We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overnight getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anniversary Inn - South Temple
Ranked #4 of 11 Salt Lake City B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great overnight getaway”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My wife & I wanted to take an overnight getaway and decided to try the Anniversary Inn. We were in the Phantom of the Opera room, which was great. It has a separate entrance in the back, and is in the basement. The jetted tub was big enough for two, and everything worked great. The blankets and space heater were great and kept the room a comfortable temperature. I felt we got what we paid for and had a great experience. The Inn on South Temple is a historic mansion in Salt Lake City, that has been converted into a bed and breakfast (there are a lot of these in SLC).

Yes, we were asked to complete our breakfast card as soon as we checked in, but I didn't think it was a problem. I definitely recommend the ham & cheese croissant for breakfast, there is too much sugar in everything else. Overall, it was a great experience and I hope we will be able to return and try a different room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    9
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Not surprisingly, the breakfast at this bed-and-breakfast is not advertised. We were hit up for our selections as soon as we checked in and were not given the courtesy of letting us take the card to our room and turning it in later that evening. Options were slim: each person gets to choose two drinks and one "entree". My favorite drink, hot apple cider, was not offered or even provided upon request. The "entrees" are a choice of six different buns: cinnamon, turkey in crescent, rasperry cream cheese pastry (like a giant toaster strudle), etc. You can add a cinnamon roll to your order for an extra $1. The yogurt parfait wasn't even mentioned on the card. Breakfast is served at your door and must be eaten in-room: no dining room in this bed-and-breakfast. The rap at the door when breakfast was brought to the room was obviously intended to be a wakeup call.

Our room was tastefully decorated for the period/place it was intended. Noise from the road right outside the window was noticeable despite the retrofit double-pane windows (original single-pane wooden home windows are in place and a second single-pane window was added externally). Hunter-Douglass cell shades help more, even with keeping the cold out. We visited on a very cold night. Room was chilly when we entered (especially the tile in the bathroom), but the addition of a blanket to the bed (bed normally draped with two sheets and a blanket) the space heater and the gas fireplace helped warm it comfortably (tile was still chilly).

The room we had (Kahn Mansion) could use some upgrading. The jetted tub was advertised as a two person... NOT! One control on tub was completely missing and the one button for the jets was unexpectedly discovered (looked like another broken control). The bed was noticeably rutted to the point I ended up with a slightly sore neck despite using the thinner pillow.

Not likely to stay at an Anniversary Inn ever again.

Room Tip: If you're going to spend the money, make sure you get a fun-themed room that you'll really e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhotoSawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I just returned from 3 days at the Anniversary Inn-South Temple. We stayed in the Kahn Mansion suite for 3 days, celebrating our Anniversary. Although the idea of the Anniversary Inn, is a good one. This Inn fell short in quality, in my opinion. The price of the room just does not meet up with what you experience. In my opinion, so many elements of the inn, could simply be upgraded. The quality of the beds, the limited breakfasts options. We did not have a themed room. But an elegantly furnished one. I did not feel like my money was well spent, and I won't return. Perhaps I would recommend this Inn, to a young newly wedding couple, for a one night celebration. In terms of amenities, it was lacking. Our jetted tub, was missing buttons, and to turn it on you had to insert your finger into a space that made you unsure if you were about to electrocute yourself. These type of unattended things-are just low quality. We added in room couples massages, but those were lacking as well. Definitely if you are going to spend this type of money-you are better off spending it over at one of the 4 or 5 star hotels. Incidentally, it was slightly annoying that this establishment has facebook blocked from use. No idea why, and didnt ask. Its presumptious, and annoying. I just really dont like paying to stay somewhere and any rights being "blocked". Even something as mundane as facebook. This Inn was lackluster, not relaxing due to staff activity and street noise. No heat/air control in the room. Wont be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weathersmetcalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed in the Sultan's Palace this month for our 10th anniversary.

Just a few points-
-I believe this specific suite is over-priced after seeing the other rooms in it's price-class.
-The king bed is great, but it is so huge that the bed frame is easy to trip on. I have a huge bruise from bashing my thigh at the end. Obviously I'm not the only only to hit it with something as there are many dents in that area.
-The bathroom was a great size
-The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. A sugary croissant with a sugary yogurt parfait (don't get me wrong- everything tasted great, but too much sweet for the morning)
-Cheesecake was a nice touch.
-Night clerk was very nice (and very quirky)
-Room was STUFFY! Can't open the windows.
-The bed is SO big and there is no place to put a suitcase without tripping over it.
-Only one bedside lamp, so no options for mood lighting. The overhead lighting was bright!

So overall, I don't have many complaints (and I'm very picky!), but I do feel it is slightly overpriced. Next time I think I may try another BnB that doesn't have as nice a website but could possibly have better rooms.

Room Tip: Pick a larger room than the Sultan's palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunShyneBYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed the end of April and already the rooms on the top two floors were very hot! We told the front desk and he cranked up the a/c but only the hallway seemed to cool down. He offered us another room, which we switched to but it was also on an upper floor and only slightly better. The decor is fun, but that doesn't do anyone much good if you can't sleep from the heat. When we took a shower/bath in the morning, there is no bathroom fan and it just heated up the room horribly so the morning was almost worse than the night.
You can't get your own ice, either. I appreciate the help the staff gave us, but it's not worth the money if it's not comfortable. We won't come back here unless we can see they've figured out a way to make each room have their own temp control and have a strong a/c system.

Room Tip: Savannah nights was a good room, it had a corner terrace, amazing tub and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We've stayed here many times and LOVED it, but we've always been in the basement. This time we were on the third floor, and our room was stifling! We complained, and they told us the air was running and it should cool down. We left to attend a concert and got back nearly four hours later, and it was so hot we couldn't hardly stand it. They brought us up a portable fan, but said they couldn't do anything else about the temperature. It was midnight by then, so going someplace else was not very feasible. We stayed, and left early in the morning (which is sad, when you spend that much money and stay in that nice of a room, you want to enjoy it). They ended up giving us $50 off, and a $50 coupon for our next stay, which was nice of them, but it was still a lousy night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loganbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The inn was in a beautiful old house but it certainly does not live up to the hype. We stayed in two different rooms and feel very differently about each one. The first was the Kahn Mansion room. First off there are no controls for the A/C or heat in the room; the room was too hot most of the time, even after calling the desk several times. The bed was king size but while not uncomfortable it did not meet the standards for most good hotel rooms. Breakfast was just average, a ham & cheese croisant, yogurt, coffee, and juice. The water brought in for tea was just warm and we had to call the desk and ask for hot water. The two nights we spent in that room had us thinking we had made a mistake. Our last night we stayed in the Savanna Nights room; that was a nice room. The bed was a little better and the bath was a lot nicer. Breakfast was the same. There is no coffee maker in the room and I had to call the desk for coffee each morning. That is an inconvenience. We were booked for the Phanton room but after checking it out we asked if there was something else available. For a special couples get-away I would recommend staying somewhere else, but just to spend a night or two Anniversary Inn will work.

Room Tip: All rooms are a bit nosy but the rooms we saw on the second floor were better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John-in-Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
1.3 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,713 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,397 reviews
1.9 mi away
University Guest House & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
1.6 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anniversary Inn - South Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anniversary Inn - South Temple

Property: The Anniversary Inn - South Temple
Address: 675 E South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84102-1153
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anniversary Inn - South Temple 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Touch of Elegance, a Hint of Adventure. The Anniversary Inn is Salt Lake's most romantic getaway. Each of the 14 rooms is designed around a specific theme. The South Temple location is in the heart of the historic downtown Avenues area of Salt Lake City just a couple of blocks from Temple Square and two shopping malls. Spend the night floating down the Mississippi or sleeping in the Jungles of Africa. If you've never stayed at an Anniversary Inn, you have got to try this place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Expedia and HRS so you can book your The Anniversary Inn - South Temple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anniversary Inn Salt Lake City
The Anniversary Inn - South Temple Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing