We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012 via mobile

Nice new hotel (at least it seems new). Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff was warm and inviting. Def an affordable option within walking distance of downtown SLC

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JeremyG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    226
    75
    23
    12
See reviews for
250
172
39
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Place on 2 separate occasions. Both were business related.

The rooms are spacious, relaxing and very well appointed. In my most recent stay, we opted for a double bed with pull out couch. There were three of us to a room and being that we were all gentlemen, we would have been the first to complain about cramped quarters - this hotel however, provides a serious amount of space for a hotel of its size. It was a pleasant experience, great value and a very good location. The one major drawback is the parking. They charge you $10 a day to park in one of their two lots. With an over $400 total, parking should be included in your room rate.

Room Tip: Make sure you get something on the front side of the hotel (Facing the city) to get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millertime010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
America
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I got my room off priceline which was cheaper than other places. I chose the Hyatt because of its location, price and the roominess of the room described. They did not disappoint. The room was clean and SPACIOUS! We had two queens and then a little area with a couch (& couch-bed) and desk and refrig. area. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. It was quiet too. The breakfast was very nice and plenty of it as well as being able to pay extra if you wanted something cooked fresh. The pool was closed but we were not in need of it anyways. We enjoyed the hot tub though. The staff was more than friendly and every single one of them bent over backwards to accommodate our wishes. You pay for parking but you are right next to THE GATEWAY and so can walk and do all that and take TRAX around town and you don't have to drive or pay for parking elsewhere. It is $10 for parking. I love that they are right next to The Gateway Mall. There is shopping, food and it is just a fun place to walk around. There is a lot of construction going on down around the area but it didn't seem to be a problem for us. The hotel is very convenient to all of downtown SLC. I would highly recommend The Hyatt Place Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onehotjogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

WE wanted somewhere near for early morning flight and got good rate at this hotel. Would certainly use again. Easy to find ,great welcome and much larger room than expected. Loved the bed and the lounge area. Large shower very effective and the complimentary breakfast much better and more filling than expected . Good choice of films and reasonable price so spent nice evening lounging on sofa watching large screen. Only negative is there is not much choice to eat but we went to Roberts across the road which was fine . All in all very good

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mumajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The hotel is located downtown, just a few blocks from Temple Square. The area is very walkable, and there's a light rail station nearby.

My room was very big, but this may have been because it was an accessible room (the regular king rooms were already booked). The room was clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The room had a strange fragrance, but it was probably from the cleaning products, and running the fan for a while helped. I could hear the sound from the walk signal on the nearby corner (my room was on the 2nd floor facing the street), but it wasn't a big deal.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The complimentary continental breakfast included cereal, breads, juice, coffee, and tea, which was sufficient for me, but hot entrees were available (mostly for about $7). The free wireless internet connection was probably the best I've experienced in any hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlaf T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Creek, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

2nd time I've stayed at this hotel, both stays were great. Room was clean, facility is very nice, staff has been professional and pleasant both times, price is reasonable and in an excellent location right across the street from The Gateway. A snowstorm hit during the night and the staff even dusted off all of the cars in the parking lot the next morning!
The only reason an excellent rating wasn't given was because the free breakfast leaves something to be desired.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thefatkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This place is fantastic. We had no reservations and were accommodated as soon as we walked in. They even let us go online in the lobby to pull up the slightly cheaper online rate to book that way, which we appreciated. The hotel lobby and first floor are visually appealing, very clean and well-maintained. The gal at the front desk was so friendly and helpful to us throughout our entire visit (two nights). The room was clean and spacious with a separate living area and kitchen, as this is an all suite hotel. Fantastic living space and nice layout.

Yes, there is construction going on outside, but it is Salt Lake City after all and there is development in progress, so no big deal. There are certain sides of the hotel where you do not face as much of it. Even though our room did face it (on the back) it was completely minimal if anything and had little to no impact at all on our stay.

The staff is great. Dallas took such good care of us down at the bar, making sure we were well attended to the whole time! They also have a kitchen and can make food for you, which they did and it was delicious. All the food, drinks, etc. were great. It's such a relaxed, comfortable environment and everyone was so friendly and fun we actually just spent the evening at the hotel bar one of the two nights we stayed. Everyone was so nice! The pool and hot tub are nice too. I liked everything about the Hyatt Place and we'll definitely be staying there again next time we're in SLC.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Bestlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
1.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
1.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Address: 55 N. 400 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#8 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing