We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
University Guest House & Conference Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skyline Inn(Salt Lake City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Hotel(Salt Lake City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand America Hotel(Salt Lake City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Little America Hotel(Salt Lake City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,127)
Filter reviews
1,127 results
Traveller rating
872
211
36
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
872
211
36
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfort douglasiced coffeemedical facilitieshuntsman cancer institutegreat place to stayred butte gardensice watersalt lakeshuttle servicetrax stationfree shuttlebagelsclean roomsfree breakfastfresh fruiteasy accessfitness room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 1,127 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

If your reason for visiting SLC brings you to the east side near the University and the picturesque old Fort Douglas part of campus you will be sorry if you don't stay at the University Guest House. The welcome is warm when you arrive, there are cookies at 4pm every day, your room will be spacious and very clean, and breakfast the next morning includes scrambled eggs, small omelets, bacon or sausage, pancakes, hard boiled eggs, hot oatmeal, various breads for toasting and a selection of juices and cold cereals. There is always a good choice of coffees and teas throughout the day. This area of the university campus, Fort Douglas, is historic, with nearby homes from the the mid 1800's restored now for other uses.

Room Tip: When you call to guarantee your reservation with a credit card make sure you have the lowest rate by asking about senior or military discounts.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I loved my stay there that lasted 9 nights! The bed was comfortable the sheets clean. My king room suite had 2 tvs and a couch. Rooms have a microwave and a mini fridge. There is a coffeemaker too but you won't use it because All day long they have iced coffee, iced tea, water with lemon, just water with ice, hot coffee, hot tea and fresh apples in the lobby. They have very nice breakfast every morning. They have a nice gym and beautiful view on the patio. They have a shuttle they will take you anywhere on the campus. My favorite part is that all the staff are happy and young people they are fast and very nice!

Room Tip: I gave 4 on a cleanness only because of carpets were a bit run down. Everything else in the room is very clean! No pool or restaurant on site.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

the room was very good. the sheets were luxurious. The staff was accommodating and extra friendly. There was a free shuttle to nearby restaurants and venues. The breakfast was good, if not luxurious.
All in in all: a very fine experience.
nothing to complain about and a lot to recommend
You should consider if you are ever in in SLC

Room Tip: ask for a v alley view on the third floor
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jambontoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Jambonotoo,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Its great to hear how wonderful our staff is and that you enjoyed our breakfast and our linen. We are constantly looking for the best amenities for our guests. Our valley views are amazing, I am glad you could experience that as well.

I hope we will see you again the next time you are in Salt Lake City.

Sincerely,
Perry
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean and spacious, and my room had a gorgeous view of the surrounding mountains. They serve a generous breakfast, warm cookies in the afternoon and have a fruit basket available all day. The location is perfect if you're on campus, but to get into town, you need to use some means of transportation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anette23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at the University Guest House while on business at the university andf the staff was very freindly and helpful. Facilities are adequate but not fancy. The hotel was clean and quiet despite being fairly busy at the time I was there. The location on the campus makes this very convienient for anyone having business at the university.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01Bakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews