We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
University Guest House & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“I had a great experience”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I was at a conference a conference hosted at the University Guest House and was very happy with the accommodations. The rooms were nice. The breakfast was good. Fort Douglas had interesting things to see about a block away. About a ten minute walk away was the botanic garden, hiking trails on the mountain and a natural history museum. Across the street is a Trax depot to be able to take the train to downtown. I had a great experience and will be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    200
    35
    5
    2
See reviews for
366
140
79
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, CA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for our son's new student orientation. 5 stars for location. Being right on campus, being able to park and walk to the orientation was wonderful. As for the hotel, we felt it was just okay. Our room was a King Suite located near the parking lot and elevator so earplugs were a must. The hide-a-bed (for my son) was very uncomfortable. The guidebook in the room was for winter (not summer). The staff was friendly and helpful, but not overly so (basically minimal). The breakfast in the morning had a nice selection. I'm sure we will stay here many times during the next few years. I will try to request a south facing room away from the elevators.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ro11WithIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

TA'ers hit the bulls eye on this one, absolutely great for what I needed. Nice room, quiet, comfortable mattress, above average breakfast, complimentary beverages 24/7, friendly and efficient staff. As compared to other hotels in SLC, we didn't have a pool on premises, but the price was hard to pass up. They do have an exercise room and passes to local pools. It was also nice being on the Univ. of Utah campus. Beautiful. One consideration is that the University is about a 15-20 minute drive from Temple Square.

Room Tip: ask for 3rd floor facing SLC
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drgoodhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had a wonderful 2 night stay, we had a king deluxe room which was very spacious. It had a sofabed & tv in the front room and a king size bed, tv & desk in bedroom are. Definitely will be back, love that it was so close to all the University activities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoosieratheart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I booked this room because of the excellent rating on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. We were attending a wedding at Log Haven in the nearby mountains and this was the closest hotel. We were greeted by a very helpful front desk employee who answered our questions about the closest drug store. She even pulled out a map and highlighted the best route for us. I thought that was going the extra mile. I forgot my toothbrush and she provided one free of charge! We had a 2 bed queen room. It was somewhat small but had very nice furnishings and toiletries and everything we needed including a microwave and fridge and nice flat screen TV with lots of channel choices. Great view of the city as well from our room. Hotel was very quiet even though they were very busy. Enjoyed very soft sheets and even fresh baked cookies at 4 p.m! Previous ratings had said the breakfast was average, but I must say we thought it was top notch! There were eggs, bacon, omelets, pancakes, oatmeal, several different types of bagels with spread plus pastries, muffins, cold cereal and more including several beverages choices! I can't imagine everyone not finding something delicious to eat for breakfast, no matter what their preference. Breakfast is served from 6 a.m. to 10 a.m. We got there about 9:30 a.m. and everything was still clean and fully stocked. Extremely impressed and would definitely recommend to others and stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Salt Lake Valley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbvan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavillion
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Guest house is clean and staff, I assume students, are friendly and helpful. Very convenient to medical centers and TRAX system. Beds are comfortable. If u like a squishy pillow bring your own as pillows are very plump. Microwave and mini fridge are a plus.

Room Tip: No pool but it won't let me uncheck. Good sound proofing and good effort to keep elevators and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

If your reason for visiting SLC brings you to the east side near the University and the picturesque old Fort Douglas part of campus you will be sorry if you don't stay at the University Guest House. The welcome is warm when you arrive, there are cookies at 4pm every day, your room will be spacious and very clean, and breakfast the next morning includes scrambled eggs, small omelets, bacon or sausage, pancakes, hard boiled eggs, hot oatmeal, various breads for toasting and a selection of juices and cold cereals. There is always a good choice of coffees and teas throughout the day. This area of the university campus, Fort Douglas, is historic, with nearby homes from the the mid 1800's restored now for other uses.

Room Tip: When you call to guarantee your reservation with a credit card make sure you have the lowest rate by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,499 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
3.0 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Property: University Guest House & Conference Center
Address: 110 Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing