We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money this is the dirtiest hotel I have ever see.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crossland Salt Lake City - Mid Valley
Ranked #69 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money this is the dirtiest hotel I have ever see.”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

There was mold in the restroom. Room needs to be fixed. The door was broke and it smelled like an ashtray. I asked for a non smoking room but I was given a smoking room. I strongly would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smitty1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    8
    11
    32
See reviews for
18
6
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Yes, the price is fair but when we arrived to the room it was tragically dirty. We went to the nearby WalMart and bought towels and cleaning supplies. After cleaning the kitchen and bathroom floor the towels were black from the dirt and grim we cleaned. We had problems with the radio on the nightstand between the beds (it would not turn off) and reached down to unplug it and could not believe the filth. We borrowed a vacuum and tried cleaning the carpet but there was so much dirt driven into the carpet fibers that the vacuum made little difference. Our socks were black from walking on the carpet. We booked and paid for 8 nights and tried and tried to get housekeeping to come (as stated in the policy: one housekeeping service for 8 night stay) but despite our repeated calls they never came. This hotel looks like it was well built and has the potential to be a good property but the management is fast asleep. How difficult can it be to get your housekeeping staff to actually clean the rooms? Obviously no one is paying attention. Yes, stay at this place but either bring your own industrial cleaning supplies or come with a very high tolerance for filth.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAXtoLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Hotel is easy to get to as it is right off I-215. Lots of shopping across the street, though half the stores are closed. I would agree that the room cleaning wasn't the best, but for the price paid I spent 30 minutes and did the cleaning myself. All the appliances worked fine, except the ironing board which needed repair. I reserved the room through hotwire/priceline and got a really good rate. The Front Desk staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast bar is always stocked during its hours of operation. As far as extended stay hotels, this location is about average.

Room Tip: I like rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodski11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleal, General Manager at Crossland Salt Lake City - Mid Valley, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that your room was not clean as per your expectations. To prevent this from happening again in the future, my team is being re-trained on room inspections thus ensure every room is properly clean before renting. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at eleal@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had. I reserved three room for my husband and two of my employees. The rooms were dirty and the heater wasnt working. In fact one of my employees had to go sleep in the room with the other gal because her heater wasnt working.

All rooms were supposed to be non-smoking. My husband's room smelled like smoke. It also looked like someone had been murdered in there. There was spatter on the ceiling.

Avoid this place like the plague. I am calling Homestead Corporate tomorrow. Unfortunately the Sundance film festival is in town and there arent alot of hotel options.

Room Tip: Dont go! Skip this place all together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redheadpuertorican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleal, General Manager at Crossland Salt Lake City - Mid Valley, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The items you described in your review are entirely unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your associates’ experiences. To prevent this from happening again, my team is working on retraining on cleaning procedures thus ensure situations as such keep from happening. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you taking the time to inform us of how we are doing. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at eleal@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Room was awful. Couldn't stay after finding dirty clothes in dresser and hair all over bathroom and bed. The room was supposedly checked by a manager before our arrival. Kitchen wasn't even half way wiped down either.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, even if you have to pay more. It's worth it for a clean, safe place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Salt Lake City - Mid Valley, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Christi - Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

As you mentioned, we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent an unacceptable situation like yours from occurring. All rooms are regularly cleaned and disinfected upon a guest's checkout as well as during applicable periods of the stay, then inspected by a manager who determines if it meets our quality standards. Obviously, your experience indicates that our system broke down. In response, I have met with hotel management and staff to find out why and to determine a system for preventing a repeat occurrence.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of our other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Rooms are dirty, washing machine, dish washer Range, have to clean everything to our standard and we had our 10yrs son and 2 grand-kids 5 and 3. The price we pay is not work the standard of the rooms, and they needs to up grade to the new world now.

Room Tip: Look out for all appliance before paying and the clean of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalateks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
5.5 mi away
Ramada Salt Lake City
Ramada Salt Lake City
#54 of 75 in Salt Lake City
574 reviews
6.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House
Extended Stay America - Salt Lak...
#56 of 75 in Salt Lake City
203 reviews
9.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Salt Lake City Airport
Rodeway Inn Salt Lake City Airpo...
#51 of 75 in Salt Lake City
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
698 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ramada Salt Lake City North Temple
Ramada Salt Lake City North Temp...
#58 of 75 in Salt Lake City
430 reviews
9.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#46 of 75 in Salt Lake City
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossland Salt Lake City - Mid Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossland Salt Lake City - Mid Valley

Property: Crossland Salt Lake City - Mid Valley
Address: 5683 S Redwood Rd, Salt Lake City, UT 84123-5322 (Formerly Extended Stay America)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Crossland Salt Lake City - Mid Valley 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crossland Studios - Salt Lake City - Mid Valley. Our property is located within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. We are just 11 miles from the Salt Lake City International Airport and 12 miles from Temple Square. Crossland Studios - Salt Lake City - Mid Valley is also a half hour away from Olympic Park, Park City Mountain Resort, Snowbird Ski Resort, and Hardy Lake. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring kitchens or kitchenettes and plenty of work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crossland Salt Lake City - Mid Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Salt Lake City / Mid Valley Hotel Salt Lake City
Crossland Salt Lake City - Mid Valley North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing