We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful”

Church History Museum
Ranked #22 of 160 things to do in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum detailing the history of the Church of Latter Day Saints.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The volunteers are very helpful in assisting with your searches. Be prepared to spend some serious time here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    60
    15
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Come see wonderful history and art.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Come see what it was like to be a pioneer. Enjoy art displays. See the Scouting Exhibit, Presidents of the Church Exhibit,Native American Room, and the engaging Childrens' Area. There are permanent displays and changing exhibits. (Note: The Museum will be closed November 2014 for a year of renovations and wonderful upgrades.) I am a docent at the museum and it is a marvelous experience. You can tour on your own or ask for headsets or a real live guide. It is free and open every day except Easter, Christmas, and New Years.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyMay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kids and Dad loved it”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife wanted to spend the day at the family history center so I had to find something for the kids for the day we started at the church history museum and never left till she was done. Great place and the kids could do it again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 109JohnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camby, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice history of the Mormon religion”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I am not Mormon nor was I converted but it was a very interesting history. There was one missing piece as far as I was concerned, after Joseph Smith is killed they start talking about Brigham Young but it wasn't clear why he was chosen to lead the mission. Be sure to get the free headset for the 40 min guided tour. It comes in multiple languages.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

this museum is huge and takes a whole afternoon to absorb it all. if you're a mormon or not you'll find this museum interesting, it tells the whole immigration story with things to do for kids and adults. we really enjoyed our visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Church History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing