We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, clean rooms, quiet but central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
University Guest House & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, clean rooms, quiet but central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Excellent value, rented a mountain bike from the Outdoor Recreation service and checked out some of the trails right above the University - amazing, reasonably epic trails.

Rooms were great, service was great, university shuttle available for short trips.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samir W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    199
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
358
137
79
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We recently stayed at the University Guest House for our son's Graduation, It was the first time we could actually get reservations, and now I know why. It was perfect from start to finish. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel and rooms were very clean, and comfortable. The layout of the room is perfect (deluxe king), with the sitting area separated from the sleeping area which would be great if we were traveling with our kids. The breakfast was always well stocked with many choices. A nice touch is the warm cookies at 4 every afternoon, and they always have ice water, tea & coffee (hot or cold) in the lobby, which was so nice to grab when you were coming and going from the many places there are to visit in SLC. Staying for a graduation, it was the perfect location, we were able to walk over the foot bridge to the ceremony. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
208 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I loved this place! We were here for an on campus interview at the University and it is just about perfect. Location is right on campus and right across the street from the TRAX station (the local light rail that will take you downtown). Easy to walk anywhere on campus or to the Red Butte Gardens or the Bonneville trail area. The hotel just felt comfortable. An easy place to stay and enjoy. The rooms are of a good size and clean. The staff was very friendly and helped with any questions I had about places to go, etc. The breakfast is plentiful and they have really good coffee hot and ready 24/7. That is awesome! They also have an amazing gym/fitness center. The best I have ever seen at a hotel of this price range. Weights, kettle bells, balance boards, treadmills, bike, machines, medicine balls, etc. A huge bonus. Overall just a great stay!!! I would stay here again in a heartbeat and definitely recommend to anyone visiting the University of Utah.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubuff1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

A family member recently had surgery and had an extended stay at the University Hospital Inpatient Medical Rehab. The Guest House was the perfect place to stay. It was a 5 to 10 minute walk to the hospital which made it incredibly convenient to go back and forth to the hospital. Sitting high on the hill side provided great views of he valley. It was a quick drive down the hill to run errands or walk out the door to access the hiking trails above the hospital. The folks at the front desk couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. I would highly recommend this place to anyone that has dealings with the hospital or university or just wants a great place to stay at a reasonable price. Mike S., New Hampshire

Room Tip: Valley view rooms a bit noisier than rooms on uphill side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocatello, Idaho
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I too would easily recommend the University guesthouse as one of the most convenient and pleasant hotels that we've stayed at in many a year. We have been coming here for the last three years and the experience just seems to get better every year. The free shuttle is extremely convenient and they are always willing to go that extra mile, as appointments at the hospital can be at various times. One of the best hotel breakfasts!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PokeyFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

UU guest house is the best place to stay , we stayed 5 times last 3 years we always had excellent experience , we recommend to everybody Guest House their service, rooms, atmosphere, hospitality , everything is excellent . We always feel ourselves as much as comfortable as at our house ! Thank you all of you at the guest house who makes us happy all the time we stayed. :))

Room Tip: We prefer fırs floor Room # 134 /137
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fener2013318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I was there to sleep and shower while my husband was at the hospital . The rooms were clean and the location was close to the hospital . They even had a shuttle that would take you to and from the hospital. A good breakfast was also provided.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyownes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
3.0 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
2.9 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Property: University Guest House & Conference Center
Address: 110 Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing