We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Than a Meal--An Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Forage - CLOSED

Forage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“More Than a Meal--An Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

You don't go to Forage to get a meal. You go for an experience, a dining adventure. In an approximately 3-hour sitting, you will be served 15 amazingly creative "bites" mixing ingredients that (a) you may never have heard of and (b) that you would never expect to find blended into one tasty treat. You will find some spectacular and others "interesting." It's possible that you might not like one or two. My wife and I enjoyed them all, just some more than others. The menu changes daily, the dishes are way more complex than the sample menu on the restaurant's website would indicate. The servers are outstanding--efficient, friendly, and willing to answer any and all questions about the restaurant, the "bites," and the wines served if you get wine pairings. As to that, we would have liked a printed list of the wines. They do provide a listing of the courses (although you might want to expand on it by taking notes).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ronc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Incredible experience! Plan to spend the whole evening as nothing is rushed, and you won't want it to be. Impeccable attention to every detail in this fixed tasting menu of small plates made from locally sourced, grown, raised, and/or foraged foods.

Helpful?
Thank Byelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
1 review
“Tasting menu with unique tastes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great experience! Don't be fooled by the unassuming small home that houses this fabulous restaurant. Inside tables are well spaced and decor is minimalist to let the food shine. The menu appears spartan as each tasting is simply listed as the basic food itself (e.g. apples and woodruff). No details, no explanation. You have to be willing to turn yourself over to the experience. Chef Brown came out to visit at the start of our meal. I wish he had made a return visit at the end so we could have thanked him for the experience. The initial 4 appetizers are truly bite size - perfect for the list is long. Presentation may include a small portion served on a hot rock (yep, a hot rock). Brilliant actually as it keeps the food warm. New tastes, great wines, unique presentations, serene setting. What's there not to like? Nothing. We'd definitely make a return visit when we are back in the area. A+.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Western Wyoming
Level Contributor
345 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Unusual dining experience, unimpressive wine menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The creativity and preparation for this menu were mind blowing. The nearly three hour experience consisted of 17 food tastings that were incredibly imaginative, deliciously complex and beautifully presented. We were left unimpressed with the wine offerings, and the pairings ($65 for 9 mediocre wines offered at a couple of tastes each) left us thinking the restaurant would benefit greatly from an experienced sommelier. As a converted home, the restaurant is very small (11 tables) and was difficult to find at night. Be sure to make reservations. The staff was competent and friendly, and at one point, we had three people waiting on the two of us. We would visit Forage again for a special occasion, or as a novelty, but likely won’t incorporate this into our normal restaurant rotation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DDLee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

There is something amazing about a restaurant where the chef/owner plays an active and defining role day after day and year after year. Forage is the epitome of this example where chefs/owners Viet Pham and Bowman Brown dedicate their days and their lives to the creation of some of the finest pieces of art/food this city has ever seen.

Last night we paid our second visit to Forage and were blown away by the presentation, quality and creativity of the food we were presented. It was amazing, delectable, beautiful, creative, fresh, earthy and so much more I can't find words to describe it. Being rated the best restaurant in City Weekly was an honor this establishment truly deserves.

Because the menu changes seasonally I will not go into the detail of dish served and only describe the overall tone of the meal served.

In every dish you will find a combination of flavors and textures that will delight and tantalize every corner of your mouth, every taste bud and every sense. To say the food here is an experiment is wrong. It is a well thought out plan to bring you the delight of the food from it's inception as a seed, it's journey through the earth to the growth as a plant and then bring the flavors to your mouth that signify it's journey. It is done precisely and not experimentally.

Service is gracious, detailed and the servers know and have tried every item they serve. The wine pairings are well selected and right on. You can also count on at least two visits to your table by Viet or Bowman or both, as they also delight in presenting you with their food.

Forage is a lost art, a delight in Salt Lake City and the pride of it's owners and it shows. Don't miss this restaurant, it is worth your time and your money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forage also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing