We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New "go to" hotel option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
The Uintas
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“New "go to" hotel option”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Wow, the Hyatt Place chain is GREAT ! This was our first stay at the Hyatt Place chain , but won't be our last! We stayed here for a weekend in early April . The hotel appeared to be new. The rooms were spacious and featured nice beds and clean bathrooms. The free breakfast was fresh and hot. The location was within easy walking distance of most attractions in Salt Lake City, including the new City Creek Mall that should not be missed! Unfortunately the weather was too cold for us to test the pool , but it looked nice. The hotel is just north of a partially completed mall, so there is ongoing construction in the vicinity, but this was never an issue for us. The free parking area was limited, but we were able to locate a spot. Overall , a great stay.

Room Tip: Shop the net for best price , then have Hyatt match price, otherwise your stay won't count towar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    246
    87
    31
    13
See reviews for
289
189
41
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irwindale, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I Was made to feel UNWELCOME from the moment I walked into the LOBBY

when i walked in the lobby... night staff was COLD as ice! and the 3 males at the front desk look and spoke to me as if I had 3 heads and tentacles - i felt physically uncomfortable and UN-welcome at this hotel.

In my personal opinion (and it should count for something since I am a Hyatt Passport GOLD Member who had amassed 24,000 points with the Hyatt hotel loyalty program)...
In my opinion this is the most poorly run Hyatt in the Chain!! hands down!

I checked in on Thursday 4/26/12 - It was cold wet and raining - 3 grown young men at the Front desk... no one offered to help we as i checked into a HANDICAP ROOM #125

NOT only that... as i was struggling to push the luggage cart through the lobby... the desk clerk continued to ignore me... he was turned around and checking
out some young girls... and just ignored me

after i finally get into my room... finally unpack... i go to take a shower and the shower handle comes off in my hands and water goes everywhere so i use all my
towels to clean it up... i called the front desk... left a message for the manager and maintenance... but went to bed dirty... they SHOULD have given me another room!! BUT they did not

to this day i still don't know why they did not give me another room!

I went OVER 24hours with NO SHOWER and they wouldn't change my room!! the repair man did not fix the shower until after 5pm the next day 4/27/12

i AM a Hyatt Gold Member!! and this was a WASTE of 24,000 pts!!! FOR 24,000pts and i went over 24hours without a working SHOWER! pathetic!!

- Left Message for Manager Katey Jenkins but still have not heard back... and i think that is part of the problem

NO NIGHT MANAGER.... so the "inmates are running the asylum" so to speak

the night staff is completely different from the day staff!

In total - i left 3 messages for Manager Katey Jenkins with her staff... and STILL to this day (as of 5/8/12) she has never returned my calls!!

In my opinion this Manager Katey Jenkins is not really a manager at all... to just ignore a guest like that, and to let her NIGHT staff run amok!! awful!!

Room Tip: if you need help... you are on your own... do not count on the NIGHT staff to help you... and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CA_Traveler_1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

There are a lot of road works going on and getting to the hotel with the GPS wasn't so easy because of closed roads.
Never had to check in first before being able to access the car park but you have to here, payable $10.
If check in/out is busy they have machines where you can check in/out but I didn't try this.

Location of the hotel is great for visiting downtown and the staff are very helpful in assisting with any queries about where to go & getting there.
My 2 gripes are 1) The room ac - in operation there is an unholy banshee moaning emanating from it in waves - I had to turn mine off but then listened to next door's.
2) If next door get up to hi jinx be prepared to listen to it all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pip268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We were staying there for one night.Nice room interior, nice location in a calm area.And close to Temple Square.The breakfast is not fantastic, but there are fruits.We paid for the omelet and it was good.Two minuses: VERY loud conditioner and weak internet connection.The connection stopped almost every 5 minutes. I can say nothing about "value for money" as we made a reservation using miles earned with a partner airline,but I think it's a good choice for staying in Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anyutik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I'm a bit biased toward staying at the Hyatt Place downtown since it is so close to where I need to get to while visiting SLC.

The hotel and is nearly new and everything about it still has that new feel to it.

Right next door to where the Utah Jazz play, right next door to a huge out door shopping mall.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveinABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt place with friends and it was a fun stay at a good price. I will book here again for sure.

Good:
Large and clean hotel room
Huge tv in room that swiveled between the sleeping area and sitting area
New hotel with modern decor
Friendly staff
Coffee, wine, and snack bar inside hotel
Great complimentary breakfast (waffles, cereal, juices, fruit, yogurt)
Comfortable bed

Negative:
Expensive parking

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amusedez88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012 via mobile

Nice new hotel (at least it seems new). Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff was warm and inviting. Def an affordable option within walking distance of downtown SLC

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JeremyG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
1.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
1.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Address: 55 N 400 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#8 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing