We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
University Guest House & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent value and service”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We were really impressed by the University Guest House. The staff in reception were really welcoming and explained the facilities and local area to us. Our room had a fantastic view out over Salt Lake City and it was great to have windows that opened and also A.C. The room was clean and we had everything we needed.

The complimentary breakfast was great and the other facilities that the guest house offers are excellent. We took advantage of the shuttle bus, hot drinks at any time and the guest laundry.

I would highly recommend staying here. It can be a little tricky to locate on the campus so maybe print out a map before hand. You can also hear the tram cars running in the early hours of the morning but it is not an intrusive sound.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TamBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    199
    35
    5
    2
See reviews for
358
138
79
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It was over 100 degrees outside, without the air conditioning on the rooms would have been very stuffy. It was clean, offered in room fridge & coffee. Nothing special but a good value. The only thing was I bought a baseball cap for my dad, when I asked why there were 2 prices on the caps the young ladies at the counter couldn't answer me. I bought the more inexpensive one only to find it was a kid's cap. Kind of disappointed, stuck with a kid's cap!
I think if we had stayed during school it would have been very hard to get around

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Its hard finding a nice hotel in this part of SLC/Sugar House area. Most are run down and not great. I'd rather spend a bit more and have a view, location, nice rooms and breakfast, and noon check out is nice too! Friendly, helpful staff too.
If you or your student attend U. of Utah they give you a discount. :) Maybe our son will attend in 2 years!

Room Tip: king suite 365 is a corner room with windows overlooking downtown/lake though over the busy road on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinthedreamBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This place is well located. Easy tram to downtown and Temple Square.
Nice continental breakfast.

Enjoyed the university atmosphere.
Friendly staff. Clean facility
No need to rent a car. They drive you free to nearby restaurants and botanical gardens.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhupesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The block of 25 rooms for our wedding guests RAVED about the University Guest House! The Reservation, front desk and all staff was accommodating to our many guests and all of their questions, room adjustments etc. Of course - there was no way to beat the price offered during the city's largest "Out Door Retailers Convention" for an East-bench location near the Natural History Museum, Zoo, our home and wedding venue. Best decision we could have made!

Room Tip: West facing room have great view of Salt Lake downtown, lake and superb sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorib660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for one night at the end of our vacation-returning to Dallas. The hotel staff was quite helpful and friendly. Restaurants were too far away from the hotel.Downtown was about 10-15 minutes away. Hot breakfast was provided and had a lot of variety-bagels,eggs,muffins,etc. Nice selection. Our room was a master suite- not luxurious but a good value for the money. A very large group of boys (with parent escorts) made way too much noise and ran up and down the hallways,finally calming down around 11:00 p.m.This was not the fault of the hotel. The only improvement tip that I noticed about our room was the carpet-it needed to be steam cleaned to remove spots and stains.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanyG550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We always stay here when we visit Salt Lake City. The rooms are nice, the beds are comfortable, and the breakfast in the morning is great. The staff is always polite, especially the desk staff, and everyone always has a smile.

Room Tip: We like the double queen rooms in the "older" part of the hotel (not that it looks old, of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank PointePrincessmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
3.0 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
2.9 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Property: University Guest House & Conference Center
Address: 110 Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing