We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
University Guest House & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
West Jordan, Utah
1 review
“New Years Eve”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel was beyond our expectations. Lobby was clean, they even had hot cider & hot chocolate with cookies for us to enjoy. The room was great, comfortable bed, quiet, the windows even looked out over the Salt Lake Valley to be able to see the New Year's Eve fireworks. The staff recommended a wonderful Greek restaurant, Aristos, that was close. It can not be stated how wonderful & flavorful the food was. The morning breakfast was good with a large variety to choose from. The value far exceeded the cost. It was the best New Years Eve we have experienced in over 10 years.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grayowl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    199
    35
    5
    2
See reviews for
366
138
79
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The University Guest House was a perfect place for our week visit in Utah! The price was great, the beds were very comfortable and the staff were so friendly. The delicious coffee and food was a real plus! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALT LAKE CITY
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The University Guest House is a great place to stay or hold an event. The staff is so helpful and the facilities are impressive. It's 5-star quality with a 2-star price. I will definitley recommend this place. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALICIA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We needed a handicap room and it was the farthest from the entry as you could get. There wasn't much room betweenthe beds to get around the wheelchair. The staff was nice and helpful. Room smelt great. Lobby was nice.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacesmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at the guesthouse when I had my surgery earlier this week. The staff was very friendly, the place was clean, when we asked for a shower stool it was provided to use in just a few minutes. There are refreshments available most of the time.
Now the bad parts: While the water in the sink was nice and hot the water in the shower was COLD!!! On occasion it would fluctuate to lukewarm for a few moments before it returned to being super cold again.
Internet - very slow. Checking email, facebook, and reading news were hassle.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Marie H,

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our all day refreshments and that our staff were responsive to your needs. We are proud of our housekeeping staff and all our staff who work tirelessly to ensure our hotel is as clean.

I had our maintenance manger look into the issue with your shower water temperature. It turned out to be a mechanical issue with the diffuser in the faucet and not an issue with our hot water system. That is why you were getting hot water in the sink and not the shower.

Please accept my apology for any inconvenience this issues caused you. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do for you.

I hope that we see you again the next time you are in Salt Lake City.

Sincerely,

Perry Hacker
801-587-1010
phacker@guesthouse.utah.edu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

courteous staff, excellent room, staff was very helpful in arranging shuttle to hospital. hotel was a little difficult to locate. we didn't break out to GPS but would have been helpful. could have used driving directions on the reservation.

Room Tip: staff will recommend a restaurant, but phone to verify its open. call hospital reservation desk for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan83274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buhl, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

As always, the facility was staffed by courteous knowledgeable staff. The room was clean and well stocked with appropriate personal items. appliances in the room were in working order and extra blankets were available if needed. I will go back. They do have a breakfast with plenty of options, plus fruit and beverages available thru the day.
My first complaint is that to submit this review I have to put it on Facebook or Trip Advisor, and if I don't have either? No review.

Room Tip: I like the first floor near the parking lot, I can load and unload my luggage easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01011943mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,481 reviews
3.0 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,801 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
2.9 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Property: University Guest House & Conference Center
Address: 110 Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing