We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
1 review
“Awesome place to stay ”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very comfortable. The beds were extremely comfortable! The manager on the desk kindly put us on a first floor room and even went to a great deal of effort writing out a map of the best restaurants and places to eat. It was the quietness and the cleanliness of the room which was excellent coupled with the service I would stay here again. Highly recommended!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks for the kind words. I am very glad we were able to serve you and hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    84
    51
    17
    14
See reviews for
67
76
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marysvale, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a business trip to Salt Lake City. The first day, we only had time to check in and leave. After a busy afternoon and early evening, we returned to our room and prepared for bed as we had another day of meetings the next day. While getting ready for the day, we noticed a used bar of soap on the edge of the tub, and started looking around the room. To our horror, the room was dirty, it hadn't even been vacuumed! We opened the heavy curtains and noticed black mold in the window sill. We told the front desk as we checked out and was very rudely told we should have mentioned it before then and they would have moved us to another room. We expect someone in the hospitality business to actually be hospitable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank kristied101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
I was mortified to hear about your poor experience. That is not how we do business. Looks like we drooped the ball with everything. If we charge you any money, please contact me and it will be refunded immediately. I apologize for your very poor experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

we travel from Australia and have stayed at The Comfort Inn for the past four years. The rooms are spacious, the beds very comfortable and it is great value for money. It is located near many great restaurants, theatres and movie houses. The most important thing about this hotel is the staff, nothing is too much trouble for them and they really look after you. They are helpful, courteous, friendly and pay attention to detail. We will stay again next year

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennysydneyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks for your kind words Jenny. It is always a pleasure to be your home away from home when you make your annual trips. Thanks for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you and your friends next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I've stayed at many Comfort Inns across the USA, and the beds at this one were NOT comfortable. There were 4 pillows on my bed, with an explanation that the front 2 were "soft" while the back 2 were "hard." Actually all 4 pillows were very THICK and hard, and I woke up with neck pain as did my kid. Breakfast was just meh.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank SkiSandLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
I am very sorry to hear about your sleepless night. I know a comfortable bed is very important to a good night's rest. I am not sure what happened. We have all new pillows with each bed have a choice of firm or soft- as you indicated. We have received a very good response to our new pillows. We are constantly checking our mattresses and rotating them to keep them in the best shape and I hope to catch this mattress before another traveler has a poor night's sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here visiting family and some business. We loved that they are truly pet friendly charging just $20 for the entire stay. We stayed three nights, since we prepaid. We checked in early but did not check the room. But as soon as we walked in I smelled mold, but since it was late we went to bed. After waking with bloodshot eyes we checked around and found black mold growing above the window. Asked for a new room which they did immediately, but it had an issue with some mold, too. The third room was better. They had recently redecorated but have not fixed major issues with this older building. They were really nice, breakfast was OK, and location great downtown one. It was also a good value.

Room Tip: Probably the upstairs rooms have less mold issue but we had a dog so stayed downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniabarbiColor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I apologize for the mold by the window and that you found it before we did. We would love to have you visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here as a family and had a wonderful experience! The lobby and entrance area are nicely decorated, the staff was always friendly and looked nice, and the breakfast was great!

I would definitely stay here again. My only issues are I wish they did breakfast a little later on the weekends (they clost at 9) so we could sleep in, but it isn't that big of a deal. The wifi was slow as well and my iPad and iPhone kept timing out on the connection, and I had to reenter the password the next morning. But it wasn't that big of a deal. Also the hot tub is outside so that was a bummer. They told us the spa was open...but does anybody honestly want to use that in the winter? I doubt it.

Overall a pleasant experience!

Room Tip: Get a room on the side away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentley4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We hope your family stays with us on your next visit to SLC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

this was a nice place the room was very comfortable and very affordable. and the tub was long and the bed were ever nice and comfortable. i still don't get why all the place i have been to have small pillows.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We are very pleased you chose to stay with us! Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#49 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake C...
#57 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#46 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown
Address: 171 W 500 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2317
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Comfort Inn Downtown Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing