We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
University Guest House & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Staff is very nice and helpful. It's great to be able to use the university shuttle (M-F) to get down to campus.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PointePrincessmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    199
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
358
138
79
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Clean, good smelling, microwave, refrigerator, nice staff, in the middle of campus and quiet!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the stairwells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharmacytravel2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The hotel is being updated with new furniture, carpet, and tv,s. They are having another wing with rooms built. The staff have always been polite and the rooms are nice in size and always clean. The price of the rooms are economical but not cheap. I have stayed about every week Monday to Thursday since October and plan on staying there for another six month for work.Make reservations early in advance since the hotel occasionally fills up. Only thing I think they need is more pillow options.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We always stay at the Guest House when we have to come to Salt Lake for medical reasons. My husband has to go to both the University of Utah Medical Center and to the VA Hospital and we have found this to be the most centrally located and pleasant place to stay. They have always been able to meet our needs and the rooms are clean and delightful. They are currently doing some major remodeling, but this was only a minor inconvenience for us. There was some dust in the room -- which is really unusual. We did not hear any noise, nor were we disturbed by any of the workers.

Room Tip: Be sure to mention to the reservations person if you have special needs. We need a handicapped acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We first discovered the University Guest House in October 2008 when my daughter was admitted to Primary Children's Medical Center and we chose this hotel due to its close proximity to the hospital. In the last three years, we have stayed here probably a dozen times and have always experienced such great hospitality. The front desk staff are very helpful and accomodating. The continental breakfast has always been great. The rooms have been exceptionally clean, which is important to us since we have two small kiddos, and the beds and pillows are so comfortable. And, the prices are super reasonable for the quality.

I can't say enough good things about this place. It is cozy and it definitely feels like a home away from home. On one occasion we booked a room at a hotel with a pool for the kids and all I kept thinking while we were there was, "I wish we were at the Guest House."

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Carlisle, Ohio
Level Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I usually stay at another hotel but was booked into this one by the folks I was working with this week. The location was great (near campus, medical center, train line) and the hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. It's undergoing an upgrade and it's time since it's starting to show its age but I'd stay there again. Was on the 3rd floor to lessen noise but would definitely ask for a room further away from the trains next time. It might not bother most people but I woke up many times as the train brakes squeaked. No blaring train horns but enough to wake this very light sleeper......

Room Tip: Top floor and away from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comerharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buhl, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2011

After I checked in, I turned the corner to walk to the elevator and had to step over several cords and large blaring fans. I thought , "I'm so glad to be on the 2nd floor". When the elevator doors opened, again I am met with cords and blaring fans all the way to my room. I dropped off my things and left to go back to the hospital hoping that this situation would be cleaned up upon my return. I came back at 8:45 p.m. Still cords and fans. Went to my room after turning off the two fans outside my room. Didn't sleep a wink all night. Checked out the next day. No one ever said a word about situation, nor an apology, or a discount for my inconvenience :-(

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPMcNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
I apologize for the cords and fans in the halls during your stay with us. We did have a broken water pipe on the 2nd floor. We solicited a clean up company to assist in getting the hotel back to normal as soon as possible.

The repairs have been completed. Please feel free to contact me directly if you are planning a trip back to the hospital. I will make sure we make up for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Perry Hacker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
3.0 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
2.9 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Property: University Guest House & Conference Center
Address: 110 Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing