We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #67 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Roseville, Ca.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This place needs a tear down! The hallways and rooms smell. Carpet needs replaced to get rid of the smell. There was no fridge or clock in the room. The towels were very dingy. There was only one chair in the room for two people. The pool is very old and ice cold! The extra security lock on the door was broken! Parking lot is full of homeless people hanging around. Doesn't feel safe!

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Owner at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear DeborahH,
Thank you for posting your review . We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant stay you experienced as a result of the odor and maintenance issues you encountered in our motel. The issues you experienced are certainly not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    26
    16
    42
See reviews for
19
26
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montigny-le-Tilleul, Belgium
Level Contributor
219 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

As often, we have chosen to spend 2 nights in this motel 6. The furniture / the room was as usual, the M6 standard. Ok for us. The room was clean. The place was a bit noisy because of the noise coming from the water pipes / the fan in the bathrooms and the cars on the nearby road. The personnel at the reception was very friendly. There is ample parking space. The hotel is well situated regarding the Mormon temples and also close to restaurants and shopping areas. We do recomend the motel 6.... But do not expect a 4 - 5 stars hotel!

Room Tip: Ask a roomat the back of the hotel.... Should be quieter !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This motel is a terrible choice for your stay. it is surrounded by many other options, and I advise you to stay elsewhere.
The maid allowed an unregistered individual into my room to steal from me. She then lied about it. And the hotel Manager lied as well, apparently to not look incompetent to her boss.
The manager admitted fault and compensated me with a free nights stay, but falsely stated that I had caused a disturbance (by calling corporate HQ and complaining) to thereby have me banned from her location.
And just as the Manager had lied and backed up her lying maid so she would not look bad, Motel 6 Customer Relations backed up their poor choice of a manager so they wouldn't look bad.
To allow someone in my room, admit doin so and compensate me, and then turn around and seek revege for complaining to their boss... Any company that can stand by allowing theft, intrusion, lying, and petty vindictiveness to exist within their ranks is not a good choice for you to put your saftey and trust in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zuzu27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Asked for a non smoking room - got a room that smelt strongly of smoke. Bad area of town - didn't feel safe , good price for Salt Lake City - 55 dollars for two before tax. Walls thin, noisy - security guard walking round all night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rind1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013


This is an updated location, yet in a bad neighborhood: prostitutes hang out on the street corner just outside the motel, a hired security guard paces the balcony all night. When we arrived at midnight, the cashier was breaking up a wild party.

Reservation said 2 beds, clerk gave us 1.

Changed rooms, 1 bath towel, had to get more.

Supposed to be non-smoking, yet someone smoked in this room.

There is free open wifi, yet the night we were staying, it wasn't working, so used 3G.

On the bright side, the beds are comfortable and the commodes work great!

I had made reservations ahead for 2 nights, so the cashier wanted us to pay ahead, yet because of the location, my husband wanted us to stay only one night, so she agreed to make the change.

There are no queen beds at this location, even though the national reservation rep promised us 2 queen beds.

Our cost was $77 for the night, the posting in the room says $100 for the first person, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RABNs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear RABNs - Thank you for sharing your review. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant stay you had as a result of the unwelcoming environment you found upon arrival, in addition to the reservation discrepancy and Wi-Fi issue you experienced. These issues are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we kindly encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

When we do travel, we look for budget and clean. Motel 6 has always delivered that for us. We stayed at this Motel 6 in April while visiting the Univ of Utah with my daughter. It is a typical Motel 6; basic amenities, clean, in my budget and the location was great for us. We will be back in August to move her in for school and have already booked a room here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg,Fl
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Check in was fine. Very polite and helpful your lady. They handed us a preprinted card that said to be sure to lock our room and car. If anyone knocks on your door, do not open it. Use the peep hole. This should have been a tip off but we took it as a good practice. The room was actually nice though lacking even the basic Kleenex bx. We settled in and though we might stay another night or two.
0300-there's the warning card. Person BANGING on our door. Used the peephole and could only see a big face. Peeked out the drape and saw a man and a running pickup truck. He didn't give up easily but finally left.
Morning desk person simply said we should have called the front desk. No sympathy.We did not stay any additional nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#51 of 75 in Salt Lake City
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#45 of 75 in Salt Lake City
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City...
#46 of 75 in Salt Lake City
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Dow...
#41 of 75 in Salt Lake City
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#43 of 75 in Salt Lake City
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown

Property: Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown
Address: 176 West 600th South Street, I-15/80 at Exit 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Motel Six Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Motel 6
Salt Lake City Motel Six
Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing