We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is an updated location, yet in a bad neighborhood.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #63 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This is an updated location, yet in a bad neighborhood.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013


This is an updated location, yet in a bad neighborhood: prostitutes hang out on the street corner just outside the motel, a hired security guard paces the balcony all night. When we arrived at midnight, the cashier was breaking up a wild party.

Reservation said 2 beds, clerk gave us 1.

Changed rooms, 1 bath towel, had to get more.

Supposed to be non-smoking, yet someone smoked in this room.

There is free open wifi, yet the night we were staying, it wasn't working, so used 3G.

On the bright side, the beds are comfortable and the commodes work great!

I had made reservations ahead for 2 nights, so the cashier wanted us to pay ahead, yet because of the location, my husband wanted us to stay only one night, so she agreed to make the change.

There are no queen beds at this location, even though the national reservation rep promised us 2 queen beds.

Our cost was $77 for the night, the posting in the room says $100 for the first person, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RABNs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear RABNs - Thank you for sharing your review. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant stay you had as a result of the unwelcoming environment you found upon arrival, in addition to the reservation discrepancy and Wi-Fi issue you experienced. These issues are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we kindly encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    25
    15
    39
See reviews for
18
25
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

When we do travel, we look for budget and clean. Motel 6 has always delivered that for us. We stayed at this Motel 6 in April while visiting the Univ of Utah with my daughter. It is a typical Motel 6; basic amenities, clean, in my budget and the location was great for us. We will be back in August to move her in for school and have already booked a room here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg,Fl
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Check in was fine. Very polite and helpful your lady. They handed us a preprinted card that said to be sure to lock our room and car. If anyone knocks on your door, do not open it. Use the peep hole. This should have been a tip off but we took it as a good practice. The room was actually nice though lacking even the basic Kleenex bx. We settled in and though we might stay another night or two.
0300-there's the warning card. Person BANGING on our door. Used the peephole and could only see a big face. Peeked out the drape and saw a man and a running pickup truck. He didn't give up easily but finally left.
Morning desk person simply said we should have called the front desk. No sympathy.We did not stay any additional nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Let's not mince words: this is a Motel 6, a chain not known for being fancy, and this location isn't. But, considering the reputation, I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room. Basic but clean accommodation with a nice good-faith attempt at trendy styling in the bathroom areas.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leif D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
358 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Passing through Salt Lake City on business and needed inexpensive room for the weekend and this Motel 6 was the answer. Located downtown and for only 49.99 plus tax its hard to beat. Better than most other Motel 6's which are located on noisy interstates. The front desk clerks are friendly and check in was fast and easy. The room was clean & fresh smelling. The room appeared to have been remodeled recently. My only complaint was the very outdated very small TV. Easy walking distance to Starbucks and other restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harryscards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

I am the other guest in the room with reviewer ReNae58. She made the review better than it was. Let me correct the part about being evicted. I picked up the ringing phone in the morning having the office tell me if there were anymore problems between our room and the other that the police would be called. Not being able to get a word in to the lughead calling I handed phone to my sister in a W.T.F. way. This room was reserved for a second night but we had checked out and had that night refunded. Unbelievable!!!

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCall, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Checked in before scheduled surgery, asked for quiet room for recovery. Female desk clerk very helpful and tried to accommodate for a quiet room upstairs. Noisy teenagers in room next door so at 11 p.m. we yelled through the adjoining door for them to be quiet and go to bed or next call would be to management. No more problems. Next morning we received a call from Robert at front desk who yelled at both me and my brother (mid-50's professionals) and told us we had been reporting as yelling at the next room all night, kicking on the walls, doors, etc. I tried to explain to Robert over the phone that it never happened but he would not listen and said any more complaints we would be evicted. We immediately checked out, one hour before surgery, with lots of stress. Robert should be terminated immediately and never allowed to work with public again. Would not listen, yelled and threatened. I will never stay at Motel 6 again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReNae58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#49 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#46 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City...
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake C...
#57 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown

Property: Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown
Address: 176 West 600th South Street, I-15/80 at Exit 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Motel Six Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Motel 6
Salt Lake City Motel Six
Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing