We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location, free breakfast, nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, free breakfast, nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The hotel is in a good location and it's very clean. The breakfast included in the price was very good. When we were there it the hot items included scrambled eggs, sausage and pancakes. They also had peeled grapefruit segments, yogurt, bagels and donuts. Everything you could ask for. The staff was friendly. Everything we could ask for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindanickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPSaltLakeCityGenMgr, General Manager at Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words about the staff here at the Hyatt Place Downtown, we take pride in the service and cleanliness that we provide!

I am glad you had time to enjoy the breakfast and hope that you get a chance to come stay with us again in the future!

Best Regards,




General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    216
    71
    23
    10
See reviews for
239
164
39
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here to attend my sisters graduation from the U. The hotel offers free wi-fi, free breakfast. The pool offered a nice place to relax and grabs the evening sun. I did bot rent a car and didn't feel i needed to have one with Trax right in front. Trax took me to terminal 1 $2.50. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank hautemomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPSaltLakeCityGenMgr, General Manager at Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, I hope the graduation was a great time!

I appreciate that you commented on our free breakfast and Wi-Fi as they are wonderful amenities that we offer our guests.

You can't beat taking TRAX to get all around town and as you mentioned even to the airport.

I hope that if your travels brings you back to Salt Lake City in the future that you once again choose the Hyatt Place Downtown!

Best Regards,


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Bernardo Do Campo, Brazil
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great hotel with a good price. The rooms are perfect for a family of five. Great location, right next to the Gateway mall, good for shopping and meals. Doesn`t have free airport shuttle service, which some hotels do.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno's Trips F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPSaltLakeCityGenMgr, General Manager at Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Place Downtown and letting us know how your stay was!

It sounds like you were on a family vacation and we have a great location for that and big rooms to accommodate families. I am glad you enjoyed the Gateway Mall and all it has to offer. We do not offer a free shuttle but TRAX is right outside the door and it is $2.50 per person from the airport and free within the downtown area, it's very convenient and clean. If you travel to Salt Lake City again, please ask the front desk to assist you with using TRAX if you are interested.

Thank you again for your time and I hope to have you stay at the Hyatt Place again in the future.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The location of this hotel is awesome you can walk across the street to the areana or on the other side there is the mall about a block down is temple square and about a block from the tram so you can go anywhere in town. The hotel staff was nice and helpful. The room was a little smaller then I thought from the the pictures but it was still adquit for me and my children. The room was clean and looked very modern. The breakfast was a nice plus. Over all I was very impressed for the price I woukd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPSaltLakeCityGenMgr, General Manager at Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Downtown!

I am very happy to hear you loved the location and easy access to all the attractions in the area. Now that the TRAX line is open (and free downtown) it's even faster to get to where you need to go!

I will pass along your comments to the front desk and housekeeping and let them know you thought they were nice and helpful and that the room was clean, they will be happy to hear that!

Thank you again for your time and I hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Hyatt place is becoming my new favorite hotel chain. This hotel by the Gateway and a block from Energy Solutions Arena is easy to access. It is a newer hotel, well kept, clean and comfortable. The bed was great and well sized room. Breakfast was good, with lots of choices. I don't like that you have to pay for over night parking and the hotel is a little high priced although a better value than nearby hotels.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank iliketoeateat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPSaltLakeCityGenMgr, General Manager at Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

So happy to hear that The Hyatt Place brand is making such a great impact on you and your hotel choices! I am glad we could be a part of that positive experience for you!

We love our location.... you can't beat it and we pride ourselves for being well maintained and clean as well as super friendly!

We do get comments about our parking charge but because of our Urban location it is essential that we secure the parking so that only hotel guests can park here and to do that we must charge a fee. the $10 however, is much lower than the other downtown hotels who charge as much as $18.00 a day.

Thank you again for staying with us and I hope your travels bring you back to The Hyatt Place downtown!

Best Regards,


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy, utah
Level Contributor
222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed overnight and was delighted. Room with two double beds also had a privacy divider, sitting area with couch and desk, and was new and spacious. Contemporary decor, great lobby with fireplace, good continental breakfast options. Only quibble was the $10 parking fee, which I hadn't been aware of when making reservation. Pool and hot tub are outdoors, thus pool not open year round.

Room Tip: Although 414 was right by the elevator, it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wellsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPSaltLakeCityGenMgr, General Manager at Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay!

We have only been open for 5 years so the décor is still up to date and still new looking, I am glad you noticed that and enjoyed it! We just opened the pool and it will be open until October, so if your travels bring you back to Salt Lake City during that time frame you will be able to enjoy that amenity. We have towels draped on each chair and vibrant accent pillows to make the are even more inviting.

Because of your downtown location we do charge a $10 a night parking fee but our fee is less than the other hotels right in the downtown area, some of the full service hotels charge up to $18.00 a day. I hope that you understand the reason for charging is the Urban location.

Thank you again for your time and I hope to have you stay with us again!

Best Regards,


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The one problem with this Hyatt is that it is dark. The rooms, typical of the Hyatt Place are of good size, but the one window is small and on the east side does not get much sun being hidden by the adjacent buildings. Front desk staff were all young and everyone was exceptionally nice and accommodating. Breakfast was enjoyable but that area did not get cleaned up both mornings we were there and then housekeeping forgot to come back to our room in the afternoon. Very convenient to the Gateway right next door and the hotel is easy to find in an area with not too much traffic. Parking is around back at $10.00/day in a secured lot. An OK stay...

Room Tip: On the west side where the view is more open and there is more sun. Ask for a room on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPSaltLakeCityGenMgr, Manager at Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay at The Hyatt Place Downtown. I am glad you liked the location next to The Gateway Mall. If your travels bring you back, please request a room on the West side as there is a lot more light on that side of the building. Thank you for the compliment on my staff, I will be sure to share it with them. I will also address the lack of breakfast clean up with the staff, I am sure it was an unusually busy breakfast as the staff typically does a great job clearing and cleaning.

I hope you give us another try the next time you are in Salt Lake City.

Thank you,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Downtown Salt Lake City
Hyatt House Downtown Salt Lake C...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Address: 55 N. 400 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#8 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing