We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel downtown Salt Lake City.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good hotel downtown Salt Lake City.”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Arriving late from Germany the staff was very friendly and the check-in went quite fast.After dropping the luggage in the room we were recommended to go to a nice bar and restaurant with a their own brewery.Ten minutes to walk,the beer and the snacks were very tasty.
Behind the hotel there is an ice-skating place where we found a lot of people until 10 pm.
Note: the breakfast with a medium size buffett costs 15 US $ extra

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulrichvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    238
    69
    29
    9
See reviews for
78
123
40
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel is convenient to a lot of downtown attractions. It is located right next to the Gallivan Center which has a a small ice rink in the winter. The City Creek mall is just two blocks away and Temple Square is three blocks away.
The room was clean and comfortable. The Wi-Fi worked well in the room, and there was a HDTV. The parking garage was a little confusing, but once we figured it out it was easy to get to the hotel. They do offer valet parking for an extra $4.
On check-in the clerk asked what newspaper we wanted delivered to our door in the morning, but we didn't see one there the next morning. However, they had plenty of extras in the lobby.
We stayed here because of the special rates on rooms during the holidays, so the value was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the hotel over look the Gallivan Center. East side rooms have a great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJC_travlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

i love it, is right at the heart of Salt lake, love it, service great, rooms are clean, staff really handy, so is a great place so you can explore what salt lake have to offer, so i do recomended greatly. and you will have a great time at marriott.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moroni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Really, in this day and age... no digital television. Yes... that's right... Analog. Blurry. Blurry. Blurry. No club level lounge during the weekends. Pool is not clear. Small. Blurry. Blurry. Blurry.
One click away from a cheap motel. Fix this.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Utah
Level Contributor
222 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Location was great for the conference across the street, but no Wi-Fi in the rooms? For the price we paid I would expect it, not have to pay extra or go to the lobby to get it. I have stayed in other motel chains for much cheaper price that do have free internet and not want to nickel and dime you to death. Also read the fine print some rooms have some of the amenities but not all. Our floor (6th) did not have a working ice machine for the extent of our stay, so it was up to the 7th floor to get it (no fridge in our room). We did like the walking distance to great restaurants and shops, the valet parking was great as well as the friendly staff and the room was very clean. The hotel restaurant was great and had exultant food. If we come again I will stay here but will make sure I ask what does the room come with!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I spent 4 days here and had a really great stay,the staff was very helpful with area info,it is a very short walk from all the major sites in slc ,the rooms are very comfortable ,quiet,a fewupgrades needed but I am told they are updateing now,the price was fair ,bed very comfortable will definitely stay here again,the restaurant was very low priced for a full service hotel,cold breakfast was free,hot just $ 3,cant beat that,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frtliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita
Level Contributor
134 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was my first stay at this Marriott and my expectations were fairly high considering the price paid and this hotel being located in a city synonymous with the Marriott brand. My expectations were mostly met.

First off, I found this hotel to be very traditional in terms of decor, you are not going to find white on black, ultra modern, or hip anywhere inside. For me, this was a nice change of pace as the decor was done well and furnishings in good condition. From the lobby, to the restaurant/lounge and the rooms themselves, everything felt "homy." On the flip side, a 1990's era computer with a CRT monitor in the business center absolutely needs to go. Traditional should not mean antiquated.

At check-in, my Platinum status was recognized and I was upgraded to an executive suite. It was a large, well appointed, clean and comfortable room. I just found two problems. The room was adjacent to the elevators and the whine as the elevators moved throughout the hotel was somewhat annoying. Next issue was the location of the bathroom. It was located immediately inside the room entrance off of the living area and just about as far from the bedroom as possible. This made for a bit of an obstacle course during the dark of night. The location next to the elevator was the more irksome problem as I have a standing preference in my profile to be away from the elevator as I know the noise bothers me. Back to the positives, the room had a great view of the Wasatch mountains.

I found the food in the lounge to be above average for a hotel. It was late the night I arrived and I did not want to go out so ended up eating in the lounge with my wife and a few colleagues. All of us really enjoyed our meals, from salads, to pizza, and even the fried calamari, it was all top notch.

As others have mentioned, the location is great and very walkable to most of the downtown SLC attractions.

With a few minor improvements, I can easily see upping my rating to five stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FightOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#21 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake City Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake City Marriott City Center

Property: Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Address: 220 S State St, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-5251
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#24 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salt Lake City Marriott City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salt Lake City Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing