appears clean but had hair in the sink. The shower floor didn't look exactly clean but wasn't horrible, the water pressure was very hard with no way to adjust it and the shower design allows water to get on the floor. Also the fan cover in the bathroom looks like it's ready to fall off. The modern look works but I've never seen hardwood floors in a motel before. Blankets, sheets and bed appear to be clean. I give it a 2 out of 5

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S2J3607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Non smoking rooms smell of smoke. The sores on your skin are from bed bugs. The staff are hateful. We left in the middle of the night.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hola100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#52 of 75 in Salt Lake City
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City...
#45 of 75 in Salt Lake City
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ramada Salt Lake City North Temple
Ramada Salt Lake City North Temp...
#60 of 75 in Salt Lake City
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#43 of 75 in Salt Lake City
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown

Address: 176 West 600th South Street, I-15/80 at Exit 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range: £47 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Motel Six Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Motel 6
Salt Lake City Motel Six
Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing